We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kalypso Cretan Village
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spectacular location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Spectacular location,very nice and clean place,
staff very friendly and helpful,
rooms need some renovations, but wasn't so bad,
food was nice and testy

Highly recommended animations with Aleksandar Vukadinovic,nice guy and good crack

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matryca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    108
    57
    39
    31
See reviews for
90
158
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just back from Kalypso Cretan Village Resort. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience from the moment of arrival to the sad moment it was time to leave. Room and resort very clean; staff friendly and helpful. The geography of the island makes this resort well off the beaten track and you feel completely isolated from the rest of the world. The views are spectacular and the resort appears to be well thought out with a lagoon, 2 other pools, a beachside collection of sun loungers and at least 2 other places to enjoy the sun.
Food is basic but tasty and plentiful presented buffet style. You need to be mobile as the whole resort is chiselled into the mountainside at what feels like a 1:10 slope. The drive from Heraklion airport takes 2 hours (note: you need to follow signs to Rhethmynon then take the exit to Spili before picking up signs to Plakias which you will see before you reach Spili. The resort signpost is a touch difficult to spot but look for a left turn 2km before Plakias with a fork to the right - we missed it first time).
Amenities include a gym and scuba diving. Plenty of pampering stuff at extra cost if that's what you like. We did nothing and it was great!!
Worth a trip and we will be going back.....soon :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Cache, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Different from the landscapes of northern Crete, the south is rugged and rocky - very unique. This hotel is sitting at the end of a road in the middle of nowhere, which we found very charming. Nice lagoon with clear water. Little noisy around the pools with the animators blasting same tracks day after day. Cozy buffet restaurant offering sufficient dietary options. Very pleasant and attending servers. Overall - a place to make unique memories!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bogna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

As many people on here mentioned, Kalypso Cretan Village hotel is a nest for the hawks. Its position in the rocks, overlooking the Libyan sea gives you the feeling that you don't want to leave ever. When we were driving to the hotel my partner enjoyed the cliff road and I appreciated the view. You have to drive carefully though, don't get distracted by the beautiful sea.

We had a sea view room although there were eucalyptus trees in front of our balcony blocking some of the view. The whole hotel complex consists of several two story holiday villas. Our room was very large, with a spacious terrace. It was nice to spend some time on that terrace in the evening and enjoy the starry skies. The AC and mini fridge were working fine. The room was cleaned daily. It is true that whole hotel looks a bit shabby and it could do with a face lift. I am not surprised that a lot of people said the hotel doesn't look as a 4* hotel.

We have stayed on the half board basis and we drove to Plakias for lunch. For people without their own transport AI is probably the best choice. The hotel bus will take you to Plakias for €1.80 per person each way. There is a small shop in the Kalypso grounds with overpriced goods (1,5 L water for 1 euro). The shop reeks of cigarette smoke as the sales woman smokes inside. We are not fussy eaters and found the breakfast and dinner food choice to be quite tasty. The waiters are very kind and approachable, doing their job the best they can. We have to mention Elias. He always made our table ready and taught us few Greek words. Like everywhere in Greece stray cats are your companion during the dinner outside.

One night there was an 'oriental' belly dancing performance. We have to admit that girls were really professional and the performance was enjoyable to watch.
The €7 mojito was largely lemon and lemonade with hardly any rum in it so I don't recommend buying drinks if you're not all inclusive.

Laying on the edge of the rock was much better than spending the time next to the pool where the music was quite annoying and too loud. The sea was very clear like in most beaches in southern Crete. There was a fresh water shover on the beach.

Despite its small faults we would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Are you looking for a location that is away from the noise of typical tourist areas? Do you enjoy swimming? Can you walk up hills?

We had a room overlooking the resort, with 70 irregular stairs to climb from the pool level to our room. The balcony is tiny but if you climb over the table, two can sit outside – when the sun is not shining. As with many places in the “old world”, infrastructure is also old, which can cause plumbing problems. The tub is very narrow by North American standards. Complain (no one listens) or accept it as part of travel.

While most rooms are accessed by only a few steps, to get to the dining area requires walking down a steep path followed by a climb of at least half a dozen stairs. Wheelchair accessibility may be possible for some rooms, but would be very difficult, I would say impossible without assistance - which you will not get from staff.

We checked out Google maps before leaving home and were sure there had to be a mistake about the ability to reach Plakias, the nearby town, on foot. We are reasonably fit, calculated the distance to be a couple of kilometers, and concluded it is very doable, especially with hiking poles. And the town IS reachable on foot by just hiking over the hill, if you are a goat. Cretan terrain at this location appears to be volcanic, which means lots of sharp rocks – can you say “inhospitable” and “impassable”? Walking to town by the road would probably take the better part of an hour.

As our room had a mini fridge useful mainly for beverages and fruit, eating in was okay for snacks only. Therefore unless you like two star level cafeteria style food, transportation is a must. While a Kalypso shuttle is available, having access to a vehicle is an asset. Taxis are quite costly. Plakias has many tavernas with great food, many on the seaside of the main street.

Should you rent a car, when leaving the main road for Kalypso, take a couple of courage pills and drive very very slowly and carefully, especially at night. Locals (mostly taxis and service vehicles) do not drive slowly. The buses which somehow get to the parking lot and miraculously manage to turn around do not slow down for tourists. There are no guard rails.

Kalypso is a ten minute drive from Plakias. Day trips to Frangokastello, the monastery at Arkadi, St. Anthony Gorge, Phaistos, Spili (the Lion Fountain), Gortyn, just to name a few, are all within reach, but do take them one or two per day. Some are a couple of hours’ drive away. Expect delays.

Assets: Scuba diving and snorkelling trips; football pitch (or is it badminton?); lots of loungers near the sea and at poolside. Poolside bar. Two other pools. Family friendly. On site convenience store.

Because we travel just before or just after the peak tourist season, we were able to negotiate a few extra days from the manager at a price much better than the online price we got from home. The down side is that the spa is not well staffed.

If your idea of a vacation is 5 star food, superb service and amenities, then you may want to go somewhere else. This is no more than a three star resort as far as comfort and luxury go. But the location and large pool beat many 5 star resorts we have been to.

SUMMARY: We would go back and recommend it.

WARNINGS

- You have to provide your own drinking water by purchasing it from the convenience store - buy it in town if you can.

- Do NOT sign up for day trips to places like Santorini. You pay a lot and spend most of your approximately 18 hour day in transit, leaving perhaps 3 hours on Santorini. It is a waste of a vacation day.

- If possible, do NOT take any road that is brown on the official tourist map – it signifies a dirt road and can have some wild surprises. Check your GPS against the official tourist road map BEFORE taking a “direct” route.

- Few staff members speak English. The majority of guests appear to be from Eastern Europe and Russia. Brushing up on a few Greek words/phrases would not hurt.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side are quietest, away from children, but do require extra stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlleVast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Be advised: check your bookings twice & hotel rooms are not like pictures!!!
We arrived late on the day of our reservation and the hotel staff could not find our booking.Hotel was full, staff&manager rude to the point of calling us liers, refused to help us in any way. Ended up upset and ruining a relaxing holiday all because of their incompetence.
Indeed location was quite beautiful, but for me it is not worth it due to completely unprofessional management.
Ah, at some point they showed us a room "last available" according to them, too small, room old and smelly, beds old wooden and broken, toilet that you were disqusted ... after refusing to stay in that room even for free, we pointed out that these were not the photos of rooms that they had online. Hotel manager replied "No one puts accurate photos on the Internet, everybody lies, this is normal"!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Giorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plakias hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The experience we had with the location was amazing, so bad that the hotel does not live up to the place! We booked one night, but the rooms are very old and not well maintained. It is a must place to visit in Crete, but you need to find another place to sleep.

Room Tip: Go to visit, but not to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR_NO_Aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plakias
0.8 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
100 reviews
38.7 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
951 reviews
74.1 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 17 in Bali
189 reviews
57.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#54 of 171 in Hersonissos
323 reviews
14.8 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalypso Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Cretan Village

Property: Kalypso Cretan Village
Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalypso Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kalypso Cretan Village is situated in Plakias, 31 kms south of Rethymnon. The Hotel is located in the grandiose environment of a small isolated fjord. It lies in 50.000 sq meters full of gardens and hanging rocks and has been created with respect to nature beauty and keeping the traditional Cretan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kalypso Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Cretan Village Hotel Plakias
Kalypso Cretan Village Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing