We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice beach”
Review of Plakias Beach

Plakias Beach
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice beach”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very clean beach although it is in front of the village of Plakias! Sun umbrellas and sunbeds are provided. The seawater is amazing. The only problem is when it is windy because you will be flagelated by the sand.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nickvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    148
    63
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Handy if you are sleeping in plakias”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Generally windy and dirtier than any other beach close by. Handy just if you are sleeping in plakias and you wish to go to a beach at walking distance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pierpaolo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1ST PLAKIAS HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Right opposite the hotel, shingle, but spotless: like plakias generally. Small charge by hotel to use loungers, parasols for the day, but excellent condition. Bar service available on beach for users. Beautiful tidal current, bit windy as a bay, but nice on a hot day. Very clean, advise early arrival.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank limegrove01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It will blow you away and not in a good way!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When planning a holiday to Greece, my friends and I decided to spend two nights in Plakias because of all of the great reviews for the beaches. Much to our disappointment, we were not able to enjoy the beaches that drew us to the area, because it is so windy there! Even a walk on the beach resulted in being pelted by sand and rocks, having our belongings blown out of our hands, and returning to our hotel with windburn on our faces. We spent two nights in Plakias, and it was the only part of the trip that we regretted. The North coast of Crete is absolutely beautiful (especially Chania), and we loved Santorini as well. With so many great villages to choose from in Greece, please do yourself a favor and choose somewhere else!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A "must visit"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Plakias, in Southern Crete, is well worth a visit. If you don't have a car you can get here by bus (from the bus station in Rethymno) for a few euros. This resort is fairly small but there is a wide selection of restaurants and cafes and little shops selling beautiful craftwork. The beach is spotlessly clean and the sea an oasis of calm in comparison to the huge waves on the north coast outside Rethymno. One end of the beach (where the sunbeds are located) can get a little crowded, so head towards the harbour end of the beach if you want space. There are also some lovely little tavernas at this end for a leisurely lunch right on the beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CornwallKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plakias Beach also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Lefkogia, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Plakias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing