We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Costas & Chrysoula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costas & Chrysoula
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We booked a bargain deal to these apartments a week before going as due to illness I was sorely in need of a bit of r&r. I had looked into Plakias a few years ago as a destination but my then partner would not entertain the thought of it as the transfer time is so long - well he missed out on a treat! Yes the coach transfer is long especially dropping off en-route via Rethymon and Bali etc but as it was daytime it was good to enjoy the scenery, the drive through the gorge was breathtaking. We were met in resort by the Olympic rep - Ian who walked the last 100m to the complex with us where we were greeted with a drink by the 2 Kosta's who then showed us to our rooms. The rooms were basic but I didn't expect anything more and as they were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable and there was a fridge and a kettle, what more do you need?
The resort itself was perfect for us, lots of good travernas and restaurants and kebab places which are excellent value and a chance to mingle with the locals. We did not have a bad meal the whole time we were there and we were pleasantly surprised with the amount of traditional home cooked food on offer - makes a change from mass produced 'moussaka' and chips with everything! The best taverna we found was Manoussos - up the main street and turn left, it's tucked away but is a real gem, excellent food and a family running it who were so friendly and welcoming. The only bars we didn't like were the newer 'modern' places which look a bit out of place really and are very expensive.
The beach is gorgeous, the further towards the nudist beach you get the sandier it gets and as it was the first week of the season many people were nude before that section of the beach - it didn't bother us as we happily joined in but there was plenty of room so that if you didn't like it you didn't have to see it! A couple of days were really windy and so the sea was quite choppy but part from them the sea was very calm and turquoise.
We walked to Souda bay - approx 2 km and a bit hilly but the views were stunning, there were 2 tavernas there - 1 ridiculously expensive and the other only had 4 dishes available -- but as I said it was the first week of the season.
We didn't do much else - just had a beach holiday but I can honestly say it was the best holiday I have had - I go to Greece usually twice a year and am definitely a convert to Plakias, I would love to go again but for longer and hire a car and explore the island a bit.
The apartments were fine and I would recommend them to couples, not necessarily families with children as the pool would not really suit and the complex is quite small. everyone was friendly and welcoming and we had no problems to report. Ian the Olympic rep was a gem, not pushy but available should you need him - we didn't as we are quite happy to go with the flow but be assured that he could deal with any crisis in a friendly competant manner.
I would definitely go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    71
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangor
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

When we first visited Costas & Chryssoula we arrived in the early hours of the morning (around 03.30 as far as I recall) and the place was totally dead. We explored and found a room with a key in the door, so plonked ourselves inside, reckoning that we would sort it out in the morning. Next morning we went to the bar for breakfast, and the friendly and helpful Maria assured us that we could stay in our selected room, as this was the one allocated to us, and the Olympic rep should have given us that info the previous night at the airport. We soon wound down to the Plakias pace of life and had such a great holiday that we've been back once (at Costas & Chryssoula as it is so friendly and central), and plan to return again. And again! When you weigh - up the basic facilities on the site, these are more than balanced by the friendliness of the staff, Maria, Angelo, and both Costas (cousins I believe), the tranquility of the place, and the location. (OK, it is in a little backstreet, but the marvellous beach is easily accessible via a little alleyway if you don't want to walk along a street.) There are mini-markets nearby for all your needs. And Angelo will be happy to keep serving drinks to you at the bar til about 01.00. He'll also cheerfully make you a toastie if you're peckish. Loads of great tavernas nearby. Try those which are away from the seafront, those onthe first road/street inland are excellent, and better value. One of them serves home-made moussaka - to die for! Nothing much else to do in Plakias at night, except eat and drink, or visit and re-visit some of the souvenir shops, some tackier than others. All in all, a super holiday destination if you want to wind down and stay wound down, and can put up with tyupically Greek basic amenities. Well worth the 2hours + from Heraklion airport.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I hav e been plakias 6 times.eather with my sister or daughter or both.and i have found it very nice,always come bk,love it weather nice.staff nice.friendly.ok we had someone complain about noise.but u on holiday.But when we told owner he was fine with it,Will not put use off comeing back.My sister had been comeing here sins there was no swiming pool Long time her and her husband,to me i look forward every time i come.Can not wait to come bk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhippygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We booked this as a last minute holiday on a very tight budget, and chose these apartments because they were about the only place not to have dire reviews written about them! We know there were a few negative reviews, but as these were mostly out-of-date we thought we'd go for it... and we are SO glad we did!

We were dropped off by 'Formula 1' taxi, which is about an hour and half from the airport: think the driver was too lazy to drive around the back streets to drop us off at the door, but to be honest, if you can wheel your suitcase for miles around the airport, you can manage the 100 metres from the street to the door (which is flat)!

There is no reception area, so we walked to the bar and were greeted by the infamous Aggelo (whom everyone calls Angelo for some reason!) and a free welcome drink. We were offered a safe (10 euros a week) and air conditioning (5 euros a day) and taken to our room (Room 4). Aggelo always carries the woman's bag (such a gentleman!). All the claims of 'best barman in Crete' are probably not overrated... he makes the place!

Firstly, this is not a 5* complex so if you're expecting that then don't book! (We stayed at The Hilton at the airport before we left, and to be honest preferred Costas Chrysoula!) The room was a good size with two single beds pushed together (we tied the legs together with a carrier bag, rolled a blanket up and put it in the gap and therefore had a HUGE bed!)... to her credit, the maid even made it up as one big bed! She also worked out the we needed extra pillows (having put a blanket under them the first night), and the next afternoon we came back to two pillows each without even having asked! There is a wardrobe with hangers, and two drawers underneath; two three-drawer bedside tables; a dressing table with two drawers; a small table; two chairs and a colour TV with remote control. The kitchen had a two-ring hob; kettle; fridge; two saucepans and a frying pan; various plates, cups and glasses, cutlery and utensils... it even had a corkscrew! Best of all, everything was SPOTLESSLY CLEAN! Outside is a small balcony with table, two chairs and a washing line (with pegs). There is a shower wet room with, (I am so pleased to say with my long hair,) excellent water pressure (better than my power shower at home!). Towels and bedding changed every few days, and the maid came every day... we left a hand towel on the floor as a 'bath mat' and she replaced it with purpose made 'bath mat towel' as well as replacing the hand towel!

We ate in the bar a few times; food is freshly cooked so hot, and very reasonable priced. Although only 'snack meals', we found we lost out appetite over the course of the two weeks so a pizza or club sandwich and chips was more than enough!

We never had any problems getting a sunbed around the pool (which is small, but 2.7m deep at one end). Lots of umbrellas availble too, and no charge for anything. As we were on a budget, we kept nipping up to our fridge for drinks and they had no problem with that. Rep comes round regularly and doesn't pester you at all, which was rather refreshing.

The beach is about 250m away (nudist section at the far eastern end of the bay)... everything is flat in the main street where all the shops are, so no hills unless you decide to explore the back street tavernas. There are a few cash points, and places to exchange travellers cheques (2% commission wherever you go). Plenty of supermarkets and tavernas, all traditional (no McDonalds, English pubs or the like). There is a cafe with a free wi-fi (reached from a few other bars/tavernas, but not the apartments).

It can be windy, and was for the first 10 days as a northerly wind was coming down the gorge at quite some speed... means we didn't need the air conditioning, and much as we cursed sand in our ears on the beach and difficulty in reading the newspaper (2 euros for English papers), when it stopped for the last 4 days, we wished it back as it made the heat completely bearable (34 degrees in the daytime, 26 at night)!

We had NO PROBLEMS with this resort, and neither did the other guests we spoke to (many of whom were repeat visitors).

We're definitely going back next year, and would recommend it to anyone!

(Lots of photos of Plakias on FaceBook... just type in 'Plakias')

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott_and_Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Typical Greek basic accomodation. The studio room was kept very clean with towels and sheets changed every other day. The cooking facilities were minimal but to be honest his did not bother us because we eat out. However we were surprised to find a Iron and also a TV. The staff here are very friendly and the pool bar provides snacks and drinks at reasonable prices. The beach was about 100 metres away. Plakias itself is a very quiet resort but has a good choice of restuarants and bars. We were very pleasantly surprised at the cost of eating out. We were travelling with our 2 teenage children and the cost of a meal in the evening varied between 36 and 52 euro - this was for starters, main course, a litre of local wine and soft drinks for the kids. All of the restuarants provide a free dessert and raki at the end of the meal. The only thing to be aware of is Plakias can be very windy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

had a great stay ,all the staff were great ask for room 62

  • Liked — poolbar and staf
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annshaunwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We visited Kostas Chrysoulla In Plakias, Crete , for a fortnight ending on 16th Sept. Our apartment was basic but poorly equipped, no colour tv made available until we had been there 9 days, in spite of an early request. Self catering equipment was a joke, no kettle, only one knife and one tea spoon, The air conditioning (5 euros a day) was good but the condensation from the unit made the verandah a very wet area. We have used self catering all over europe but this was the only time we have needed to complain. The area is beautiful with lovely scenary but the apartments we would never recommend. Poor service with no-one to meet us, a 250 meter walk with our luggage in the early hours and a 350 meter walk in the heat of the day to join the bus when we left.........No thank you.
Ken and Barbara Davy

  • Liked — only air conditioning at 5 euros a day
  • Disliked — very poor service and equipment
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.7 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#7 of 24 in Plakias
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 24 in Plakias
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#10 of 24 in Plakias
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas & Chrysoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas & Chrysoula

Property: Costas & Chrysoula
Address: Plakias | Rethimno Krete, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas & Chrysoula 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and LoveHolidays so you can book your Costas & Chrysoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costas & Chrysoula Plakias, Crete
Costas Chrysoula Hotel Plakias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing