We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high standards all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

5 of us - 2 adults 3 children (19,17 and 15 yo) spent 1 week here. Staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The hotel was modern and very well maintained, rooms clean and functional, bar friendly, pool fabulous and not the usual fight for loungers in the morning.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Food menu changed every night and became the highlight of our holiday. Hotel was 2 min walk from the beach and small harbour with shops and tavernas.

Staff saw from our passports that our youngest child had his 15th birthday during our stay and arranged a birthday cake for him as a surprise - great touch. . If you want to see quiet Crete come here - its definitely not Malia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hrman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our 6th time in Plakias and 4th time in Alianthos Garden.
Each time we visit we feel as if we have come home! Staff so friendly and welcoming. Beds are more comfy than the one at home (Co Co Mat). Cleaner than clean throughout.
Food superb. This was our 1st time on Half board. A great optional extra. BBQ on the Wednesday was good enough for a wedding banquet. Staff worked tirelessly all day in 42 degrees, preparing the outside terrace for the evening dinner.
Took other family members this time - ranging from 16 - 83 years old. All loved it.

I could go on but I can only say please give it a try but don't tell too many people - it's a special secret we don't want everyone going!!!!!! x

Room Tip: If possible ask for 1st floor rooms 119 - 122. These have extra large balconies. If not ask for pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMac1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very clean beds very comfortable.Every where very clean.Some of the rooms are small.The breakfast is very good, have a wide range of food.Good location. Not far from the beach.Friendly staff.Would like the option of paying for drinks instead of having them put on a bill.Have been at least 11 times.Every time they do more improvements.Hope to go next year..


Barry and Joan Parkin

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our first visit to Crete and it was a memorable one, staying at this lovely comfortable hotel near the beach in Plakias. The room was excellent with bath and shower and a spacious balcony. We stayed half board which was a great benefit, the fare was plentiful and varied, backed up with a staff who couldn't have been more helpful and considerate. We would certainly stay here again, the village of Plakias is an ideal base from which to explore the southern part of the Island.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea side view are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weevilchumplingeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Quiet time of year, October, and not too hot for us elderly types. Staff with a sense of humour, and a generally easy but efficient style. We preferred to enjoy the local tavernas, so we cannot comment on the food other than the excellent variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. The computers available was a nice touch although they could use an upgrade, but that won't stop us from going back to this very pleasant and relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool may be noisy mid summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. Apart from an initial problem with the AC, which was quickly rectified, we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We stayed in the main hotel, with an excellent sea view, I do think you need to check before you book as some room views were not as good. The food is great and plenty of variety, especially at breakfast. Staff all very helpful. We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

All kept very clean, staff very friendly and always a personal word, every evening buffet (you have to like that) but surroundings and taste of the food are excellent, great wines !
Would definately stay here again

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mackster Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.5 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 24 in Plakias
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#7 of 24 in Plakias
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alianthos Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alianthos Garden

Address: Plakias, Crete GR-74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £69 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunshine of the mind Time is still. The clouds of daily routine have faded away. The sun is shining in your mind. Holidays. It is not just a break for you; it is a reward, a generous gift to yourself and your family. You have been waiting a whole year for these days, you have worked for them, you have earned them. But when they arrive, they always seem so few. Well then, let's make them unforgettable. If you are just looking for any hotel in Crete, then you are going to have to deal with a whole lot of choices, good and bad. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, authentic and hospitable family hotel in Crete, combining comfortable and quality accommodation with a fascinating journey in Cretan tradition, history and nature, then the decision becomes much easier. It is not by chance that over 90% of our guests say that they would choose Alianthos Garden Hotel for their holidays again. And it is not by chance that over 30% of them do so, for many consecutive years. This is our reward, our gift. Alianthos Garden Hotel is located in the peaceful and beautiful Plakias, in Southern Crete, in front of the immense and mystical Libyan Sea. Everything here is made for holidays, even the "architecture" of the natural scenery. It is like God has specifically designed this place for the clearing of the mind and the relaxation of the soul. But it is not just its location in the heart of Plakias that makes Alianthos Garden Hotel one of the most beautiful hotels in Crete. Above all, it is the kindness, the hospitality and the open heart of our people. After all, this is Crete: an open heart. All of us at Alianthos Garden Hotel welcome you, with the promise that we will do our best to take the past year "off your shoulders" and give you strength and beautiful memories for the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alianthos Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Garden Hotel
Hotel Alianthos Garden Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing