We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kalypso Cretan Village
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Warrenpoint N Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a special place”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I am looking forward to my return to this special place at the end of May 2012.
It will be my 5th visit to the Hotel ( the last in Sept 2011) and my 9th holiday in the Plakias area of Crete.
The south coast of Crete is quiet, natural and restful. At Kalypso you experience a little bit of heaven, have time and peace to reflect, have the opportunity to walk and hike, experience good local food and enjoy wonderful views of sea and mountains.
Kalypso is the place for a quiet holiday swimming, reading and enjoying local culture and life

Room Tip: Rooms 170, 171, 172 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    103
    51
    38
    30
See reviews for
85
150
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I can't lie about the fact that is hotel is ideally situated. Right between mountain and the sea. It is amazing and absolutely gorgeous. Now if you go to Crete for a resting holiday and don't want to travel around this is the place for you. But if you do want to discover cretan culture and history you have got to go somewhere else. I had to rent a car... on 2 different days so that I could got to Rethymno, Chania, Phaestos and Gortyn. That was a LOT of travel. Totally worth it but as no excursions organised but my tour rep because I was the only customer from that specific tour operator, I had to do all the driving myself and it was quite tiring.
The other problem was the receptionist. That guy just cannot smile!!! He looked like he didn't want to be there and everytime I went to ask for something he looked like he just could not be bothered.
Hardly any activities where organised during the day at the hotel or if they where they were very badly advertised. There just wasn't any atmosphere and none of the staff seeme like they were enjoying their jobs apart from a couple of people down at the restaurant.
Rooms were very big and did look nice but the bathroom was filthy and so were the pillows. Absolutely disgusting.
The minibus that is supposed to take you to town is horrible. It takes 10 min to go to plakias and there NO A/C so in the middle of summer you can only imagine how bad that felt. Another thing, the bus driver is off on sundays so if you're planning a day trip you need to rent a car. Actually if you do decide to go to this hotel but still want to go touring, rent a car for the duration of your holiday.

Again if you're wanting a lazy holiday it's great but if like me you go to Crete for the culture and history then you need to go somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plakias hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hotel is located in a unique position inside a bay on the sea in the middle of nowhere. Really amazing!!
Rooms are very big but bathrooms not excellent
The price is really good vs service
Three swimming pools on the sea side

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Thanks big, your hotel has made very pleasant impression! Light, cozy rooms, worthy service, a beautiful landscape around! With pleasure we will visit your hotel again and we will recommend to acquaintances!

Yours faithfully, visitors from Russia!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merkulov12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

On arrive to the hotel in the very early hours of the morning, we where told that there was no room for us due to a sewage problem in the room. So we were made to sleep in the reception area with another english couple how arrived an hours or so after us and they where also told there was no rooms avaliable. Th receptionist response was 'Is it may problem' and than started to slag us off in german to another german couple.The rude receptionist give no apology nor did the hotel offer any refund for the room which we paid for but did not get to sleep in for the first night. The next morning we where taking to our room where the floor was still wet. The food was under cooked. I have a pancake which when i cut into it the doug mixer poured out. The best thing about the hotel was the location which was lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentallen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

kalypso is in a stunning location, great views and the fjord is really pretty for swimming, much prefer it to a conventional beach. the water is clear enough to snorkel and many people scuba dive in it. two infinity pools in the hotel aswell are very relaxing.
food is ok, a little bit hit and miss but generally could always find something to fill my plate with and im pretty fussy, grilled meats are generally pretty yummy as is the greek rice.
managed to get out easily as the hotels minibus can take you into plakias which is a lovely town for 3.60 euro return each.

rooms are pretty simple but fine although the plumbing in our room was naff and the shower water made the drain in the bathroom flood everytime which was annoying. air conditioning worked great.
our room was ready on time although met many others there that were not as fortunate.

overall willing to overlook the bad points for how beautiful and unique this holiday was.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

When we arrived at the hotel after a long trip from Piraeus and a long drive from Hania,we were told that our room was not available because the hotel was overbooked(althought we had prepayed for 2 days).Without even make us an apology and having an arrogand style they told us that we should stay for the next 2 days in another hotel in Rethymno.When we got back to Kalypso after these 2days and we went finally to our room(waiting for at list 2 hours to be prepared ),an extremelly bad smell was coming out from the w.c which was really discusting.The room was dirty ,the pools were dirty,the reception was dirty,all the hotel areas were dirty and the hotel stuff especially at the reception were so rude.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rssbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plakias
38.7 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
870 reviews
74.1 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
748 reviews
27.1 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
534 reviews
57.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#62 of 176 in Hersonissos
278 reviews
19.1 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Skaleta
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalypso Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Cretan Village

Property: Kalypso Cretan Village
Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalypso Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kalypso Cretan Village is situated in Plakias, 31 kms south of Rethymnon. The Hotel is located in the grandiose environment of a small isolated fjord. It lies in 50.000 sq meters full of gardens and hanging rocks and has been created with respect to nature beauty and keeping the traditional Cretan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalypso Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Cretan Village Hotel Plakias
Kalypso Cretan Village Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing