We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By no means a four star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalypso Cretan Village
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“By no means a four star hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Very bad choice due to the fact that the room was very old fashioned
furnished and also lack of taste .The bathroom
was in a bad condition and you didn't have the idea that it was cleaned.
By no means I would consider it a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmparmpakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    105
    53
    39
    31
See reviews for
88
156
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

When booking this hotel, I had some reservations, since there were a few bad reports in the past.

My wife and I wanted to visit Crete and celebrate my 40th birthday in the romantic and gorgeous beaches and mountains.

Well, Kalypso has been the greatest surprise of our last vacation. This was my 7th visit to Crete in the past 10 years, my favorite destination in the Mediterranean for vacationing, motorbike trips and both couples and family vacations. Kalypso is by far the best hotel I have stayed in on the island, especially for that price range!

First, L O C A T I O N !!!! wow, a small paradise in the mountains, with that gorgeous fjord-like beach, simply heaven.

Most of the hotel has been recently renovated; restaurant, lobby, terrace and pool furniture is brand new. Room furniture (bed, sofa, table & chairs) are brand new.

The room was huge and nicely decorated, clean and very well maintained, and so was the bath room. Huge terrace with sea view was perfect for having a drink in the afternoon.

Breakfast (we took BB) was gorgeous, with so many choices of yogurt, cereals fruits and vegetables, cheeses, meats and freshly made eggs and pastries.

We will surely return to the Kalypso and its great hotel and nice staff. The proximity to Plakias was also a bonus, as it is one of the best small villages to visit in the southern area of Crete. A walking distance from the Kalypso are few of the best beaches in Crete. Getting a rental car would certainly widen the activity options in the area.

Thank you Kalypso for a great vacation!
Assaf Pilo

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pilo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Great hotel. Friendly staff and the best of all was the fabulous location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Three drawbacks the fridge in our room was barely cold and the food which was good was always cold. The third drawback was the disco which played loudly every night until 2.00am. We were out of season so there was plently of room around the pools and in the dining rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint N Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Returned for the third year to this very special place. The location is wonderful for a quiet relaxed break in beautiful surroundings. bird song, wild flowers and three sea water swimming pools all add to the enjoyment.. The location is an ideal base from which to explore the south coast of Crete.
The staff are very friendly and you really feel that you are in Greece. The staff take a pride in their work and make every effort to help you enjoy your stay.
The two new swimming pools and the lighting on the rocks at night were new additions this year that I really enjoyed.
I hope that I will be able to return again soon to this haven of peace.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

A friend an I stayed at the Kalypso in the middle of October, just before the end of their season. Generally we found the staff helpful and courteous. Rooms were spacious, clean and with excellent views and balconies. Food was good. There was a good range of salads and a decent variety of cooked meals each evening. Given that we were there within days of closing for the winter we were constantly surprised by the consistency and range of food on offer. It wouldn't be unusual to see quality and quantity fall off in the last few days of the season. This isn't intended to be a trendy boutique hotel but it's a good reliable holiday retreat.

Over the winter the management intend to embark on major redevelopments and refurbishment. With such a stunning location, guaranteed privacy and significant structural improvements ahead it's clear that the management intend Kalypso to become one of the primier hotels on the South coast. It's one to watch for the future.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Icons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

HOTEL GENERALLY
You are not made to feel welcome here, it is almost as if the staff are there to win a battle of wills about how much food/drink the guests have. You want a drink – they do everything possible to make it difficult for you to get it for free! The hotel seriously needs some TLC, it could be fantastic – its really a 5star setting with the natural beauty around, but is being dragged down to a 2star experience because of poor hotel management.
LOCATION
The location of this hotel is great if you do not want to go anywhere else, it is literally on the edge of nowhere! From Heraklion airport it takes between 1.5-2 hours in a taxi, costing around 90Euros.
The nearest civilization is 6km away in Plakias. The views from the hotel are fantastic, sea and rocks. And at night you can see some fantastic meteors shooting across the sky. If you go into Plakias at night there is a good chance that you will have difficulty getting back to the hotel as there are only 2-3 taxis and they don’t want to go so far out of the way (its also a pretty hazardous journey).
HOTEL SERVICES
The hotel does not cash travellers cheques. A phone call to England costs 75p per minute.
DIVING
For divers it is ideal with its own dive school on site. My husband went diving and said it was one of the best dives he has been on – cost 65Euros for 1 dive.
ACCOMODATION
Even by Greek standards this is not 4 star accommodation. The rooms are basic, with the bathrooms being sub-standard, very old and dirty. In the room there is no:
-direct dial phone
-hairdryer
-tea/coffee making facilities
Satellite TV only has 1 English speaking channel – BBC World.
Maid service is very hit and miss, we went 4 days without any maid service and needed to get clean towels from reception each day. When the maid did turn up often it was not until 5 oclock (when the kids wanted showers etc). Once the maid had to use my soap powder to clean the sink because she had no cleaning products!
SWIMMING/SUNBATHING
This hotel opened in 1981 and the sunloungers/ umbrellas are definitely originals from then! Around the pool the sunloungers are dirty and wobbly, and most of the umbrellas are broken. The pool area never gets cleaned properly, and there is a lot of rubbish around like fag ends, plastic cups.
The pool itself was a big worry, in the whole 2 weeks we were there it was never emptied, they just seemed to add more salt! It was like being in the red sea – I suppose the good thing is that there was little chance of drowning because everyone floated about on top whether they wanted to or not! The pool is dirty and often has ‘scum’ floating around.
Swimming/sunbathing at the cove is similar in terms of the rubbish (everywhere) it’s a real shame because the natural beautiful scenery at the cove is fantastic. The sunbeds are like wooden benches so its difficult to sit and read as the backs of them don’t move.
There is a lot of rocks in the sea, and we saw lots of kids with nasty cuts from them. Also pretty dangerous for older kids who decide to jump in from the cliff – there is no barrier stopping them doing this. Sadly I think it only a matter of time before someone gets seriously hurt. There is no bar at the cove, so it a real hike back up to the hotel to get anything to drink – and lets face it in that heat who can be bothered?
ALL-INCLUSIVE ARRANGEMENTS
The most bizarre system ever is in operation at this hotel. You all wear wrist bands, but also have to carry a card with a chip in it (1 card per room) and present said card for every drink or meal (except breakfast) which the staff then put into a computer, note what you are asking for in a data base then give you the card back. One of the attractions of all-inclusive is that the kids can get drinks etc without having to come ask their parents for money – now they come ask for the card and if they loose it, my word you are in for some hassle. TOTALLY RIDICULOUS.
FOOD/DRINK
This was our 7th time in Greece and we always go all-inclusive, so we know the food can get repetitive – we know what to expect. This was by far the WORST food ever. The food is the cheapest things they can buy, presented in ‘slop’ style. Several families, including us were violently ill during the holiday. The food is let uncovered with only the flies having a good time. No one is bothered. Meat/fish is not cooked properly and ALL food is recycled, i.e. you have the leftovers from breakfast for lunch, e.g. cold scrambled egg, and you have leftovers from lunch for dinner, e.g. any meat/fish left over. After our illness we spent the rest of the time at the hotel either sticking to soup and bread, or going into town for food.
Drinks are terrible – very cheap, and no brands, e.g. Fanta. You can literally only get 1 drink at a time. The bar staff have received some sort of training showing how to really annoy and be disrespectful to guests – it was the only thing they were good at! All drinks are ‘served’ that is at lunch and dinner, there is no where you can just go get a drink from a machine. Again this is a ploy from the management to reduce your intake any way they can. Often you have finished your meal by the time your 1 drink each had turned up.
The only snacks available throughout the day (from 11.30 – 18.00) are frozen spam butties from the filthy pool bar. If you ask for the frozen butty to be put in the sandwich toaster it will cost 2 Euros. This hotel really does take the mickey big time.
I would estimate that our whole family 2 Adults and 2 kids aged 11 & 12 consumed 100 Euros worth of food and drink between us over the whole 2 weeks – there was absolutely nothing pleasurable about the food or drink at this hotel.
ENTERTAINMENT
There is very limited entertainment, and virtually nothing for 11-15 year olds. They very much have to entertain themselves. If you are taking younger children they need to be careful in the ‘park’ because the equipment is falling to pieces, and there is sprinklers sticking out of the floor by about 6 inches (metal pipes) if a kid falls on one of these it could be serious.
OVERALL
A very disappointing holiday but in a beautiful setting. We are just thankfful that our kids came home with only minor cuts and scrapes, I think not everyone will be so lucky in future. This hotel has no regard for safety in any way.

  • Liked — the fantastic views
  • Disliked — food/drink/lack of safety
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank riggersbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plakias hotels

kalypso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We have just returned from our stay at the Kalypso Cretan VIllage,Crete. The Holiday was booked on an all inclusive deal for 2 adults and 2 children.
The Hotel is in an isolated spot, located in the most dramatic scenery, totally peaceful. amazing rocks, and surrounded by the sea. Car hire is to be recommended. The hotel offers a bus service, to a nearby beach, Damnoni, good for watersports, and to the town of Plakias, nice beach, plenty of restaurants, some shops, horse riding etc, the cost of the bus is 3 euro return, and there is no charge for children under 12, but if you are going into town you could also use a taxi for approx 5 euro, then you can go when you want to. If you are thinking about going out for a day, a drive to Knossos, is 120km, each way, approx 2hrs, each way by car ,Rethimnon is about 40 minutes, each way.
It is windy in this part of the Island, but with the heat in July, this just made it easy to sit out and enjoy the day. The breeze was refreshing
The rooms were more than adequate for our 2 week stay, 1 room sleeping 4 persons. Our room had a bath with shower, a fridge, storage, and air condtioning, ( at no additional cost). The rooms were serviced daily, with regular changes of linen and towels. We had a terrace looking onto the sea.
All meals were served in the main restaurant, breakfast 0730-1000, lunch 1230-1430, and dinner, 1900-2130, the meals are a self service buffet. The food is good, but can become repetitive. The staff are friendly. You can have beer, wine or soft drinks with lunch and dinner, brought to your table. There is seating in the air conditioned restaurant, or on the terrace looking over the pool, and the sea.
The pool bar also offers snacks during the day, although I never used this service.
There are 3 bars, a pool bar from 1000-1800, during my stay, (peak season) the pool bar also opened on an evening 2100 - midnight offering a relaxing ambienance
, The main bar situated next to reception, and the lounge from 1800 - 0200, and a disco bar, was open a couple of times during my stay, from 2300hrs until late.
The entertainment at the hotel, is organised by 2 lovely girls, Anita, and Anna. Known as the Animation Team.
They organise events throughout the day, from 0900 - midnight. Activities include, table tennis, volleyball, football, tennis, pool activities, games, greek lessons, music quiz, kareoke, plus much more. The entertainment is for all ages, from the very young to the more mature. My teenagers participated in most of the events, and their advice is, it can be loads of fun, but you have to get involved!!
In addition to the pool, the hotel is located on a fiord, this is the most amazing place, swim in the sea, sun bathe on the rocks, take a snorkle, the fish and sea life are amazing. Jump from the rocks, with care, and you can take part in a scuba dive, this is an extra cost made payable to the Dive Centre, which is separate to the Hotel. This area is so beautiful, and if you believe the greek Myths, perhaps this is where Kalypso met her lover!
The staff were very friendly. We met lots of great people during our stay.
This hotel offered us a value for money holiday, set in a beautiful location, great weather, nice people, and 2 contented teenagers, who could ask for more. A great visit

  • Liked — scenery, snorkling, animation team
  • Disliked — after 2 weeks the food was repetative
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KalypsoAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plakias
38.7 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
916 reviews
27.1 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 23 in Plakias
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
303 reviews
74.1 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
808 reviews
14.8 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 165 in Rethymnon
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalypso Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Cretan Village

Property: Kalypso Cretan Village
Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalypso Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kalypso Cretan Village is situated in Plakias, 31 kms south of Rethymnon. The Hotel is located in the grandiose environment of a small isolated fjord. It lies in 50.000 sq meters full of gardens and hanging rocks and has been created with respect to nature beauty and keeping the traditional Cretan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kalypso Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Cretan Village Hotel Plakias
Kalypso Cretan Village Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing