We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Costas & Chrysoula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costas & Chrysoula
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked a holiday to Costas Chrysoulas apartments through Olympic but looked for recommendations on Trip Advisor of course, I can only agree with all the other reviews. These apartments are in a great location, they are clean and modern and the staff, Costas & Chrysoulas and family are fantastic hosts. They cannot do enough for you. The Barman Angelos is a great entertainer and the Olympic Rep - Les - in his own words is 'spot on' Plakias is the place for a peaceful relaxing holiday. Sometimes the wind was so strong it blew the loungers around but even this would not put me off going again and again. I recommend paying for the air con otherwise you wont sleep at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UKFlaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at Costas Chrysoulla from 7/8/12 - 21/8/12 and after reading the previous review from Galaxy 1965 wonder if we stayed at the same place and would like to put across a more balanced review.
The hotel is not access by a dirt car park off a small dark alleyway off the main street. It can be if you wish to use this as a short cut and save yourself a nice two minute stroll. The hotel is actually accessed off a main well lit side street next to the Apollo apartments with a Taverna on the corner and several shops and supermarkets open from morning until late at night. There are certainly no dodgy unlit back streets to be walked looking over your shoulder.
Yes the rooms do have a two ring kitchenette and sink area but there is sufficient to make food if you wish but it is so cheap and close to all Tavernas with wonderful food why would you want to do this on your hols? Also you know what you are getting prior to booking so why complain about this?!
The pool is very clean and Costas maintains it daily - we saw him - every day without fail. Also in the two weeks we were there I don’t know of anyone suffering from any eye/ear infections as is quite often the case on holiday. This itself speaks volumes for the cleanliness of the pool.
Have you really ever gone on holiday and seen signs at a family hotel saying kids can’t play with a ball or a lilo in the pool??!! What a fun holiday that would be. What the previous reviewer seems to have omitted is that he did not seem to bothered at the time when he was showing off to the same kids he is having a go at when he was back flipping into the pool , and strangely also fails to mention that he asked the Rep if they could change flights and stay at the hotel for a further week! Can’t have been that bad then can it?
The hotel is not “covered” in ants. There is foliage along one wall at one side of the pool and being a Mediterranean country I suppose does have a few creepy crawlies. Again what the previous review fails to mention was that he made the choice to lay under this foliage for seven days in “his spot” and could have quite easily have moved to another spot around the pool and avoided this. Your choice.
I’m all for people giving an opinion on this site because that is what we all come here for, but if you are going to offer criticism for which people may make a decision on whether to spend their hard earned cash on a holiday then please be fair and get your facts right.
The resort of Plakias itself is beautiful. We have been to Crete several times before and have stayed in Hersonnisos, Ammoudara, Aghia Pelaghia, and I would say that Plakias is as close to “untouched” Greece as any, and much nicer than all of the above. It is very laid back typically Greek with lovely Tavernas where you can eat outside and watch the sun setting over the sea. It has not been spoilt by quad bike hire shops and tacky souvenir shops and the locals and bar and restaurant staff are all very friendly and polite and not pushy in any way.
The beach is about 5 minutes flat walk from the hotel and is around 3km long with nice clean sand which edges the sea which is very clear and calm with no dangerous undercurrents or large waves but does drop off fairly quickly and gets deep. It can be windy at the beach which nicely takes the intensity of the heat off but if it is really windy - and sometimes it is - you can get a bit sandblasted.
A single road runs parallel to the sea lined with tavernas and bars and the odd supermarket. The bars are great for sitting in on an evening facing the road and people watching.
There is a row of about 9 or 10 Tavernas all next to each other along the sea front and all are very chilled out and relaxed.
Gorgona taverna is owned by the the owners of this hotel and we ate there but found it to be expensive compared to other tavernas and a lamb dish was served up with a portion of I think packet rice which was disappointing. The “Barbecue” taverna is brilliant and Efi who runs the place with her partner is lovely and Nikos the waiter is very friendly and helpful. The food is plentiful and very good and extremely cheap. Expect to pay around 6 euros for a main dish or 2.50 for something smaller, but filling. A good half litre carafe of wine is 3 euros. Eleven of us ate for 88 euros with plenty of starters, main meals each and wine for us all. Quite often Efi or Nikos would provide carafes of wine on the house with our meal. Please go and try this place out.
The hotel itself is in a great central position only five minutes easy walk to everything you need - beach/shops/bars/tavernas and is still far enough away to be very peaceful and away from it all if you want to be.
The rooms are very nice, large enough to be comfortable and very clean. Most of the rooms seem to have recently been repainted and refurbished and are of a really good standard for 3 star Greece. The balconies are large and the bathrooms and newly tiled and the showers and good and powerful.
The bar is looked after by Chrisoula during the day who is lovely and by Angelo on a night who is a character and a really nice guy. The only criticism I could offer is the drinks could be a bit cheaper. 3 euros for a large beer is standard on the seafront with the views and atmosphere so maybe a bit less here would encourage people to have a few drinks in the hotel bar before going out for the night. Although saying that the bar area was still well used and sociable with everyone chatting away later on in the evening. The hotel is family run and it has that feel and because of this then the guests do mix well and it is very friendly. I would say that it is predominately English at the hotel with a few other nationalities and everyone whilst we were there were very polite and friendly.
Les the hotel rep is a very nice guy and a little bundle of Scottish energy. He always made time to chat and genuinely was interested that everything was ok and was always there for advice and help if needed. More importantly he never gave us any hard sell of trips etc and obviously loves his job and cares about what he does and the guests he looks after.
Would we go back to Plakias and the same hotel? Like a shot - and I suppose that’s the best recommendation I could give. The hotel was perfect, Plakias is beautiful and to top it all we were lucky enough to share our holiday with some lovely people who really made our time great fun and very special.
Thanks to Graham and family in the midlands, James and Hannah in Lincoln, Graham and Ali from Leeds with his extended (new) family of Sue and Deri. Great laughs and good times - big thanks to you all. Same again next year?

Room Tip: e mail the hotel direct with any requests and they will accomodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hi well we're do I start. Arrived 07/08/12-14/08/12 The complex is accessed via a small alleyway dirt car park and road from the main road and beach. The room to my opinion is not suitable for self catering two very small electrical hot plates and sink no oven no microwave. Theres no area to prepare food or eat it come to that. The so called kitchenette is in your bedroom so if you like your cloths and bed linen smelling of food then perfect for you. The toilet and shower thank god are separate from the bedroom. When you shower the toilet is right next to you so not only do you get a very unpredictable shower ( cold to scolding ) the loo gets a good wash as well. The shower room / toilet stays continually wet nice when sitting on the loo and also very slippery as the floor is marble please do be careful. You are charged 5 euros per day for air con and you have to hand over some form of ID passport driver licence, this is kept behind the bar in a secure place. When I provided my ID the chap showed me someone's passport that was left on the side of the bar not very safe in my opinion. The pool area is small and not big enough to accomidate the amount of rooms that are occupied some 60 plus. There are only a limited amount of sun loungers and even some of these are broken. The pool was not cleaned at any time during my stay apart from a bleach mop being run around the tiled edges. Ok so you get kids at these places but just put a sign up saying no ball games or inflatables allowed in the pool! seriously at one point it was like a flotilla at the Queens 60th anniversary up the Thames. Of a night if you venture out the area when you leave the complex it has no lighting and its pitch dark go in pairs, we had no problems but you never know. Look out for the ants there everyware. The staff are very friendly and helpful the rooms are kept clean and beds are made for you each day. Our room was opened with a electronic key just bear in mind if you are charging any electrical equipment do it of a night because as soon as you leave the room and take the key the electric turns off. Would I go back yes to the region proberbly not to the complex. Also there is a 3hr transfer from the airport. Hope this reviews been helpful.

Room Tip: Go for room numbers 23-29 these open out to the pool but the balonys all face other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Galaxy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Visited many Greek Islands and several resorts in Crete but this was the first time to Southern Crete. We were welcomed with smiles and complimentary drinks by Costas & Angelo after Les, the cheerful Olympic rep, showed us to the pool bar. Long transfer but some wonderful scenery en route through the gorge. We had two of the Ouranos apartments on the neighbouring street that was only two minutes away. They were gorgeous, spacious apartments with outstanding views of the mountains and in a reasonably quiet location. Close proximity to the supermarkets, tavernas, bars and the beach. Looked after by Chrysoula and Angelo whilst at the pool and bar and equally by Costas and his excellent Gorgonas taverna staff - Babis & Giorgos. Excellent food, great company and lots of Raki. My daughter celebrated her birthday one evening at Gorgonas and the lights were dimmed as an Angelo ‘special’ cocktail with sparklers etc was brought in and the whole taverna of Brits, Americans, Germans, Czechs and Greeks sang 'Happy Birthday'. Spot on. Thanks guys.
Hired a pretty good spec Mountain Bike from Anso Travel (on the beachfront at the village centre) - 56 Euros for 7 days - great value - & covered East, North & West of Plakias taking in Prevali, the Palm Beach, Souda, Fragkokastello (long ride but worth it for the castle, the glorious beach & the shallow, warm, crystal clear sea), Selia, Mirthios then up through the smaller gorge (battling the wind) then across the plains and through rural villages to Mixorrouma and dropped down to quaint Frato and through the huge impressive gorge and out to Asomatos then down to the main road back into Plakias. Also took in many of the water channels around the hills above Plakias, which gives some relief from climbing the hills - which there's no avoiding in this area really – and these provide some outstanding views. It’s absolutely the best way to see a lot of the beautiful Cretan countryside relatively quickly. There are some tracks around the coastline also where you'll pick up the many lovely secluded beaches and coves.
I must also mention the family of Terrapins that can be seen under the small bridge in the centre of the village. Quite an amazing sight.
The World Cup was on at the time and we enjoyed a few of the games at the pool bar in Angelo's company (hope Angelo won more bets on the Olympic results than he did with his World Cup predictions!).
We will be back again soon - Les owes me a mountain bike ride up to the Gorge! (the toss of a coin at the pool bar decided between himself or my son joining me on a ride up into the hills above Plakias in the 38 degree heat).
All in all we had a great time and would recommend the resort and Costas Chrysoula to anyone who appreciates Greece and it’s beauty, the people, the glorious weather, the culture and the way of life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ped39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Spent the second week in July at Costas Chrysoula.Apartment was very clean and serviced daily.All of the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome.Pool area was great and location was excellent, just a couple of minutes walk to all the bars and tavernas, which all sold good reasonably priced food.I would have no hesitation in recommending Costas Chrysoulas and the resort of Plakias to anybody.Thanks all at Costas for a great holiday.
P.S. don't stress too much about the coach transfer, the coach we were on was air conditioned and had plenty of leg room and reclining seats and was much more comfortable than the flight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank terry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

These Studios are just the thing for a relaxing holiday. They are close to all the bars, taverna's and supermarkets without being effected by any noise. The pool is just the place for a cool down from the hard work of sunbathing and the pool bar is a great place to get out of the sun for a drink and a snack or in the evening to sit and enjoy one of Angelo's amazing cocktails. The rooms are nice with flat screen TV's a nice bathroom and adequate catering facilities should you choose to use them?? We used ours for that first cuppa in the morning and the odd sandwich but not for much else, the local souvlaki and pitta bar is just the thing for the lighter meal and the bar does some really good omelettes, burgers, bacon & egg rolls not to mention the toasties.
The resort is just big enough to give you somewhere to stroll around in the evening with some really nice shops to browse in and bars to get that all important top up of fluids. There's no worries for those less mobile of us, as this resort is really flat with most bars having a ramp should they be slightly higher than the roadway but in general there's no problem with access.
The beach is just over the road and has a nice prom along it's length, it maybe a bit gritty but in general there are some very good sandy area's if the beach is your thing. All in all the Kostas Chrysoulla Studios are above basic with good décor adequate catering facilities and Air conditioning if you should require it, there's a pool, pool bar with snacks available and they are just 20 to 30 metres from the main street but amazingly quiet. so go RELAX!!! Just do it!!

Room Tip: Most rooms are good and there's not much between them but the rooms in the annex are the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed with my family for the weekend in a 2 bedroom room.
Rooms recently renovated, everything is new. Clean and comfortable.
Excellent location, in a quite street with no traffic but 40m from the beach the shops, the restaurant and the cafe of Plakias.
Pool area perfect, with a lot of sunbets and next to the bar. Childrens pool is at the other side of the fence, but is of the same owner and u can use it.
Aircondition should be free !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fragi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 24 in Plakias
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#7 of 24 in Plakias
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas & Chrysoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas & Chrysoula

Address: Plakias | Rethimno Krete, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £32 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas & Chrysoula 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Costas & Chrysoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costas & Chrysoula Plakias, Crete
Costas Chrysoula Hotel Plakias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing