We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Plakias”
Review of Sirocco Taverna

Sirocco Taverna
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Plakias
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sirocco is a traditional Cretan taverna located in Plakias right next to the beach with wonderful sea view. It is a family run taverna with great atmosphere, exceptional and friendly service. Ours guests can enjoy a variety of unique Cretan tastes and all kinds of wine in very reasonable prices.The location of Sirocco taverna in Plakias is ideal for our guests to enjoy their meals away from the noise of the down-town with the amazing view of the sunset over the bay of Plakias.
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have tried almost all restaurants in Plakias during our long stay there last summer (one month stay!). This one is the best. Always excellent food and really friendly and perfect service. If you want something that does not stay on the menu - just ask! Do not forget about house vine and raki :-) If we come again, it will be the first place to visit :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Irina380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We looked forward to sampling the food at Sirocco having read the Trip Advisor reviews before our holiday. We have visited Plakias many times before but had never tried this taverna. When we arrived it was busy and our choice of tables was either next to a smoking couple on the tier nearest the sea of a table on the third tier at the back of the restaurant where there was no view and little atmosphere. We opted for the latter preferring to eat in a relatively smoke free area (there were smokers here in spite of signs stating no smoking but the tables were far enough apart not to impact too greatly).

The taverna was busy and the 3 waiting staff were constantly on the go back and forwards. It wasn't easy to catch their attention and we had a considerable wait between courses. We started with Greek salad and we chose burgers baked in the oven with tomato and feta and a chicken filet in a bacon and mushroom sauce. The burger was meaty and quite tasty but not spectacular (we shared the dish taking a burger each) and by the end of the meal struggled t finish mine as it just became a bit samey. The chicken dish was disappointing. It was chunks of chicken (several rather fatty/grisly) and the sauce was rather salty. Had it been leaner meat and not over seasoned it would have been quite tasty.

We were presented with a dessert and a drink at the end of the meal which is always a nice touch and which was appreciated.

However, to sum up, the setting's nice if you can sit at the front of the taverna, the food was just OK, we've eaten much better in Plakias and the service was flat out due to the place being busy but we felt it rather lacked the warmth of Cretan hospitality that may be found elsewhere in Plakias. We didn't return during our visit and probably won't the next time we visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BusinessguestDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

It is by far the best taverna you can find in Plakias area. The staff is welcoming and very friendly. The food tasteful with very low prices, while the location is ideal next to the beach with amazing sunset view.

Thank Yiannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Quite a large restaurant down by the seafront in Plakias. Excellent food with a wider choice than most in the area. Very friendly and efficient service, spectacular sunset view.

1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went to this restaurant as I was nagging my other half that I hadn't eaten any Stifado during our holiday, and it was of my fav dishes. When the stifado came, the chips were piping hot and the stifado, was cold and still a little frozen in the middle. I am guessing this came straight from the freezer, into the microwave and brought to our table. Not much of an apology from the staff when I sent it back, and they had the cheek to ask for a service charge too!!! Very disappointing, wouldn't bother going - there are far better quality and cheaper restaurants in the area

4  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Owner at Sirocco Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

My husband and I are happy you have dinned at our restaurant. Please accept our apologize if your plate was not of your preference

For your information “Stifado” is a very special plate that needs a few hours to be cooked.
Because of the long cooking time this food is prepared very early in the morning and since it is served on dinner time (always the same day) it has to be in the appropriate temperature.

It is possible that due to heavy work load in the kitchen your plate was not prepared in the appropriate temperature. This is not an excuse and we need to apologies once again because we are not used to such faults.

Thank you very much once again for your kind understanding that help us be more consistent and focus on our obligations to our customers.

We do invite you to try us out again, and we will be happy to help you choose dishes that may better suit your tastes.

Eri & Fanis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sirocco Taverna also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Sirocco Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing