We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in a beautiful location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Moulin du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Moulin du Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay in a beautiful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was one of many B & B's we stayed in whilst on a 6 month round the world trip. After 5 weeks in France, we had experienced some good, and also some not so good, places to stay - this one was great! Edith and Nicholas are great hosts and they really have 'the whole B & B thing' worked out....comfortable accommodation, great setting and some of the best food we ate during our entire 5 weeks in France - they are both wonderful cooks! I highly recommend this fabulous and character-filled B & B to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    32
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

A nice old converted olive mill with 10 guest rooms and about a half acre of grass out the front of the property, where you can play French boules (they are provided) or relax. Inside there is a pool table and a selection of books and games for use by guests. It's located in a very, very quiet village (more a hamlet really) in beautiful, rural Provence.

Le Moulin has the feel of a family run traditional bed and breakfast which is nice if that's what you want, but we felt it marketed itself more as a hotel, which is a bit of a stretch. The room was adequate but the lack of air conditioning (explained away as unnecessary due to the building's thick walls and part of the hotel's eco-friendly policy) resulted in a serious lack of sleep! The single, loud stand-alone fan just recycled the very, very warm night air around the room and at about 100 Euro per night in a "hotel", the least you hope for is some sleep!

There were no tea / coffee facilities in the room but tea was available downstairs for 1.95 Euro. Breakfast was also available, but again for an extra 10 Euro per guest, which we felt was excessive for what you got - croissants, small sliced fruits, cheese, bread, yoghurt, juice and tea / coffees.

At time of staying, Le Moulin were offering dinner (again, for an extra charge - we didn't get it so don't know how much) in the evening, served out the front of the building. This meant that in order to leave the hotel from 8pm you had to walk past all of the guests as they ate their dinner - and as this is a very quiet, small "hotel", you kind of felt a little uncomfortable.

So Le Moulin was in our opinion a nice, family run "hotel" but expensive for what you get and really more of a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CConTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broadway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in this heavenly spot and were reluctant to leave. Everything was just perfect, location, comfort, food and very nice hosts. The surrounding scenery is awe- inspiring. We had our two dogs with us and they loved it too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dairycot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

A good base to enjoy the amazing Verdon Gorge from. Run by a very much hands on ex headmaster type, we enjoyed breakfast in the garden and simple evening meals in the nearby village cafe.
Would highly recommend driving the Rte des Cretes on the northern side of the Verdon Gorge for great viewpoints ( it has to be done clockwise ).Also plenty of places to hire canoes, boats or pedaloes near the bridge at the western end of the Gorge.In one hour you can go up into the gorge to a waterfall, have a swim and return.The water is an amazing colour and was surprisingly warm in June.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We found Le Moulin by chance, and stayed four nights. It is charming, located in the middle of lovely country, expertly run by owners who know just how to be attentive but unobtrusive, and who speak excellent English. The food is delicious, breakfasts on the terrace, dinner available most nights. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 5 has a sitting room as well as bedroom. It is first floor in the main house. There are other n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hovinghambells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
216 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We loved the place. Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The owners are a very friendly couple, speak great English and are a great source of information about the region. They helped us plan our tours in the region; find the best markets, and the best restaurants.
We were there in mid April and had nice days but couldn't use the beautiful garden - it was still cold to site outside. The breakfast is very good and had a dinner as well. The owners cooks and it was perfect. I surly recommend this place if you like to see the real Provance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for some time. I stayed at Le Moulin du Chateau in October 2010 for two nights (don't look at the Feb 2011 I had to pick for the review....wouldn't let me go back to October 2010). This was a region of France we'd not visited before and it seemed like a good place to explore the Verdon region. Our room was very cute and was well appointed. My favourite thing though was the food. We had dinner at the hotel both nights (something I almost NEVER do because it seems like a bit of a lame thing to do) and the food was just so simply delicious. It was regional, simply prepared and was completely wonderful. I loved having breakfast outside in the garden and I thought the common areas on the main floor of the hotel were so charming. I was happy to tuck home a couple of bottles of the excellent local olive oil into my bag to bring home. If you are interested in exploring this beautiful region of France (which I also recommend - we checked out Moustiers-Ste-Marie, Riez, Ste-Croix, etc.) this is a fabulous place to call home for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawagal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
7.7 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
11.0 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge du Lac
Auberge du Lac
#1 of 2 in Bauduen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Chateau

Property: Le Moulin du Chateau
Address: 99 Chemin D Albiosc, 04500 Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Laurent-du-Verdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Moulin du Chateau", the former olive oil mill of the chateau of St-Laurent, has been transformed to a charming and elegant small hotel in a peaceful countryside. We offer ten rooms decorated in clean-cut and simple style, a spectacular mill room with its original wheel and pressoir, a shady terrace bordering a typical Provencal garden.We do dinners, ......Our "cuisine du marche" changes every day, The designation of "Hotel au Naturel" guarantees our commitment to ecological management and our implication with the targets of the Verdon Natural Regional Park.We consider our hotel as an art hotel, too. The annual exhibitions are in a interesting contrast with the interior.From the hotel you may explore the Verdon with its famous Grand Canyon and the smaller Basses Gorges which are in a footstep..., The Lake of Ste-Croix, guided footpaths and ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Moulin du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Du Chateau Hotel Saint-Laurent-Du-Verdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing