We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful third stay, and it won't be the last”
Review of Phoenix Apartments

Phoenix Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phoenix Apartments
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A wonderful third stay, and it won't be the last”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you want peace and quiet, two amazing people looking after you, stunning views, lovely walks, great local beaches, the chance to have a great pool to swim up and down or slob out on a bed chair by the side of the pool, then this is the place for you. Will never grow tired of such an enchanted spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Versoix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first trip to Crete, and this quiet spot among olive trees and birdsong couldn't have been more perfect. The warm welcome from Eleni and Manolis set the tone for our whole stay. The rooms are simple and clean (a little cool in mid-April on the ground floor but Eleni provided heating units when we asked) with some nice amenities like a little treat of home-baked cake on the table each day, and even a traditional Greek-dyed Easter egg. Our only regret is that it was too cold to use the pool, which looked lovely. Still, April is not a bad time to visit Crete - not too many tourists, not one mosquito, wildflowers everywhere, traditional Easter celebrations in the villages.

For our trip the location was perfect as well: we were with our two teenagers who needed a busy tourist spot like Plakias for shops and Wifi (which is not available in the ground-floor rooms), but not too close for the nature-loving parents who needed walks away from the crowds among olive groves and pastures. The hotel is within a short drive of a few Cretan villages like Sellia, Myrthios and Mariou that have superb authentic restaurants, as well as magnificent beaches such as Souda and Shinaria. Our whole stay was delightful.

Room Tip: There is a gorgeous view from the upper rooms. No wifi in the ground floor apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyDomenjoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We just love this place. Manolis and Eleni are wonderful and the Apartments are always clean, and fresh. The pool is great and the view from the upper apartments is just stunning. Set amongst the olive trees the sounds of birds, cicadas and goat and sheep bells are the sounds of this quiet retreat.
Set on the hillside it is an easy walk down to Souda or into Plakias, but if you have a car this is a great place to explore from, or just go to the many different beaches to try them out.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have been coming here every year for 8 years, and look forward to it each year. The last visit we brought our eldest son and his girlfriend. We love to wake up to the sounds of nature. Then eat our breakfast on the large balcony or terrace. The pool is amazing and, with only a few apartments, it is never crowded, we often have it to ourselves. You can walk down to Souda bay, the nearest beach, but it is quite a steep walk back! We always hire a car and take time to enjoy the area. We have always been made very welcome by Manolis and Eleni, almost part of the family. We have already booked to go back again this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

First time in Crete, wanted a quiet place to stay in an unspoilt area where we could walk and enjoy natural beauty, close to good beaches and welcoming taverna. Phoenix Apartments was the perfect place. All you could hear in the morning was the sound of birds singing and the goats' bells. The owner, Manolis, was utterly charming and a lovely man.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.0 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 23 in Plakias
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plakias Suites
Plakias Suites
#2 of 48 in Plakias
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amoudi Hotel
Amoudi Hotel
#14 of 26 in Plakias
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stefanos Village Hotel
Stefanos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mirthios
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#2 of 23 in Plakias
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Apartments

Property: Phoenix Apartments
Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phoenix Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Apartments Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing