We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“october sun”
Review of Costas & Chrysoula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costas & Chrysoula
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is our 5th time at these apartments,we traveled as a couple the children no longer want a holiday with us . Stayed in room 4 , recently re decorated,no more wooden shutters or doors but you get used to the modernization.Cannot fault the cleaning or the willingness of the staff to make things comfortable. The breakfast was substantial with one cooked egg dish and continental style buffet,the honey and yoghourt are fantastic. The barman Angelo is the best there is , but he cheats on quiz nights. The family also run a resturant on the seafront well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

On arrival after a 2.5 hr transfer we where offered a drink at the bar to relax while our bags where taken to our room.On going to our room it was clean and tidy with a lovely view from the balcony,Angelo the barman gives great service and is very helpful, the afternoon staff are just as wonderful and Chrysoulas food is brilliant and priced well.All the staff have a nothing is too much trouble attitude,the bar overlooks the pool and is a great place to finish off a good evening.We will be going back there again.And only 2 mins walk to the tavernas and beach. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Main Building has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Over the years we have been many times to different places in Greece. Some other people have commented on the length of the transfer...outward okay but return was, shall we say, a bit chaotic at the airport. Our room was kept spotless by Sonia, all the staff very friendly, and Les the rep too. Thank goodness air con was available....it got very hot..and only 5 Euros a night.
Many restaurants worth a try we particularly liked the Sirocco. A mention to for the AVRA café/bar..go there in the morning to see and hear the locals play tavli and cards....an expieience !!!! Nico the owner and his family are lovely.
If you want a cheap and easy meal go to the ,takeaway near the Alianthos...Giros with Pitta and wine for two 10 euros !!!! no wonder the locals go there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We first visited 3 years ago and loved it so much we decided to go back. The room was a definite improvement on the one we stayed in before, a tasteful renovation project has taken place, No white plastic patio funiture either which was a welcome change from just about everywhere else in Europe! The bathroom was beautifully tiled, although there was a bit of a smell from the drain when using the shower - but that is expected in Greece unfortunately. The 'kitchen' area did let it down a little, just a kettle and 2 rings - we don't cater for ourselves except for tea, coffee etc and a bit of breakfast - a toaster might have been a nice touch. The aircon was a necessity as it was 40c for a few days - and at 5 euro's per night not overly expensive. We only had it for 4 nights as it cooled down after that. My only slight criticism of the place was the cleaning - now I'm not one of these that complain that the sheets aren't changed every day, but we did find the level of the cleaning quit low really, the floors are quite stained and dusty and the bathroom was only given a very cursory clean. It's not cheap to stay here and we both really love it so I think just a little more attention to the cleaning and it would have been given an excellent rating! Angelos who works the bar in the evening is still very entertaining and friendly. The pool is lovely and clean, always sun loungers available. A mix of customers from young children through to pensioners, everyone made to feel very welcome.
Plakias has thankfully changed very little in 3 years, a bit disappointed to find a 'disco' bar pumping out very loud music - it's not that sort of resort really, but apart from that it's still very authentic, quiet, beautiful beach, lovely restaurants but mainly wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Just had the best 2 weeks in Costas and Plakias,Agree with almost everything la Romana has written except being in rm 27 the noise from Ostraco (only late night thumping music bar) could be heard until 3am, but with a good set of earplugs not a problem.yes it was windy but without the wind it would not have been such a pleasant heat and it was worth all the bad hair days!and a couple of sand whippings!
Costas location was great,just minutes from beach,bar,shops.Never had a bad meal either but favourite was the little Gyros bar at the end of the lane, cheap and very tasty. Never a problem getting sunbeds around pool and the beach was almost empty,walk a little further along towards the boaby beach,(naturist) the beach bar has free umbrella and beds.Lots of smaller beaches nearby,worth visiting Damnoni,Souda and Preveli. Everyone was so friendly...you know who you are?? that we will definitely be going back.(well worth the long bus journey from airport) Costas+ Plakias = an ideal chill holiday place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madame-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have done many Greek Islands and always had a super time.
However, This time was someting else.
Arrived in the early hours after a night flight, Greeted by olympic Rep Les Mitchell, he is extreamly friendly, easy going and dare I say "the best rep in 15 years of holidays with Olympic"
Its true what they say anout Andros the bar man "best ever"
Kostas and Chrissoula "wonderful" They make a great team.
The maid well 10/10 she was lovely.
I would not hesitate ro recommend a holiday here.
The only down side
"you have to come home"
Paul and Rich

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room........ ANY ROOM IS GOOD
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorbaTheGreek1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I went here in May 2012, got home and within an hour had re-booked for September 2012! Now looking at September 2013. I think that says it all.

Its a VERY long coach ride from the airport, but well worth it. The rooms are above the average "Greek Holiday Apartments" - modern, spotless and beautifully placed for the long sandy beach and the dozens of restaurants. Just set back off the main drag (1 minute walk to the seafront) there is no night-time noise so you get a good nights sleep!

Plenty of sunbeds, a gorgeous pool and a super little bar. Kostas is a star- any problems and hes there to sort it out. And what can be said about Angelo the barman? A real asset to the place - what a great guy!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twonicemice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.7 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 24 in Plakias
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas & Chrysoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas & Chrysoula

Address: Plakias | Rethimno Krete, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £37 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas & Chrysoula 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Costas & Chrysoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costas & Chrysoula Plakias, Crete
Costas Chrysoula Hotel Plakias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing