We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great hotel and value for money !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alianthos Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Plakias
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really great hotel and value for money !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

All kept very clean, staff very friendly and always a personal word, every evening buffet (you have to like that) but surroundings and taste of the food are excellent, great wines !
Would definately stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackster Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    66
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
160
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at a block near the main hotel, so things were pretty quiet as we wanted for a couple of days to relax!

Food was great, so was the breakfast.

Pool times were short but I guess that's everywhere now.

Only thing we didn't like that much was that the bikes were old school, something that means that no breaks are present (you had to turn the pedals backwards, so that made things harder), but still cool!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manolis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for the third time. We had one night in a room in a block separate from the main hotel and with no view. We were then moved to the main block overlooking the pool and sea. This was a good room; we did have problems with the air conditioning but this was sorted.
We were very grateful to one of the receptionists who helped us to contact the car hire company when our car broke down.
There was a good selection of food and we enjoyed breakfasts and dinners.
We went to the far end of the beach where there were always enough sunbeds and the sea was lovely.
In the evening we drank at the Livicon which was laid back and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have brilliant views. Rooms on the ground floor at the back have no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janerogers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned from Plakias, this hotel exceeded all my expectations of any Greek standards of workmanship, previously experienced. Everything was finished beautifully , all the plumbing worked, they even have a filtered drinking water system. The decor and grounds were stunning with some beautiful artwork throughout.

The staff were all fluent in many languages, and very helpful and knowledgeable, readily providing answers to any questions, regardless of whether they were, reception, waitress or cleaning staff.

We were given a family room for the first week and moved to a double for the second, didn't mind as it gave us more than we asked for initially and the new room was on the same floor and ready immedietely after breakfast, so didn't impact on our day. The rooms were spotless, with efficient air on and mosquito screened balcony doors. The cocomat, mattress and pillow thing, is obviously a sponsored deal but I have to say I'm a fan- bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is very child friendly and has a lift and ramps to different levels, I wouldn't recommend Plakias as a whole for anyone with mobility issues though, as the rest of the roads and access are less predictable and somewhat steep in places.

The food was buffet style, varied and fresh with lots of choice and catered for everyone, with a slight German bias. After the first week though I was craving a simple meal out with different herbs; less chance of my mish - mashing a little of everything to try and it all tasting the same.

Highly recommended hotel. Stunning location with lots of things to see and do closeby. Will definitely return. Just for information, Prevali monestary is closed between 1 and 4 pm, having walked 10km through the mountains to get there we were disappointed. Highly recommend The big yellow boat that took us back to Plakias with a lovely captain who plied us with Raki to aid our recovery. The sea looks very rough somedays, but these trips are to more shelterd beaches, such as Souda, Damnoni, and Limni, the route out of Plakias was surprisingly smooth, don't let the wind put you off taking a trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Officially a 4 star (which means little) but friendly staff, clean comfy rooms with excellent Coco-mat beds, air conditioning. Very nice pool and just 50m to beach. Breakfast buffet was fine with range of cold continental breakfast plus eggs and sometimes bacon. Coffee was poor - never mind!

The hotel is used by predominately German travel companies.

Bar prices are the same as local bars which is a nice surprise!

Best of all was the wonderful help from the receptionist. On arrival I realized I had left my camera at a taverna some 30km way. The staff identified the taverna, called them, and I could safely drive back to collect.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a beach view and are probably best. There are only three floors (with a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canary2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked for 4 nights but extended it to 7.

Hard to fault really. The service is friendly. The rooms comfortable with shower and refridgerator. The buffet breakfast is fine, the buffet dinners adequate and definately good value. At this price you are not paying for a large room and gourmet food.

We were helped with walking itineries, and twice ferried by car to nearby Easter celebrations.

We will certainly consider returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband was working in Istanbul and then Munich for 3 weeks, and we had one week to spend together, just vacationing, with our 4 year old daughter. We chose the island of Crete, and also Plakias because we wanted to 'get away from it all.' We found Alianthos Garden on trip advisor. What a wonderful stay we had! The hotel is absolutely spotless. Beautiful landscaping. Very comfortable beds, linens, and pillows. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The bartender offered suggestions for a beach to go to, and we had a great day there. The breakfast was very good and offered varying egg dishes each day so you wouldn't get bored. (I recommend having breakfast there daily...it is easy and a good value). My daughter especially liked the children's area which had some toys, a small playground, and a little kiddie pool. We are back home now, but are missing Alianthos! (Ask for a room with pool/sea view).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool/sea view. We had room 119 and it was AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.1 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 23 in Plakias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alianthos Beach Hotel
Alianthos Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Plakias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alianthos Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alianthos Garden

Property: Hotel Alianthos Garden
Address: Plakias, Crete GR-74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alianthos Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunshine of the mind Time is still. The clouds of daily routine have faded away. The sun is shining in your mind. Holidays. It is not just a break for you; it is a reward, a generous gift to yourself and your family. You have been waiting a whole year for these days, you have worked for them, you have earned them. But when they arrive, they always seem so few. Well then, let's make them unforgettable. If you are just looking for any hotel in Crete, then you are going to have to deal with a whole lot of choices, good and bad. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, authentic and hospitable family hotel in Crete, combining comfortable and quality accommodation with a fascinating journey in Cretan tradition, history and nature, then the decision becomes much easier. It is not by chance that over 90% of our guests say that they would choose Alianthos Garden Hotel for their holidays again. And it is not by chance that over 30% of them do so, for many consecutive years. This is our reward, our gift. Alianthos Garden Hotel is located in the peaceful and beautiful Plakias, in Southern Crete, in front of the immense and mystical Libyan Sea. Everything here is made for holidays, even the "architecture" of the natural scenery. It is like God has specifically designed this place for the clearing of the mind and the relaxation of the soul. But it is not just its location in the heart of Plakias that makes Alianthos Garden Hotel one of the most beautiful hotels in Crete. Above all, it is the kindness, the hospitality and the open heart of our people. After all, this is Crete: an open heart. All of us at Alianthos Garden Hotel welcome you, with the promise that we will do our best to take the past year "off your shoulders" and give you strength and beautiful memories for the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alianthos Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Garden Hotel
Hotel Alianthos Garden Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing