We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding anniversary to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and I arrived to Alianthos Garden on Sunday Sept 2nd just after midday. It was about a 90 minute drive from Chania Int'l Airport (CHQ). We were amazed with the property as we were driving up the main road. Beautiful beaches, quiet and peaceful surroundings. We checked in promptly and were given a room, not exactly the view we were hoping, we were staring at a powerline transformer. Someone has to have the view I guess, we were just hoping it was not going to be us. We kindly asked the front desk if anything was available but they were fully booked. We came to Plakias for the views and beaches so it was okay with us. I took out my UV Blacklight and checked the sheets as is the normal for me. The entire room was spotless, the linens were fresh and clean, the bathroom was spotless and smelled beautiful without the use of fresheners, you can just tell that it was tended to properly. The breakfast the following morning was great, eggs, fruits, coffee, juices and cold cuts. We went on our trek around the city to check out what were in store for. Upon returning to the hotel we were notified that another guest had checked out and they could relocate us to another room with a better view. We gathered our things and headed off to the other building. I once again checked everything with my UV blacklight and guess what... we were astonished with the cleanliness of this room as well. The management has a high standard for their housekeeping service and this was proof positive of the hard work that Alianthos Garden strives to prove, you can also take note of the countless certifications they have received in past years right on the main column in the reception area. Have you slept on a CoCo-Mat mattress before? It was amazing, it was like a custom built cloud made to order for my sensitive back. It cradles you all night and there are 6 pillows to choose from in the room. All rooms have this as standard. Had a fridge (make sure to crank it up when you get in there otherwise you will wake up to warm water in there.

The front desk and kitchen staff were exemplary and very conversational, always ready to help out the travelers get to where they need to go, we heard Dutch, German, French, Italian around us. The typical age of the hotel guest seemed to be pensioners on vacation but where was a small percentage of younger couples such as ourselves. We didn't use the pool so I cannot comment on it, how could we, when you have the beautiful sea not even 2 minutes away from the front doors. If you are looking for a great cocktail head to Gialos and Irene will take care of you...Probably the best Long Island Ice Tea I have ever had. Bounce over to Gio-Ma a little further down and be sure to try the fresh Calamari and the Dolmades. We had to go back twice and fill up on both of those delicious dishes. We were sad to go but we will definitely be returning.

I would honestly say that the only upgrade I would perform in the rooms is the bathroom shower/tub. Maybe place a glass enclosure instead of a drape. Instead of the "telephone" maybe install a body shower unit that has four different heads hitting your body. It is not a deal breaker but maybe with time there might be room for this in the hotel budget.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different buildings, there is no noise any time of the day. No noisy mopeds going b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pyper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We only stayed here one night while travelling round but I have to say it ticked all the right boxes. Immaculately clean rooms, very friendly staff, good buffet breakfast included in the room price. The pool area was clean and attractive, though you can't swim until 10 am when breakfast finishes (I would have liked an early morning swim). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_in_Chania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent a 10-day family holiday in the hotel. Generally, we were really satisfied - a cosy, modern, middle-sized hotel with family atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, comfortably furnished rooms, clean swimming pool. Also the food was all right, generous buffet for breakfast and dinner, including fresh fruit and vegetables. We were lucky to be alocated the rooms overlooking a palm garden, so had privacy and peace and quiet. However, if you have bad luck, you might get a room with a view of a dusty road which is frequented by holidaymakers and also cars, so you´d better ask about that. Otherwise, I can recommend the Alianthos for a pleasant family holiday. BTW, if not happy about lying on the beach for too long, you may do some exploring - lots of interesting destinations for a one-day trip there.

Room Tip: We were staying in numbers 4 and 6 on the ground floor - firstly I found them a bit dark but later o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel itslef was nicer than the others in Plakias. The rooms were basic but the beds were comfortable. Shower was ok, could have been better. Breakfast was decent, many choices, good yogurt, fruit etc. We did not enjoy the dinners, too much basic buffet food, was plentiful but not great quality. Hotel staff was nice and helpful, spoke good english. Pool area was nice. Was very windy in Plakias the entire 3 days we were there so we couldnt enjoy the beach at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor facing the sea and not overlooking the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleG0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This being my very first time visiting Greece, I was very excited (despite the current Euro crisis). After hours being lost on the mountains, my parents and I were eventually shown the correct route and booked immediately into the Alianthos Gadren Hotel.
My father sorted out the room including breakfast and dinner (on a special offer at that time, considering we left just off peak season). The room was comfortable and immaculately clean, complete with a satellite TV (although unfortunately the only English channel was World News), spacious wardrobes and, of course, the vital air conditioning! Plus a bathroom fitted with a roomy bath and shower attatchment.
There were blackout curtains on the window, so the bright Cretan sun will surely not wake you.
The beds were comfortable, if only slightly cramped (one double and a single).
Breakfast was a lovely continental, cateering to all tourists (most of whom were German at the time of my visit) and dinner was a buffet with a different menu each day.
There is a big outdoor pool and free internet access near to reception.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and made my first experience of the Greek culture very positive.
I would definitely recommend a visit to the Alianthos Garden Hotel, especially for those of you who enjoy a slightly quieter and more relaxing holiday (it is set in a somewhat sleepier Cretan town).
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend of a friend.

Photos and reviews were encouraging so we booked 3 nights in July for me and a friend

The hotel is pleasantly decorated in main areas and the rooms are comfortable if small - size though is not a problem if you are going to be outside most of the time. Ours had perfect view on pool and towards the sea and came with a little balcony.
Bathroom was good apart from the shower curtain rail that spread like a fan and didn't really do a very good job resulting in flooded bathroom with each shower till I managed to perfect the technique.

Air conditioning works only with balcony door closed - fair enough but with no ventilation there was a bit of a musty smell in the bathroom. It got much better with balcony door open, but it was a trade-off with the temperature comfort.

On the whole the rooms, and the whole hotel were very clean.

The pool looked nice but was only 'open' from 10 am till 7 pm- I was disappointed as fancied a swim before breakfast, and during the opening hours I much prefered to be swimming in the beautiful sea.

Breakfast was good, with a nice choice to accommodate for many preferences. i always went for feta cheese with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers- they taste delicious. Good coffee. We didn't stay for dinner ( went toTaverna Manousos) but it looked and smelled delicious.

The staff were really great and friendly, Helpful with all requests, all possible travellers' needs anticipated and accommodated - not only can you leave your bags after checkout in a locker, but you can also use the shower in the specially designated area before getting on your way.
Email communication before booking, arranging of taxi transfers was all great.

The location is great, just a few steps from the beach, but I recommend walking along the beach to the left where people are sparse and beach becomes sandy.

On the whole I would recommend the stay in Alianthos Garden and would like to come back.

Room Tip: Room with a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed at the Alianthos at the end of June 2012.Hotel very pleasant,staff could not be more helpful and obliging.Room spotless and beds very comfy and hotel pool lovely position.Car Hire from Auto Prevelli excellent ,collected from the Airport which made the journey stress free.Plakias lovely little resort for a quiet ,chilled holiday,plenty of bars and waterside tavernas to choose from. Several nice beaches nearby ,only a short drive or an enthusiastic walk.Buffet meals excellent value for money.Would definitely go again an excellent well run hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank devon_boyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.5 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alianthos Beach Hotel
Alianthos Beach Hotel
#9 of 24 in Plakias
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alianthos Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alianthos Garden

Address: Plakias, Crete GR-74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunshine of the mind Time is still. The clouds of daily routine have faded away. The sun is shining in your mind. Holidays. It is not just a break for you; it is a reward, a generous gift to yourself and your family. You have been waiting a whole year for these days, you have worked for them, you have earned them. But when they arrive, they always seem so few. Well then, let's make them unforgettable. If you are just looking for any hotel in Crete, then you are going to have to deal with a whole lot of choices, good and bad. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, authentic and hospitable family hotel in Crete, combining comfortable and quality accommodation with a fascinating journey in Cretan tradition, history and nature, then the decision becomes much easier. It is not by chance that over 90% of our guests say that they would choose Alianthos Garden Hotel for their holidays again. And it is not by chance that over 30% of them do so, for many consecutive years. This is our reward, our gift. Alianthos Garden Hotel is located in the peaceful and beautiful Plakias, in Southern Crete, in front of the immense and mystical Libyan Sea. Everything here is made for holidays, even the "architecture" of the natural scenery. It is like God has specifically designed this place for the clearing of the mind and the relaxation of the soul. But it is not just its location in the heart of Plakias that makes Alianthos Garden Hotel one of the most beautiful hotels in Crete. Above all, it is the kindness, the hospitality and the open heart of our people. After all, this is Crete: an open heart. All of us at Alianthos Garden Hotel welcome you, with the promise that we will do our best to take the past year "off your shoulders" and give you strength and beautiful memories for the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alianthos Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Garden Hotel
Hotel Alianthos Garden Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing