We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Plakias Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plakias Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Basingstoke UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very basic.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Clean and reasonably friendly, in a good position near to the beach.
No shower surround (remove loo roll before showering), no basin plug, poor storage facilities, no mats on stone floor in bedroom, uncomfortable bed, no hot water in morning (only tepid).
Choose only if you like things basic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We atayed her in April, the week before the Greek Easter. We loved the position of the hotel and the views. The room we had looked out over the bay and Plakias and had a lovely balcony.This hotel has some nice touches, we liked the seperate entrance and fridge. We didn't have any evening meals there as they only do them twice a week but there are loads of places in Plakias, Muses is a good place to eat. Breakfast is simple, continental style with ham,cheese and eggs. I was a bit worried about the bathrooms here after reading some reviews but it was not a problem (see photo) the shower is not hand held,you can fix it at the right height. There was plenty of hot water and the drain is set in a sunken square.As long as you don't turn it on full force it is ok.We didn't see a lot of the owners as we were out most days.We had some lovely walks and trips around the area and would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Plakias Bay Hotel: I surely cannot say that the rooms are fantastic but good enough for a couple of days. Expecially if you spend most of the time out! The owner is very friendly and the position is very good with a fantastic view on the gulf. The village is not so far, and easily reachable with a 10 min walk. If you want to spend some days in Plakia, and you're not looking for a 5* treatment, this can be a good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went to Rethymnon to a friend's wedding and then spent two nights here to get away from it all. The hotel is situated very near the sea, 10 minute walk from the main town of Plakias where there are lots of restaurants. Low key town - no discos, just families enjoying the view. The hotel doesn't have much in the way of facilities - just clean simple rooms and pleasant dining room. All the staff ( mainly one family ) were very welcoming and interesting to talk to. Having a car is necessary if you want to explore the area. Plakias beach is nice but we prefered Damnoni ( 5 min drive ) . We looked at staying at the Kalypso Hotel around the corner - we went for lunch to check and definately backed the right horse !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystal072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spent 8 nights here starting on April 20th, and we highly recommend it. The hotel is perched at the far east of the bay; the beach starts here and continues across to the town where restaurants claim the frontage. Most rooms have a balcony and views of the water. The style is best suited for hot, summer weather: white, concrete, no shower curtains, exterior steps and corridors. The walls were soundproof. Indoor, covered, and outdoor dining spaces. (There was a fire indoors during the cool spring evenings.) Breakfast buffet includes eggs, ham, cheese, bread, and more. Stay for the dinners offered twice weekly: the food is delicious, there's a large selection, and prices are very reasonable. The bar is open all the time. Aris and his family make Plakias Bay an extremely comfortable place whether you're alone or part of a couple, group, or family. Easter celebrations started several days ahead and culminated with a delicious lamb roast. If the beach gets the wind from the gorge, hike or drive over to the "quite beaches" further east; they'll be beautiful. Free internet, plenty of cell service, lots of restaurants nearby, as well as ATM, gas, and laundry. From Plakias we explored as far east as Matala/Agia Triada/Phaestos, as far west as Chora Sphakion, and as far north as Rethmynon/Argyroupoli/Episkipi. It's 1 1/2 hours from Heraklion Airport.

Room Tip: Email Aris explaining what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

Plakias is a small resort in southern Crete and is much favoured by returning visitors like ourselves. Preparing for our 7th visit to the resort, we were dismayed to read on other websites that the developers have moved in and that there is a lot of new building going on near to the beach. We prepared to hire a car an flee to other places, but we didn't need to.

Sure, the building was in progress and could sometimes be heard, but generally, we were unaware of it, especially when on the beach where the swoosh of the water was louder.

There was some heavy traffic using the main road and we were occasionally aware of this as there is little to absorb the sound - voices carry, along with the bleating of sheep and goats but you might never identify the source of the noise - it's just the way it is.

Anyway, the other thing we had heard was that Leftkeris, the doughnut man, was no longer walking the beach. We discovered soon after arriving, that his brother has taken over., so the doughnuts still arrive on a daily basis (not Sunday) although not with the usual banter. One day, however, Leftkeris decided to come to the beach himself. We all knew it was him - 'A doughnut a day keeps viagra away! - Extra veetameenas!' - and we were all pleased to see him, but disappointed that it was only the once.

George, the owner of the Mitos taverna, died in May and so the taverna remains closed at the moment. Whilst sad about George, the closed taverna did not have an effect on our holiday as there are so many in the village that you can go to a different one every night. The food this year seemed better than ever.

If you travel to Crete, you must expect dust and a certain ammount of shabbiness, compared to other destinations. Loos can be a bit hit or miss but in Plakias, they have improved tremendously over the past few years and are generally clean and well stocked with paper, soap and paper towels. In common with most Greek resorts, you still have to put your toilet paper in a bin but in Plakias, I am pleased to report that covered pedal bins with plastic liners have replaced the once common open baskets.

When the sun shines, Plakias is a real paradise. When the wind blows, it can be exfoliating! When it rains, you dive for cover and come out when it's stopped. The drainage is non-existent and you just have to wait for the water to go down.

But the people are fantastic - rain or shine - and the welcome is a warm one wherever you go.

So don't be put off by the new building - appreciate the new health centre that's going to come with it - and take pleasure in the joy of those locals who've made enough money to buy themselves new 4X4s and tart up their premises.

I don't want Plakias to change too much but, whatever happens, it will still be a beautiful venue and well worth a visit, as long as you don't want anything fancy in the way of accomodation or entertainment (of which there is very little).

Enjoy the blue sea and sunny sky on good days and enjoy the dramatic cloud formations over the mountains on the rare bad day. It's the perfect place to lounge and read - and get an all-over tan if that's your fancy.

Helpful?
8 Thank MoyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

Spent four nights at the Plakias Bay Hotel in late April 2007, €60 per night B&B for two. Well-run by Aris and Natasha Moraitis. Spacious, clean rooms with good-sized bathrooms and balconies mostly looking down the beach to the town which is 15 mins walk away (with full street-lighting all the way). Very quiet location (in April, anyway) behind the nudie Far End of the beach. Rooms have air/con and refrigerators. Hiccup with the hot water supply was quickly fixed. Very nice spot and good value.

  • Liked — Quiet location in springtime
  • Disliked — Minor problem with hot water supply, quickly fixed.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank andyurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.2 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#2 of 23 in Plakias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plakias Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plakias Bay Hotel

Property: Plakias Bay Hotel
Address: | Agios vasileios, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plakias Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Plakias Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plakias Bay Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing