We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location set in Olive Groves.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plakias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Irida Plakias
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed at Irida for 2 weeks May 2013 having booked with Olympic . This was my second stay and having been so impressed the first time I recommended Plakias and Irida to friends and | am sure they will be going back . The studios are in a peaceful setting with a 15 minute walk to the beaches and the Tavernas. I stayed in room 9 on the upper floor with spectacular views of the mountains and hillside villages. The studios and grounds are lovingly cared for by the delightful Maria and Manolis, Rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned every day, the pool area is immaculate with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas .

Breakfast can be ordered by request on a day to day basis and is excellent value at 6 euros itin other bar snacks are also available.

Room Tip: Upper floors have the best view -room 6 is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanW087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

During our 2 week stay we stayed in room 3 and room 6. Both were spotless and very comfortable. Overlooking the olive groves with room 6 being on the higher floor so with the added advantage of a better view of the mountains and a glimpse of the sea.

Maria and Manolis, the owners, were really helpful and kind. We were really impressed with the high quality deep mattresses on the beds and lovely clean white sheets. This really helped you get a good nights sleep along with shutters that kept the morning light out so the room was nice and dark.We were having 10 hour sleeps! There was some road noise but I didn't find it too intrusive so I wouldn't let it put you off.

We enjoyed how the apartment was so convenient to all the attractions of Plakias.

Beaches
Turn right and first right down a track for 3 mins to get to the nicest end of Plakias beach. Turn right up the main road for 5mins then at the crossroads its only a 40 minute walk through the olive groves to Daminoni beach. Or head into town for good snorkelling on the beach in front of the beach football pitch - never used when we were there.

Shopping
5 mins walk down the main road brings you to a fantastic bakery and next door a supermarket and next door to that a fruit and vegetable store - all very conveniant.

Tavernas
You are spoilt for choice in Plakias and all very reasonable. We ate in 12 different ones and did not have a bad meal and we are hard to please. Highlites though were chicken souvlaki wrapped in bacon at Sifi's, Roast lamb in Manioko's up a side road, Beef stifado in Gioma, lamb chops in Apenema. All wonderful!

We really enjoyed our holiday and were lucky to have 14 days of sunshine. I would certainly recommend a holiday at The Irida - Efharisto!

Room Tip: Room 6 and 7 have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in Irida, Plakias during August 2012. It is based a 5-10 minute walk from all the Taverna's and a short walk to the beach. We loved the location, it was quiet but close to everything we needed. The beach is a long sweeping bay and the sea is lovely to swim in. There was a lovely breeze which suited us very well but the last few days we had very strong winds which made it difficult to go on the beach. However, don't let this put you off as there are lots of protected bays and coves that you can go to along the coastline. We hired a car and had a great time going to various places. The countryside is lovely around this area. The studios were kept very clean and the family were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this place to anyone that likes a quiet holiday. We would definately go back and hopefully will one day to walk, maybe in the spring which we have been told is lovely.

Room Tip: We had a room with a garden view which basically looked over a field with olive trees, sheep and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kazzi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Not many hotels look exactly like their website when you get there, right? Well thge Irida is the exception. Lovely peaceful surroundings, quiet pool and lovely family who run the place. Yes the studios are a bit basic, although spotlessly clean.
We spent a lazy week sunbathing, (sometimes it was only us at the pool), and the family would allow us to help ourselves to drinks and leave a note if they weren't about.
The resort is a good 10min walk away but not a problem once you get used to it, (it's the compromise you make to have such a tranquill setting).
Come here if you want a peaceful week in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upperfloor for views out to the resort and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chassmash_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We travelled with a group of friends to Plakias in June 2012. Our stay at Irida Plakias was excellent.

The hotel is located at 10 min walk from the centre, but it is a very easy walk. By car, it takes you about 1 min! On the plus side: this means the hotel is located in a very quiet area, which was nice

The rooms are simple but very adequate: nice tiles on the floor, good matrasses, small desk, big closet, good shower and a pretty view from the balcony (from the 1st floor), . The rooms are also equipped with a small kitchen area (fridge, sink, cooking plates, knives, forks, pots & pans,...). The rooms are cleaned almost every day (except sunday when we were there), and every day there were also fresh sheets and towels. A/C is available at 6 euro/ day or 40/week.

There are only 9 rooms, so it was always very calm to take a swim in the georgeous little pool, or to take a rest on the terras next to the pool. We loved the area next to the pool: there is a poolbar and you can sit in the shade and enjoy a drink or play a game,..The garden is also kept meticulous.

We ate breakfast there every morning, and we were full until late in the afternoon: bread, eggs, jam, butter, tomato, olives, ham, cheese, fresh yoghurt with honey and fruit,...
On our last night we had diner there, cooked by Maria and Manolis, and it was the best meal we had during our holiday!

The best part of staying in Irida Plakias is not the rooms, or the grounds or the pool, but the owners: Maria en Manolis are the most open and warm people we met in a long time and they really go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are also both very funny, so we had a great time :-) Oh, and don't forget their 2 cats and cute litle dog: they also win you heart after 5 minutes!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Petra_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Perfectly kept small hotel. Friendly owners. Garden with swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lffve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

These apartments are in an ideal location, a 5 min walk to the centre of the village or a 3 min walk to the beach but nice and quiet at night. The rooms are a bit basic but the owner does everything he can to look after you really well. Even though it is self-catering he and his wife will rustle up a meal if you give them a couple of hours notice and an excellent breakfast is available at a very modest price.
So many eating places to choose from in the village, all seem good but the restaurant attached the 'Alianthos Beach Hotel' not only serves up wonderful food(pick from the menu not the buffet) but the two guys staffing it were so much more than waiters. You know who you are guys, thanks for making our meals such a delight.

Room Tip: Room 6 for the best view of the hills and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ibee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.1 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#10 of 24 in Plakias
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irida Plakias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irida Plakias

Address: Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irida Plakias 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hotel Irida Plakias Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing