We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an excellent atmosphere”
Review of Minoiko

Minoiko
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Leeds UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food in an excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to Plakias and Minoiko has been one of our favorites from day one. Consistently good food in a super atmosphere. Tucked away but becoming more popular. This year Maria has been very busy revamping the restaurant with new décor and an imaginative new style. Our favorites of Beef Stamna and lamb in red sauce were both as good as ever. A most enjoyable meal one of many in Minoiko. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food off the seafront”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We were looking for some place off the seafront, and were really happy with the choices if Minoiko!
On sitting down we were given free water. The bread was rather dry, but the tzatziki we choose for starter was generous an tasty, so we forgot the bread. Our choices for main metal was oven baked beef for one, lamb for the other, both baked with vegetables, potatoes and cheese. Tender meat in delicious sauce. Very tasty and plentyful! House red wine was fine with the meat.
Service was very good, from the young girl and boy, and the bill was accompanied with a small dessert and snaps.
We will definitely come back, and we want to recommend this place to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Off the main street - but worth finding.....”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Have been here before and enjoyed the food, so could not resist another visit.
We decided to order a selection of dishes rather than the main meals, and chose chips, tomato salad, saganaki special and spicy local sausage with peppers. Very good value with half litre of red wine and free water.
We were served by the same lovely micra as last year.
There were more people here than the last time we came, so I hope that word has got round. It should be listed under Plakias, of course. Would love to know how to get it moved to the correct place!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Lovely Plakias Taverna”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A real family affair - with the young daughter serving who was delightful. The roast lamb and potatoes was gorgeous. Please try it - it is up a side road from the pier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We ate at the Minoiko fives times during our Holiday. The food is so good we chose the Taverna for our final meal. A good choice of Creten and Greek dishes cooked to perfection and many vegetarian dishes to choose from. Minoiko has been closed for about three years and we were so happy to see it had reopened. Tucked away in the street that leads to the Youth Hostel and the village of Mirthios but not far from Plakias sea front it is often overlooked or passed by. You are missing a real treat if you do, nearly opposite to Plakias Kafeneion the place feels more local and less aimed at the tourist trade. If you want Fish I would probably choose one of the sea front establishments but for any other dishes it is sublime. We hope Minoiko has the success it deserves. It may not have the views but enjoy a drink in a seafront bar after your meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JVoloudakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minoiko also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Minoiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing