We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bad Rippoldsau
Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is a typical old Germany building and all common areas as we. However, when you have the luck to have a brand new, redesigned room, you are entering a total different era. The room is very clean and modern designed. All the necessary is available, a flatscreen TV, good furniture and a great bed. Also the bathroom is very very clean and modern. The only thing that would be nice is a small fridge, but neverhteless not that important.

The swimmingpool is very clean, as well as the sauna. It is a lovely pool and not that crowded as there are not so many rooms. Ideal to play a little bit with your family.

The restaurant is very good. We had a few diners is some other restaurants in the neighbourhood but the last 2 evenings we went just to the hotel as it was simply the best. Very good schnitzels and everything absolutely fresh...

Some reviews say that you have a lot of noise from the road in front of the hotel, but we were on the front side with our room and didn't hear anything. Especially at noght, no traffic is passing there. During the day there are passing a lot of motorsycles but that is common in the complete region.

For us this was a wonderfull holiday and we defenitely want to go back some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiElLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Ochsenwirtshof. While overall, the experience was adequate, there were a few small issues which added together. First off, the location is somewhat deceptive. It is described as “looking out onto the beautiful river Wolf,” with a photo of the river in the foreground and the hotel sitting right up close In reality, though you can hear the water, it is actually across the road and not exactly even visible from the rooms. We had expected a very tranquil and isolated setting but traffic noises from the road are heard regularly.
As seems to be typical, the amenities included free WIFI in all the rooms. It may be free but it also is inaccessible. It was nearly impossible to ever get a connection and certainly not for any period of time beyond a few seconds. Again, a minor point but why advertise it if it doesn’t really work ?
The food in the restaurant was excellent. My friend and I ordered a Chateuabriand for two, which was very flavorful and well-prepared but also a very large serving. We asked if the owner if she would hold the leftovers for us to bring home. This was not an inexpensive dish and we had half the portion leftover. When we asked for this at the time of our departure, the hostess thought it was very “iffy” whether the food would be in the refrigerator! In fact, it was not. She came back, never once apologizing, telling us that it needed to be clearly labeled or the chef might go through and dispose of the food! Um. Since SHE was the person taking the food, the proprietor of the hotel-restaurant, and knew in advance about the label, why did this NOT happen? It was particularly frustrating that there was not even an apology for throwing away about 35 euro worth of food but the suggestion that somehow it was our fault that this had happened.
On the positive side, the rooms are clean, comfortable and roomy with balconies. The indoor pool and sauna are very nice amenities, particularly since one evening the weather became unpleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottmeinwasist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is the place to stay if you truly want to savor the beauty of the Black Forest. This small hotel is surrounded by dense trees and has the river Wolf nearby to stroll along. Staying here was one of our trip highlights. The room was spacious and had many well designed details that made it a pleasure to stay in. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant at the same assigned table with a name card - nice touch, and we became friendly with our table neighbors. The hospitality of Mrs Armbruster, the owner, was outstanding. One rainy day we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and saunas, supplied with a bathrobe and slippers. The Bad Rippoldsau-Schapbach area is lovely and rustic. There were many Germans staying there which impressed me; they already know how splendid this hotel is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Hotel Ochsenwirtshof is an excellent place to stay in the Black Forest.
They have everything you need to feel at home: a warm welcome, helpful staff, nice and well equipped rooms, amazing good food, a large indoor swimming pool with sauna.
There is a massage service on request and they have a private stretch of the river for trout fishing.

The hotel is situated on a small road and walking trails can be found everywhere around the hotel.
Recommended destinations for walks are the romantic village of St. Roman, the Burchbach Wasserfall and above all the quiet Glaswaldsee (lake) up in the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Just keep in mind that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regemorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is our third visit to this lovely hotel. All the staff are so welcoming and very patient and helpful with my terrible German!!! the rooms are first class and the food exceptional. There are some lovely walks in the vicinity, the scenery is beautiful. Highly recommended once again.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms, all of a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan,France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

One word sums up the whole experience at the Ochsenwirtshof........ Professional. It's hard to fault anything in our 2 night stay (except, I suppose, the weather, but that's hardly their fault !) . As one would expect in Germany, the rooms are spacious and spotless. The breakfast is copious and tasty. The evening meal was the best I ate on our trip round N Europe, and the pool was lovely and warm, which was a boon in the unusual 12°C weather in mid July. There are countless walks available nearby, which we'd have loved to do, but the rain stopped that . All the staff, including the big old dog, are friendly and kind. What a pity that more hotels here in France do not take a leaf out of their book. The difference between the hotels we stayed in in Germany and Luxembourg compared to those we stayed in in France was embarrassing.

Room Tip: All looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2011, the room is beautifull and warm, the hot inside swimmingpool is great. The staff is very helpfull and the dinners and breakfasts was excellent. It is very central to drive to different places like the Freilichtmuseum and even Freiburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannesDiederiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Rippoldsau
2.6 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
45 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#4 of 25 in Freudenstadt
139 reviews
6.2 mi away
Flair Hotel Adlerbad
Flair Hotel Adlerbad
#2 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
76 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kloesterle Hof
Hotel Restaurant Kloesterle Hof
#2 of 3 in Bad Rippoldsau
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof
Address: Wolfacherstr. 21 | Schapbach, 77776 Bad Rippoldsau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Bad Rippoldsau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bad Rippoldsau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsenwirtshof Hotel Bad Rippoldsau
Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof Bad Rippoldsau, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing