We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place could have been better, but it wasn't....”
Review of Zum Klosterbrau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zum Klosterbrau
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“This place could have been better, but it wasn't....”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We arrived at the Romantik Hotel Zum Klosterbrau in the late afternoon—it was an interim stop on our way to Munich. We thought it would be pleasant to stay the night in a rustic inn that was also touted for its good food. In a country of pristine fields and neatly arranged villages, this place was a definite departure, complete with cigarette butts on the lobby floor. There was no one at the front desk until we finally corralled a harried waitress who said, essentially, "Here's your key. Your room is down that way." As we wrestled our suitcases down the hall, two really wild and screaming little boys almost knocked me over. They turned out to be the children of dinner patrons—and they continued to run wild before, during, and after dinner. The food was mediocre at best, both at dinner and at breakfast: Ditto for the service. Our room was clean but very basic. This is all a pity because the property and setting are lovely. Sadly, if you're looking for a charming country inn, this isn't it.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs: There are church bells that seems to chime quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweetwood1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
11
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I had struggled to find accommodation in this area, but was pleased to come across this hotel by a chance internet search.
Located in a very quiet village and surrounded by farmland, this hotel was charming, with friendly and attentive staff who made us very welcome.
Our rooms in the Yellow Guesthouse were comfortable and well presented. My daughter especially enjoyed her sunny single room.
The restaurant serves outstanding food, which we were fortunate to be able to enjoy in the small terrace garden. A nice touch is the glass wall giving a view into the large and immaculate hotel kitchen.
A delightful stay and a restaurant to be recommended.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jchUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Incredible spot. Romantic, quiet and out of the mainstream country inn with just the right amount of old world ambience and modern convieniences. Dinner in the garden was outstanding. Breakfast was best of our 2 week Europe vacation. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. Service is efficient although a little standoffish. Not much around, but that's just what my wife and I wanted. Perfect first night stay in Germany if arriving Munich and travelling west or north. Less than an hour from the airport.

Room Tip: We had a room on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A beautifully presented hotel with excellent rooms, great dining and good business facilitates. Limited mobile phone coverage, but not a problem if you are needing not to be disturbed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedro00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

good location in a tiny village with the church bells ringing in the distance - excellent cleanliness- our first delicious apple strudel of many on the trip! - lovely dining in the garden with amazing meals at all times -this place has a serious kitchen! - we had some issues with the washroom - water pressure in the shower and a noisey toilet which were attended to quickly but not 100 percent repaired so that was annoying after hours of traveling.One other thing to improve on is a bit of touch up paint in the hallways where guests have banged luggage on the wall. Charming spot though!

Room Tip: Rooms with open windows will hear the church bells that ring on the quarter hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2004

An excellent family hotel located about 10 miles out of Neuburg. Located in a very small -and quiet - farming village.

Room and service were first class, well worth the cost.

Restuarant is excellent and extremely popular so booking is essential. Kitchens are spotless and open to view by guests, its walls are glass !
Restuarant is closed on Sunday evenings but the local "pub" serves good quality meals.

Mobile telephone reception in the village was absolutely zero on the 2 services we used so is a good retreat from the hustle of business.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank kilncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuburg an der Donau
3.8 mi away
Hotel Bergbauer
Hotel Bergbauer
#5 of 7 in Neuburg an der Donau
19 reviews
8.0 mi away
Landgasthof Hotel Proell
Landgasthof Hotel Proell
#5 of 5 in Eichstatt
19 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Ingolstadt
Mercure Hotel Ingolstadt
#2 of 27 in Ingolstadt
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Wellnesshotel Schonblick Eichstatt
7.9 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#2 of 5 in Eichstatt
45 reviews
10.7 mi away
Parkhotel Heidehof
Parkhotel Heidehof
#1 of 1 in Gaimersheim
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Klosterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Klosterbrau

Property: Zum Klosterbrau
Address: Kirchplatz 1 | Bergen, 86633 Neuburg an der Donau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Neuburg an der Donau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Neuburg an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zum Klosterbrau 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Zum Klosterbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing