We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alianthos Garden Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Alianthos Garden Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for a week, 22/5/12 to 29/5/12, bed & breakfast, plentifull, healthy buffet breakfast. We found the service to be excellant, the room was what we had expected. The room was cleaned every day that we were there, all staff were very helpfull & courteous.
2 minutes walk to beach, which runs parallel to the main road street. Plakias is a family friendly, quiet location, with a selection of shops & tavernas
Sea on one side, mountains with interesting mountain villages on other side, lots of walks.
Quiet beach at Soudha, just up the road. Plan to return in September, would recommend car hire. Long transfer time from airport, would recommend taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the mountains, or the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave17358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    66
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
67
163
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed 18th and 19th October Great location 5 min walk to beach Sea still warm this time of year ,pool freezing shame they dont heat it out of season .We just turned up no booking and they gave us a twin room overlooking the pool inc of breakfast Euro 70 per night great value thought the breakfast a bit limited in choice great coffee and service exellent. All the staff very freindly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for a week and it exceeded our expectations. Not only is it a great value for the money but the service is absolutely outstanding! We found the hotel convenient for taking road trips to other parts of Crete as well as walking tours. The room was quiet and had a view of the ocean. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever seen with its selection and daily changes of options. Highly recommended for an escape from over tourist areas of Crete.

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocketdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kloosterzande
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Very helpfull and friencly staff and very very clean hotel. Nice area. Advisible to rent a car, but this is the perfect hotel to arrange. We certainly go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Though I am used to inform a lot before booking a holiday, this small and so well looked after hotel exceeded my expectations. The taste of the family who ownes the hotel shows in every detail : from the patio and its beautiful tropical plants, to the dining near the charming azure blue pool , the gardens with their abundance of plants and flowers, even the design of the lights in the dining room, everything gives a feeling of peace and refinement.
I was offered the choice of room and allowed to even visit them before making a decision : this is some kind of a service!The first one had sea and pool view, small but well arranged with a flat screen TV and a lovely balcony.Only the bathroom was really tiny. The second one was overlooking the patio,litterally "in the trees"...Because of that special atmosphere, clients feel gifted enough to take the bother to dress for diner and behave nicely. Breakfast offers all the variety possible, the staff is extremly efficient.
Diner is a special moment, the chef showing real creative and generous.The barman is an artist and the owners would even come to you as to make sure you are all right.Not to forget a real Internet corner with free access and plenty of...working... computers.Plakias is a great place but can be quite windy at times.Forget that long boring beach and head to the coves in the direction of Souda. Lots of fantastic tavernas, especially Gio-Ma, on the water .All together a wonderful holiday...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

How do you describe excellence?

We realised we were in for a treat when we arrived 3 hours late. David, the night porter welcomed us like long lost friends and served us drinks. We asked about food to be told a light supper was ready in our rooms - a lovely Greek salad with very fresh bread. I could not finish mine.

The hotel was spotless - everything gleamed.

The whole place is very carefully thought out - obviously based on years of experience. Construction and fittings to a very high standard. And they were working to maintain that standard with maintenance touching up the paintwork and looking after the garden.

The food was buffet style - regularly replenished and always someone looking after it to make sure everything was at its best.

My room was the smaller of the 2 but had a better balcony. My stepfather's was a very good size and he was happy with it despite originally asking to change as it looked out on the local road. He especially liked the shower curtain - never seen the fitting before but it allowed you to shower in comfort without the curtain sticking which happens all too often.

I loved the gardens inside the hotel, as well as around it. I can imagine how in the heat of summer the green is a very welcome sight.

And the staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. And if you are going exploring ask David about the roads - he may well know them and be able to advise. I was using 3 maps and tracks on one were roads on another and did not exist on a third! So advice from someone who has driven them is important.

I would happily recommend anyone to go to the Alianthos Gardens Hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

What a good hotel, the staff is very helpful, extensive breakfast, very good hot meals to look forward to, sleeping on a boxspring. The hotel staff will do anything to you to make you happy. ALL TOP!. Rooms are nicely decorated and well (just not too big but just big enough) Nice walk from the hotel.
Rent a car in the hotel (good value, 100% insurance.
I think the hotel not suitable for children because there is no animation.
But you look a very quiet and well maintained hotel? Alianthos Garden Hotel is definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.5 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alianthos Beach Hotel
Alianthos Beach Hotel
#12 of 24 in Plakias
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#5 of 24 in Plakias
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#7 of 24 in Plakias
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#10 of 24 in Plakias
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alianthos Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alianthos Garden

Property: Hotel Alianthos Garden
Address: Plakias, Crete GR-74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunshine of the mind Time is still. The clouds of daily routine have faded away. The sun is shining in your mind. Holidays. It is not just a break for you; it is a reward, a generous gift to yourself and your family. You have been waiting a whole year for these days, you have worked for them, you have earned them. But when they arrive, they always seem so few. Well then, let's make them unforgettable. If you are just looking for any hotel in Crete, then you are going to have to deal with a whole lot of choices, good and bad. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, authentic and hospitable family hotel in Crete, combining comfortable and quality accommodation with a fascinating journey in Cretan tradition, history and nature, then the decision becomes much easier. It is not by chance that over 90% of our guests say that they would choose Alianthos Garden Hotel for their holidays again. And it is not by chance that over 30% of them do so, for many consecutive years. This is our reward, our gift. Alianthos Garden Hotel is located in the peaceful and beautiful Plakias, in Southern Crete, in front of the immense and mystical Libyan Sea. Everything here is made for holidays, even the "architecture" of the natural scenery. It is like God has specifically designed this place for the clearing of the mind and the relaxation of the soul. But it is not just its location in the heart of Plakias that makes Alianthos Garden Hotel one of the most beautiful hotels in Crete. Above all, it is the kindness, the hospitality and the open heart of our people. After all, this is Crete: an open heart. All of us at Alianthos Garden Hotel welcome you, with the promise that we will do our best to take the past year "off your shoulders" and give you strength and beautiful memories for the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alianthos Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Garden Hotel
Hotel Alianthos Garden Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing