We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review of Doras studios.”
Review of Dora Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plakias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dora Studios
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spent a week at Doras studios room number 8, I would not recommend any one to stay in this room, I cant comment on other rooms but this one is dark, dirty and very run down. We are well aware of what to expect from a basic Greek studio as we have been to Greece many times over the last 20 years. They are not cleaned daily as a previous review as said, the bins are emptied daily and sheets, towels changed once a week. We were given one bath towel between the two of us, but the sheets towels are old and thread bare.No actual cleaning is done. The floor was not swept or mopped during our stay or before we arrived looking at the dirt under the beds. We don't expect much but the room should at least be clean.
Some of the rooms looked like they had nice views, but our view was of a concrete shell of a unfinished building at the front, and a 30ft wall to the right. would suggest any one to book the rooms for 2-3 people as we found out these are the top floor apartments and have the better view.
Dora we meet twice during our stay and seemed nice enough speaks very little English, but I speak very little Greek so cant fault her for that.
Plakias is a nice relaxed resort, with un crowded beaches, shops and tavernas, the only down side is the transfer to long and think this would put us of returning to Plakias.

Room Tip: Book apartment for 2-3 people and try to get a room a the front to avoid the terrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyrevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Returned yesterday from Plakias and Dora Studio's (13th August)

We like the review on the 9th August had booked this last minute as a cheap get away with Olympic Holidays, we wanted a small greek town/village for a quiet relaxing holiday.

It says a lot about the area and accommodation that our worst part of our holiday was the transfers (thanks Olympic!) On the way there it took 3.5 hours, and going back to the airport 4 hours. This was largely due to the coach driver not knowing where he was going when picking up and dropping off around the island on the way to Plakias.

It has already been said how lovely Dora is, we did not have much to do with her but when we did we completely agree with this.

On arrival, there was a piece of paper with names on and room numbers, key was in the door ready for us to get on with it. With a bottle of Raki in the room to welcome you.

Rooms are exactly what you expect from a greek holiday, two twin beds pushed together, stove, fridge and sink. Cupboards stocked with pans, plates, cutlery etc. Small bathroom with a shower, we found ours had a hook above it so that you could either use it hand held or use it like a normal shower, it was also powerful and hot (not in the mornings). In the room there was also a wardrobe, bedside tables and a dresser.

We were in room 6 and had a big enough balcony which was well protected from the wind and caught the sun in the morning. With being well protected our room was hot at night but you can get a/c for 7 euros a night or a fan for 10 euros for the week.

The room was cleaned everyday apart from Sunday's and sheets/towels changed in the middle of the week. It states that cleaning is done between 9am and 1pm, but we never left the room before 9.30am and were never bothered or woken up.

The studios are a 5 minute walk from the centre of town with a co-op and another supermarket around the corner, they are on a quiet street with no noise at night!! We found the co-op to be a little more expensive than the other supermarket up the hill.

Plakias itself is a nice little town with enough going on, lots of tavernas, bars, supermarkets and shops to keep you entertained. There is also a diving school, boat trips and a regular bus to Rethymno.

We ate in different tavernas every night and found the food to be perfect in all of them, obviously the service is better in some than others (Harakas, Sifis, Ayar and Sirocco were our favourites). Prices were cheap on average with our standard meals costing no more than 25 euro's with a beer, 2 soft drinks, starters and mains.

We chose to stay on the beach to the right of Plakias using 'On The Rocks' sunbeds, these cost us 5 euros a day and the boy who does all the running around was lovely and nothing was too much, he would happily run up and down the steps to the beach as many times as possible to get you what you needed.

This beach was very quiet and empty which was perfect for us. The beach was rocky and not sand and the same in the water. But this meant it was also good for snorkelling.

Lastly it is windy in Plakias, we found it to be windiest on the day we arrived and the day we left. But we also didn't mind the wind as it cooled us down on the hot days which meant we were able to sunbathe and relax comfortably. From speaking to the locals it only tends to be windy in the summer for about 20 days in total.

There is use of a pool, but we prefer the beach and sea so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing East are better than the ones facing South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just returned from Plakias and stayed at Dora's for a week. We went on a last minute booking with Olympic and would go back to Dora's any time! I can't find anyone who has one unkind word for Dora!
We booked this holiday last minute we were under the illusion that Dora's was air-conditioned (would definitely not booked if we had known there was no air conditioning because of my husband's health) Unfortunately we spent the first night not sleeping and feeling like we were living in an oven. The next morning I think Dora realised how much my husband had suffered that first night. Dora's English is not too good so she tried to explain to me that she had called someone about the a/c. I wasn't too sure what she meant but when we came back the following day we discovered Dora had got workmen in our room and they were installing a new air conditioning unit......How can you fault that?
The rest of our holiday was wonderful.
Dora's is in the centre of Plakias and we cannot believe how peaceful these apartments are. There is a co-op supermarket a few yards away. There is no pool but who needs one when you have a huge pool called the sea?
Thank you Dora!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisandmarksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just returned from two weeks at these apartments. Just cannot see why people have moaned about them. The lady herself Dora is a lovely person who has added a few personal homely touches to the rooms, which she didn't have to, but people seem to forget. They are, as a lot of people have explained, clean, comfortable (for Greece) quiet, in a handy position in the village for access to amenities. I would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chrisCullercots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Dora studios are clean, well-equipped and very well located (close to shops & tavernas, but quiet). Rooms 1 to 4 are bigger than those below, and have better views (especially 1 & 2). Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. I wonder if some of the less favourable reviews come from people who aren't familiar with how things are in Greece; I would describe these apartments as better than the average SC accommodation there, if only because the standard of maintenance is probably better than average (or perhaps we were just lucky with our room). Our fridge was new, and quiet.
Best taverna we used was the Manoussos, on the back lane parallel with the beach (turn up next to Prevelli car rental; turn right at the top, its the second one you come to - look for the blue arch). Excellent food & value.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 & 4 on upper floor have best views. 3 is still good (building skeleton opposite, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireBozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

If you want a beautifully maintained studio apartment, then these may not be the best rooms to choose.

The location is up a back street, perfect for the local shops, and close to the beach side tavernas.

There are some good rooms if you are lucky, the first floor (steep steps), and three good rooms on the ground floor, but one is now a secretarial office, and there is a room that overlooks a derelict building, not that pleasant.

The electricity supply is not always what one might consider the safest, our bedside lamps fell out of their sockets, and our fridge/kettle and cooker were all on a shared socket.

The linen is not changed all that regularly, the towels can be scratchy, and many of the sheets are rather threadbare.

However, if you are prepared to live a little rough and ready, then this place is for you, and it is incredibly cheap, booked through Olympic Holidays.

Moreover, Dora is a lovely person, and keeps the public areas in a very pristine state, as well as her idiosyncratic garden. She works alone, and so we are prepared to accept that things can be a bit haphazard, and after all it is just a place to sleep and have snacks; the rest of the resort beckons.

There is no swimming pool but there is one nearby available to Dora's guests

Room Tip: The top floor is the best, rooms 1-3 are the best with excellent views, but not suitable for those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccarthyseanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have stayed in Plakias on a number of occasions, and at Dora Studios twice – once facing the building skeleton, and once facing the front – much better view!

As everyone has said, accommodation is basic and typical of Greece but they are in a very good location, being only a few minutes walk from the harbour and most of the restaurants. It is the main reason that we chose them – and we do love Plakias.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.8 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stefanos Village Hotel
Stefanos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mirthios
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
284 reviews
0 mi away
Damnoni Paradise
Damnoni Paradise
#19 of 24 in Plakias
26 reviews
0 mi away
En Plo
En Plo
#11 of 26 in Plakias
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Studios

Address: Plakias, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Plakias
Hotel Class:2 star — Dora Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Dora Studios Hotel Plakias
Dora Studios Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing