We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and posj” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adler Haeusern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Adler Haeusern
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hausern
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great and posj”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We love this place. It is so cosy and charming here. If you want to have a massage or other wellness treatments it is important to book in advance. In the sauna you can keep you bathing suit on ( it is not always like this in germany) . Good idea to rent a bike and go to the lake by bike. The food in all inclusive is delicious and great salad buffet. We will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    120
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
61
280
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is the 9th time we have stayed at this hotel over the last 23 years. The last time we stayed was in 2008. This time was our first visit in May and coincided with our 29th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in a large updated room, which was great. All the carpets in the hallways and dining room have been changed and the doors etc have been changed too and has been cleverly done as it feels contemporary whilst retaining its rustic charm. The food for half board is good with a choice of main dish (we didn’t eat in the other restaurants). We have always liked the spa area and the outside Jacuzzi. The hotel is family run and we remember the old Mr and Mrs Zumkeller, who passed away a while ago, they were very involved front of house, the current family less so, which is a shame.

We love the area and the many and varied walks from around Hausern, St Blasien and Schuchlsee, the fact it is quiet and that not many British people seem to go there!
We will always return here, the weather isn’t always great, but it feels so comforting and homely.

PS I have some photos to share, (room and food), but system doesn’t seem to want to let me!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dekka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Adler for a weekend away from the city. Overall we had a good experience. The service is great and the food was very nice. However, for the price we thought it lacked little touches. The sauna/steam area are decent but it is inconvenient to have to go upstairs for a drink of water (the sauna/steam area is downstairs from the spa). It wouldve also been nice to have some cut oranges or fruit. The relaxation area downstairs should also be more "relaxing." It was hard to with the bright lights! I had a facial in the spa and my husband had a massage. Both were good. The rooms are also quite large but really need an update to be up to 4* R & C standards.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

todo o serviço é bom,
but the officials should not mingle with customers
the price is reasonable, conditions and space is clean.
The Portuguese are the most caring, caregivers of our well being in this hotel
Sorry officials mingled with clients in various areas of leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

very professional and friendly staff made our stay very pleasant. A fine restaurant restored our faith in German Cuisine or their ability to cook and serve fine food. The associated restaurant (Chämi) is a traditional Black Forest restaurant offering good freshly cooked food (large portions of course) of the area.
Refreshingly priced (so affordable).
The price/quality ratio is very good. We enjoyed the facilities and the location is also great. The hotel arranges for trips and the bus will drop you off or pick you up from anywhere reasonable.
Great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Really lovely hotel in the midst of the Black Forest with larger-than-average rooms and a great spa and charming garden. Certainly very family-friendly and accommodating. The main road tends to be surprisingly busy, so careful with the room choice. Breakfast buffet offers a good selection and very friendly service. Half-board food was a disappointment, the Michelin-starred A-la-Carte Restaurant a bit overrated for what's on offer (too pricey for not sufficiently above-average cuisine) leaving only the Chaemi Huesli, which fits the hotel just right. We found some of the staff exceptionally good and caring but others, unfortunately, all too keen to ignore guests. We were very surprised about this being a Relais & Chateaux due to the mediocre half-board and the patchy service (don't ask for the poor response when flagging it before checkout). Left us unfortunately hesitating to book it again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank A2ndTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adler-schwarzwald, Inhaber at Hotel Adler Haeusern, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear A2ndTravelle,

Thank you very much for your time reviewing our hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, the spa, our garden and our breakfast buffet.

We are very sorry our half board and gourmet menus were not to your taste this time. We have a changing menu for both half board as well as the a la carte menu of Gourmet Restaurant Adler, where we serve traditional regional dishes as well as international cuisine.

Please also accept my sincerest apologies if any of our team members has not met your expected level of service. We are constantly working on recruiting the best staff and to continuously improve our service quality. Every feedback is used to adapt our inhouse training to fully meet guest needs.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again and to receive a second chance to not only meet, but exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Florian Zumkeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

this was a fantastic, small, friendly, family run hotel. when the designated babysitter couldnt make it, a lady Mikhael from reception stayed with our two year old while we ate dinner in the excellent Michelin star restaurant. when the spa was all boomed, a masseuse stayed past closing to accomodate a quick head and shoulder massage. when we liked a french red wine more than others at the prix fixe, the captain brought a new bottle

we stayed in a junior suite (101?) that was huge with a sun terrace on which we dined one evening as the sunset over the clocktower of the small village

take bikes not from hotel (too hilky there) but for 10 euro per day at the Schlusee lake

all three restaurants jgood, with the one down the street serving typical guerman food of the region

Room Tip: room 101 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hausern
5.0 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
5.9 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#2 of 12 in Schluchsee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bio & Wellnesshotel Alpenblick
Bio & Wellnesshotel Alpenblick
#2 of 8 in Hoechenschwand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Albtalblick
10.3 mi away
Treschers Schwarzwald Romantik Hotel
Treschers Schwarzwald Romantik H...
#2 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.9 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler Haeusern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Haeusern

Property: Hotel Adler Haeusern
Address: St.-Fridolin-Str. 15, 79837 Hausern, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Schwarzwald Hotel Adler)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hausern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hausern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Adler Haeusern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a historic Black Forest hotel with modern design and upscale comfort, a SPA and the only restaurant in Germany which has been awarded a Michelin star by the world's most famous restaurant guide consistently every year since 1966. Enjoy days of well-beeing, culinary indulgence, romance and sports in the beautiful South Black Forest less than 1h drive from the cities of Freiburg (Germany), Zurich (Switzerland) and Basel (Switzerland) as well as the airports in Zurich and Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg. We look forward to be your hosts! Your Adler Häusern team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Adler Haeusern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adler Haeusern Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany - Hausern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing