We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a place to come back to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Moulin du Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to come back to”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband & I, our two boys (10 & 12) spent several days at this charming Hotel au Naturel in June. Nicholas & Edith do a very lovely job of providing a warm, relaxing and inviting environment for their guests. The hotel is nestled amidst the fields of Olive trees and rows of lavender. There is a lovely garden with fruit trees and space to sit and relax or as my boys did, to kick their soccer ball or play bocce. The boys also enjoyed picking cherries from the tree and playing with the friendly, resident canine, Leila. The room was very clean and functional. We never saw anyone tending the rooms and were always impressed that they seemed to know when we were away and it appeared to have been magically cleaned. The home cooked meals were very tasty and employed locally grown ingredients. It was a beautiful experience eating in the garden. As an alternative to a windy or chilly day the nice and ample assortment of breakfast or dinner can be enjoyed inside as well. The olive oil press room is fascinating and it was a great treat for my kids to play billiards or other games that were also available. The location is good as you can easily access much of the Provence area and we explored the entire area, visiting many villages, renting kayaks and pedal boats in the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomakFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
115
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We were expecting something good, but staying at this beautiful hotel, surrounded by incredible nature, enjoying the tranquility and the hospitality as well as the delicious ´´cuisine´´ have exceeded our expectations..

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mperez187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

I stayed one night with my wife. Everything perfect: nice hotel, nice place, nice food and very nice breakfast! If you want to cut for some days in a relaxing place, this one is perfect!
From the hotel there is a starting point for four very nice walkings.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moritz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Beautiful location. Pure relaxation.

The rooms are nice and clean without being plush but the location is lovely.

The dinner outside at night was quite an experience.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We have just returned from a short stay at Le moulin. We came here two years ago and found it exceptional. Nothing has changed. Edith & Nicholas are still striving to provide everyone with the best in all round comfort and service. It may be a little bit off thebeaten track but perhaps that is the point of staying here. Set in rolling farmland with lavender and poppy fields beyond it is a real find. In the small hamlet of st laurent just a short stroll from the hotel you will find a small cafe run by the ebullient Patrice. Pizzas are great and the bon hommie infectious .

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porcao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2007. We arrived in a snow shower and found a warm and comforting environment. The accommodation was spacious and beautifully designed as part of the conversion of the old olive mill. Despite the cold weather we enjoyed the local scenery - the Gorges du Verdon is amazing. There are also a number of walks from the hotel, and there is lots of advice and information on hand. The food was great, after a week of rich 'French restuarant' cuisine, this was excellent home cooked food, that stood up as some of the best meals of our holiday. The beautiful surroundings and the level of care shown made this a brilliant place for a holiday. We'd definitely love to return.

  • Liked — Lovely accommodation in a quality and sympathetic conversion
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
337 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2005

In a tiny village surrounded by wonderful countryside is this "ecohotel" run by Edith and Nicholas who are the perfect hosts. 5 nights a week they present a 4 course meal using local and seasonal foods of the best quality. The cheeseboard is irresistible and the wine list impeccable. In June, when we stayed, the wild flowers were stunning and the butterflies amazing. There are walks right from the door and the Museum of Prehistory (designed by Richard Rogers) just down the road. The only noise is the birdsong! The sitting room was the old olive mill and the stones and mechanism have been retained. Not far away is the deepest gorge in Europe, the Verdon, and Lac Ste Croix offers all types of beach activities.

Helpful?
5 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
7.0 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
480 reviews
7.7 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
255 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
512 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
462 reviews
11.0 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Chateau

Property: Le Moulin du Chateau
Address: 99 Chemin D Albiosc, 04500 Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Moulin du Chateau", the former olive oil mill of the chateau of St-Laurent, has been transformed to a charming and elegant small hotel in a peaceful countryside. We offer ten rooms decorated in clean-cut and simple style, a spectacular mill room with its original wheel and pressoir, a shady terrace bordering a typical Provencal garden.We do dinners, ......Our "cuisine du marche" changes every day, The designation of "Hotel au Naturel" guarantees our commitment to ecological management and our implication with the targets of the Verdon Natural Regional Park.We consider our hotel as an art hotel, too. The annual exhibitions are in a interesting contrast with the interior.From the hotel you may explore the Verdon with its famous Grand Canyon and the smaller Basses Gorges which are in a footstep..., The Lake of Ste-Croix, guided footpaths and ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Le Moulin du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Chateau Hotel Saint-Laurent-Du-Verdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing