We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Costas & Chrysoula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costas & Chrysoula
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Ferryhill
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just got back from these apartments. It was the best best holiday i've ever had. The apartments are basic as you would expect in 2 star accomadation but very clean and had evreything you needed. The pool bar is lovely and the people who work there are lovely, particularly the chap who does the evening shift. The pool area is lovely and it is very well maintained. Plakias its self has everything you need but you do need to be selective about where you dine as not all the tavernas are up to the mark. The Gorgona is nice and one called Mouses on the seafront is good. We ate there 4 times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHutchinsonFerryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    71
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks, and I can honestly say I cannot say anything bad about this place. We were fortunate to have stayed in one of the refurbished rooms (31) which was basic yes, but covered all we needed ie. a fridge, a shower that worked ( and drained away) air con and even a tv to catch up on bbc news as and when. Best of all a credit card key lock nice and tidy, cleaned daily. pool area is fine, pool is great and cleaned daily, one small issue might be when it is full lack of loungers, but after 2 days by the pool to unwind !! we spent the rest of our time on the beach, head towards the opposite end of plakias nudy beach and up the hill and there is a peaceful little beach which is quiet and sometimes we were the only ones there. Being a chef food is important, we died not have a bad meal, some better than others granted but all local produce (vegetables,olives,oil,spuds,honey, yoghurt,wines,raki,bread, all the seafood and fish plus a lot more. Locals all pleased to see you and genuinely friendly, what a find, We would have no hesitation coming back here in fact it would be a pleasure to continue the discovery.Transfer is long but worth it in the end. Any questions I will be pleased to help. Cheers marc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swedishchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked with Olympic Holidays two weeks before our departure date of 26th July. We booked two rooms, one for my wife and one for our 15 year old daughter and her best friend. Flights were with Strategic Airlines, we were very impressed with the level of service on both flights but the return flight cabin crew were exceptionally good. It was a 2 hour transfer through beautiful scenery, along the North coast to Rethymno then south to Plakias through a beautiful Gorge. We arrived at Costas Chrysoulla at about 9pm local time and were welcomed by the owners with a complimentary drink at the bar. This friendly welcome set the tone for the holiday, you were made to feel like you were visiting friends, it is a very relaxing place to stay. Rooms are basic but very clean, sheets and towels changed regularly etc. There are two cooking rings, a fridge, sink, kettle etc, no microwave but enough to put a decent meal/snack together. TV has one English channel but in the evening a number of channels show English/US films etc with Greek subtitles so that was a bonus. The owners charge 10E per week fir a safety deposit box and 5E per day for the air conditioning. They also provide a very good buffet breakfast for a German holiday company's customers as part of their deal. For 4E we were invited to help ourselves, tea, coffee, orange juice etc and fresh eggs either fried scrambled or boiled along with fresh bread, yoghurt, ham, cheese etc eat as much as you like ! This was such a bargain we had breakfast at Costas most days. The pool area is clean, always a sunbed available and a really relaxing atmosphere. The owners of Costas also own the Gorgona taverna and they will provide a card for a 10% discount at the taverna between midday and 8pm. We tried it and it was the best taverna of the many that are directly next to the beach. Our favourite place was Gialo's which is on the beach front but doesn't do a full food menu. They do a huge selection of drinks, lovely snacks including a fabulous fresh pizza for 4E and some gorgeous ice creams. Our Olmpic rep was Sian, very friendly and helpful with excellent local knowledge. We did the 18km Samaria Gorge walk that was a long day but worth every minute. To summarise, I would recommend Costas and Plakias whole heartedly. Such a friendly place to stay and Plakias has got a nice balance of having plenty to do (including two clubs open until as late as 6am) and a pleasing absence of English pubs and bars (although you can get english breakfasts and chips etc at most places) but it still feels like you are in Greece. It's a beautiful place, amazing scenery all around the resort. Costas is located behind the sea front about 100m from the resort centre yet you feel like you are in an oasis of peace and calm, never any noise heard from the clubs/bars etc, it's perfect. Book it and have a great time, we will be back !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl9872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Yes we came back.This time we stayed in there other hotel sofia,which is not far from costas & Chrysoula,Was sad we dident get to stay in costas, But hotel sofia,was very clean and modern.the room was clean and plenty of room,i slept on the camp bed has there was 3 of use,very comfee.We had breckfast in the morning nice choice of food,clean and covered up.staff very friendley has norm.The weather wasent to kind to use has it was very windy but hot,We still went to costas for the swiming pool and had drinks at the bar ,snacks in costas to,It was nice to see them all again.I went with my sistert and my daughter again.My sister and i had a small accident.takeing a short cut across to hotel sofia,it was very dark and windy.late at night,my sister fell down a step and i fell on top of her,she graced her knee and hand.I hit my head ,we made it back to how room.my head had a lump on it size of a egg,and sister knee was hurting.she did get a infection in it few days later,so we went to the chemist around the corner ,which opened sunday evenings.lady was very nice and gave her a spri to use.2 days before i came home my eye started to go black,i have still got that black eye.just waiting for it to go,be 2 weeks now,Costas wanted to move use into costas hotel .but has we only had 2 days left ,dident seem worth it all that packing again.I did alot of walking with my daughter ,has my sister couldent do it with her knee,the beach bar is very nice.and places to eat.was so nice to see all the old faces again.My sister is comeing back to plakias in sept for 2 weeks with her husband.lucky thing wish it was me.never know we mite be back soon ...If you looking for a nice quite holiday,and dont mind ppl comeing in late some times,then this is the place for you,there all very friendley and help full .just have to ask.......and one last thing,angelo make grait hot chocolate.mmmm

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhippygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and i stayed here for 10 days and thought the hotel was perfect, quite simple and very clean and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Snacks were served around the pool at lunchtime which were really good and reasonably priced.
The rooms were good and had a fridge, kettle etc. The hotel was in a quiet area of Plakias about 100metres from the centre and the beach. Will definately return here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

My Girlfriend & I are in our fifties (just) & Love Greece.
I worked in Halkidiki back in the 80's but can't usually get away now until October time due to my work.
We tried Crete Oct 2008 & made the mistake of booking a week away in a northern resort,which was not for us, ie paying to get onto a beach with thumping bass music playing all day & quad bikes everywhere,great if you want it of course.
on Holiday we like peace & quiet.
We got a car for the rest of the week & had a nice time anyway.

2010 we thought we'd give Plakias a shot so with an open mind we picked Costas Chrysoula.
We endured a 3 hour (plus) coach ride with no toilets (due to them being locked) & as we dropped people off along the way,we were left with about 12 of us all heading for Plakias.
We drove through the gorge,which was amazing & from there on in it was like going back to the Greece that I remembered from the 80's & memories of our previous trip to the North of Crete quickly evaporated,it's worth the drive.
We were dropped off in the square,left our luggage on the road & walked with the Rep up a little back street, through,what I thought was a back entrance, passed the little pool & straight into the bar.
Well,we were hooked from there on in,a free drink & a chat with the others from the coach,all of whom have been staying there for years.
The Staff are all pleasant & are all proud of their little Family run Hotel.
The Rooms are clean & basic,which is all that we need,this is not 5 star & doesn't pretend to be.
The pool is a nice sun trap & also a shelter from the wind on certain days.
The bar serves a good value breakfast & snacks the rest of the time.
The Town is lovely with countless Tavernas producing fresh local food for a very reasonable price.
The beach is clean & sandy with the Nudist part at the far end a 10 minute walk away.
We are not usually package holiday people & like to explore in a car but we were so relaxed & happy that we didn't actually go out of the village until we were on the coach going home!.
I wouldn't recommend Plakias or the Hotel to all of my friends as everyone has different expectations from their holiday but..
If you don't want to spend a lot of money.
Are happy with basic,clean accommodation, with Staff who are always happy to help & seem to care.
If you like to walk & sit on the beach & enjoy watching the most beautiful sun sets over a nice drink or two (in October anyway,it sets at 7pm)
If you enjoy finding a place to eat or drink & talk to the local people.
If you want to go to bed at 9pm or like us 2am.
Then this is worth considering.
We plan to return 2011 in October for another lovely relaxing week in the late Summer sunshine.
I hope that this helps..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trevor5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Flew out of Humberside at 9 pm and it was 7 am the next day, when I arrived at the complex. The coach from the airport can take up to 3 hours so be warned it takes a long time to get to the apartments.
As for the place itself, the apartments are basic but very clean, everything worked and the staff are great. Angelo the barman speaks really good English and is a local so if you need anything he will sort it for you. He is a nice bloke too always laughing and trying to make your holiday special.
As for the resort it’s small but has everything you will need. There are a few bars and restaurants. A nice beach and even a bit where if you want you can go naked (be careful tho, its hot and the mozzies are out to get you).
It’s not a cheap holiday place a large beer will cost you €3, a meal for two with a couple of large beers will be about €25, two sun beds and a parasol on the beach is €5. There are lots of supermarkets that sell everything you could ever need and a large beer from the supermarket is about €1 and bread is about €1.20
We had a really good holiday APART from the travelling which to be honest is bad (three and a half hours cramped on a jet then three hours on a coach with all the others bits in-between).
If you are going you will have a great time after the trip to get there and the one to come home. The pace is so slow and relaxed it’s hard not to unwind. The people are friendly and it was great to mix with our southern cousins. North south divide Wot north south divide?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.7 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 24 in Plakias
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#12 of 24 in Plakias
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas & Chrysoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas & Chrysoula

Property: Costas & Chrysoula
Address: Plakias | Rethimno Krete, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas & Chrysoula 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Costas & Chrysoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costas & Chrysoula Plakias, Crete
Costas Chrysoula Hotel Plakias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing