We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the center of Plakias”
Review of Costas & Chrysoula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costas & Chrysoula
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Aaigem, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the center of Plakias”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stay in the Hotel for 12 days and it was very pleasant. Angelo, the barman is formidable and Chrysoula makes every morning a perfect breakfast. A lot of choice and everu day shecooks eggs ina different way. Rooms are comfortly with balcon and shower. Every day cleaning and clean towels. The pool is perfect for children and adults and very clean too! It's really a small hotel, running by friendly and helpfully people and to advise for a good stay in Kreta.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florentyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    71
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've had a fantastic holiday in Plakias. When arriving we were a little worried as were taken away from the main hotel to the Aretousa apartments, but I think we lucked out. The block was a minute from the centre, but so peaceful! Huge balcony with amazing views. We were away from the swimming pool which was a two minute walk away but we didn't use it at all to be honest as the beach was so nice. The room was basic but well equipped (we went self-catering, but didn't eat in except for lunch which was bread, cheese and olives!) it was cleaned daily and we appreciated the privacy that came from being a little bit out of the main strip. I'd recommend the air-con, as it was so hot the first night! No mosquitos though! Yay!

Plakias is beautiful. The two hour transfer is long but it was worth it, just make sure you take some water! The sea views from the tavernas were stunning. The beach was great - plenty of sunbeds with umbrellas and lots of pretty places to eat and get drinks from throughout the day. We ate at quite a few places along the strip. Our favourites were the Taverna Gorgona (get a table out the front) and the Kri-Kri special pizza was amazing - we went back twice!

We seriously relaxed over our holiday and this was the perfect place for it! There are a few bars that stay open later, but that's pretty much it. We spent the week sunbathing, swimming, eating and drinking!

If you are looking for somewhere affordable, peaceful and friendly then we would definitely recommend this hotel and resort. If you go with Olympic holidays then make sure you get to Saturday quiz night with Les the rep and try one of the barman's cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seb0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Plakias is a great place to stay for a relaxing holiday. We were initially a little underwhelmed when we arrived there at 2am in the morning, but there were still a couple of bars open so we were able to unwind with a drink after the long journey.

We stayed in the Aretousa building - run by Costas but a few minutes walk away from the main block. The accommodation was excellent - spotlessly clean, spacious and cool, with a large balcony that got the sun in the morning and had a great view of the two villages perched on the hillside above Plakias. The facilities are fine for preparing basic breakfasts and snacks.

We enjoyed the Saturday night quiz hosted by the Olympic rep Les and Costas and tended to visit the pool later in the day - there were always sunbeds available.

We would heartily recommend Costas as a place to stay: he and his family and staff are friendly and helpful and we'd certainly stay again when we return to Plakias.

The resort itself is the quietest one we've stayed in, but there's just enough to keep you occupied and the stretch of beach offers plenty of space and varies from shingle through to sand at the eastern side. There are only limited boat trips from Plakias, but they're worth doing to provide variety in the week. Nearby Souda beach is only 40 minutes walk and the journey takes you past some beautiful scenery. A walk up to the village of Myrthios took us about 40 minutes, too - the path beside the Aretusa building joins a road that goes up there.

All in all, a great place to spend a week or two!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobinWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The apartments are literally a minutes walk on to the main strip - but there is no noise to bother you. Our room was just outside of the main complex which was easily accessible - it was basic but there wasn't anything we missed and the cleaning was fantastic. Everyone is so friendly and does their utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

Breakfast was lovely, the bar made the most delicious cocktails and they own Taverna Gorgona which is a 2 minute walk and the food is absolutely delicious - we ate there several times!

The pool isnt huge but it is nice and very clean. I never struggled for a sun bed and everyone is friendly around the place.

The beach was pebbly and the waves really came in a bit too harsh and fast for me - making it difficult to just nip in for a dip. If there was one recommendation I would make it would be to buy a pair of jelly shoes as it would be easier to walk on the beach and would also wear them in the sea. There are a few areas that allow nude bathing but they are away from the main tourist area but be aware that if you decide to visit Souda Beach (6 euro by taxi each way) then it is a mixed beach!

Although it is only a small resort there are plenty of places to eat and drink. Carry on walking past the Gorgona (towards Souda) and you will find some nice fish restaurants. In the other direction you should try the waffle place on the main strip - I cant remember the name of it but its by the shop that sells papers and the waffles are amazing! Lots of places do cocktails and its really a lovely way to end the day sitting on the beach front with a cocktail - having said that though you would be hard pushed to beat Angelos cocktails at the apartments bar!

Make use of Les the Olympic rep - he is friendly and very knowledgeable of the area and will give you tips on places to visit. There is only a handful of tourist shops so you may wish to visit Rethymon which is about 35km away - but there are buses to take you places.

It isn't a fast pace of life in Plakias and that's the nice thing about the resort. You will be totally relaxed by the time its home time. The 2 hour journey to/from the airport is a pain to be honest but it was a lot more enjoyable doing it in daylight rather than travelling to it at 2am in the morning.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday, a nice basic but so very clean apartment with friendly helpful people and a traditional Cretan feel to the place then you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Debbie379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Well, another week spend at Costas, July 2014, and again it was very enjoyable. Friendly people, the rooms kept clean, sheets and towels changed regularly and a relaxed atmosphere all round.
I must say, as before, the self catering element leaves a lot to be desired BUT as you can have breakfast at Costas and meals are reasonable priced out and about there is no real need. If you want "proper" self catering go elsewhere. I like to make my own breakfast and a simple salad lunch so I coped with what was on offer to use.
Everything else was great. The rep Les and Angelo the barman make a great entertainment team, worth it just to go to see them!
The pool although small is kept to the highest standard which for me is a must.
Plakias is still a nice resort, everyone is friendly and the Taverna Gorgona (which is their restaurant) does nice meals and again, a friendly welcome is made of you on each visit.
Relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable for a realistically good price. Will be returning at some point, like many many others do each year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 815chillilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Me & my fiancé stayed at Kostas Chrysoulla apts in July 2014 for two weeks. This was our first time in Crete and we can defiantly recommend this place. We arrived to Plakias around 9 o'clock in the evening and Angelo the bartender welcomed us with some free drinks.

We stayed in room nr. 19 which was on second floor and we had some view over the nearby mountains which was lovely. Also that room had the morning sun on the balconies so we enjoyed our breakfast/lunch out there.

The room was well equipped with everything we needed (pan, pot, kettle, coffee funnel, Greek coffee pot, plates, bowls, grinder, cutlery, can opener, sharp knife, glasses and ice-maker) except for a bottle opener, but luckily we had one with us. But I bet if you would just ask at the bar they would have given us one for the room. There were two cooking rings but only one for the pot or the pan, the other one was small that seemed to fit the Greek coffee pot.
We usually cooked breakfast/lunch and made coffee in the morning in the room but we went out for dinner every night since it's very cheap to go out there and we wanted to enjoy our nights out instead of staying in and do the cooking.

The room itself kind of reminded me on my studio apartment in Denmark while I was studying there, it was big enough to survive in!, but this one had a flat screen TV with many channels to choose from! (I come from Iceland and here we don't have that many channels so many is more then 5...) :)

The staff was very friendly and the bartender was a lot of fun. I recommend you ask for a White lady cocktail at the bar when Angelo is there :)

The pool area was rather small but big enough to enjoy the day there and there were always some free sunbeds. Also they had free wifi at the pool area which was very nice.

The family that runs this place have also a restaurant in the nearby street which is called Taverna Gorgona. They hand out business cards from this restaurant and all guests have 10% discount when they have that card with them to the restaurant. And they're restaurant is lovely as well. If you like pasta and creamy dishes I recommend the spaghetti carbonara.. that was amazing, one of the best I've ever tasted and I usually don't like pasta that much.

This hotel is very close to everything, not that Plakias is such a big place but it takes less then a minute to walk to the main street with most of the restaurants and the beach.
I have to admit though when we first arrived it was getting dark outside and the walkway to the hotel from the bus stop looked pretty weird at first, seemed like we were walking through someone's garden's path. Also the hotel doesn´t have a very big hotel-sign, so that's probably one of the things they should update.

But all in all, a very pleasant stay and I send my best to all the hotel staff for making our holiday so lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jonadogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

well yet another 2 weeks stay at costa an chrysoula , enjoyed it as much as we did last year , great people , great atmosphere , angelos is a star, les the rep is BRILLIANT , sylvia the cleaner came in everyday even if it was just to empty bins , had clean bedding 4 times over 2 weeks. cant wait till next year to return for 3rd time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rich_taylor39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.7 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#7 of 24 in Plakias
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 24 in Plakias
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#10 of 24 in Plakias
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas & Chrysoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas & Chrysoula

Property: Costas & Chrysoula
Address: Plakias | Rethimno Krete, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas & Chrysoula 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Costas & Chrysoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costas & Chrysoula Plakias, Crete
Costas Chrysoula Hotel Plakias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing