We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great breakfsat, cramped room”
Review of Hotel Alekto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alekto
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Freiberg
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good service, great breakfsat, cramped room”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Our group stayed here on business for four nights. Per other reviews, be sure to get a room on the inner courtyard, where it is quieter. The others in our group that had rooms facing the street complained of the car and bus noise. Unfortunately, four of us had rooms on the top (4th) floor. See accompanying picture that shows that the room slants down because of the hotel's roof, making it very difficult to walk around the room without bending over to keep from hitting your head. The carpets are well-worn, and the shower was smaller than some I've been in on a cruise ship; barely room to turn around. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, and the service in the restaurant and bar are great. Most of the staff is fluent in English. Wi-Fi costs about $US8 per day, and I could only get a signal in the lobby. The Alekto is only a 10-15 minute walk from the city center, where many of Freiberg's good restaurants are.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonboatFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

This being our second visit it certainly came up to standard. The staff were still as helpful and friendly as 2 years ago. I had asked them if it was possible to have the same room as on our previous visit, they were only to happy to oblige. All the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food both breakfast and evening meal was a very good standard. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiermark
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Hotel Alekto seems to be an ideal accomodation in particular for rail travellers. It is so close to Freiberg train station that one can easily go there by walk, even with heavy luggage. This hotel is like an island in the sea because in such an ugly part of town one would not expect a luxurious hotel like this.
The staff is very friendly and supportive. The interior nearly looks as if the hotel had opened only recently although it has already been operational since 1995. Given the moderate room rates this hotel offers really great value for fairly little money.
The breakfast buffet in the spacious restaurant of the hotel is perfect. I did not miss anything which one could reasonably expect. Tea drinkers will particularly appreciate it since I have never found such a wide variety of teas in a German hotel as there. The lunch at the hotel is not bad but there are better restaurants in the center of town where prices are about the same or even lower.
The room is perfectly equipped, e.g. with a desk which permits working comfortably if need be. The big bathroom gets a little bit sprinkled if you take a shower, but this single objection is definitely a minor one. The quality of the bed is so good that one should be able to sleep well if there were not the noise from the exterior. There are two fronts of the hotel where your are exposed to noise. On the one side it comes from the railway line which is only a short distance away, while on the other it originates from the regional busses which pass by on their way to the bus terminal nearby. Thus, beginning at five o'clock in the morning this really becomes a nuisance. I cannot tell whether this is a permanent problem or a temporary one caused by road works in the vicinity. In order to avoid being disturbed in that way it is highly advisable to insist on a room directed to the inner court. If you do so you should be able to enjoy a perfect stay at Hotel Alekto.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Austriacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

This is a great hotel: classy, warm and friendly. Clean, gemuetlich and comfortable. A four star hotel which deserves more. I was EXTREMELY impressed!! And a great bargain!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Everything is great!!
  • Stayed May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AviaThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel am Obermarkt
Hotel am Obermarkt
#3 of 7 in Freiberg
34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pension Fischer
Pension Fischer
#5 of 7 in Freiberg
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kreller
Hotel Kreller
#2 of 7 in Freiberg
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Regenbogenhaus
Hotel Regenbogenhaus
#4 of 7 in Freiberg
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Auberge Mistral
Hotel Auberge Mistral
#6 of 7 in Freiberg
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Silberhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alekto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alekto

Property: Hotel Alekto
Address: Am Bahnhof 3, 09599 Freiberg, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Freiberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Freiberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alekto 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alekto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing