We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and quiet”
Review of Plakias Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plakias Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel is at the southern end of the Plakias beach and is very quiet. Nudists use this end of the beach but not early in the year. We stayed at the Plakias Bay Hotel between 17th - 24th April (2012). We were part of a group of 16 on a flower and bird watching holiday. Our primary need was good flowers and birds so more than basic accommodation and food was not our primary concern. We were booked for bed, breakfast, packed lunch and evening meal. Breakfasts were identical and cold consisting of plastic sliced cheese and ham, tomato, hard-boiled egg, fingers of 1/2" thick omelette, bread, solid cold butter, jam, cake and something greek in 1/4" slices without much taste whose main constituent was probably flour. Packed lunch was a long roll containing what we didn't eat for breakfast with added lettuce plus an apple and fruit juice and 1/2 a litre of water. Apart from the vegetarian option, dinner was chef's choice and consisted of 4 courses usually starting with a very palatable soup. What followed was tasty and adequate and none of us complained. The finish was a thimble glass of clear spirit (not ouzo) probably very strong but no obvious taste. The rooms are very basic. Ours had a double and a single bed that seemed to be a solid stone or concrete base topped with a firm matress. There may have been air conditioning for when it is hot but our night temperature was less than 10 C and our attempts to get any heat out of it failed dismaly and one blanket over the sheet was not enough to keep warm. A bedside rug on the cold tiled floor would have been an early-morning comfort. There was a small fridge to keep the watered-down evaporated milk we stole from the resturant from going off during the day and a telephone we had no reason to use but no TV. There was no kettle or anything for tea/coffee making so it was a good thing we packed our travelling kettle and tea kit. It is not reccommended that you drink the water from the tap without first boiling it. The power point for the fridge was unusual in that you had to turn the plug a quarter turn before it would push in.
We found a 'secret' socket in the wardrobe cupboard where we could plug the chargers for our camera batteries. The bathroom was the main let-down for our accommodation and this is why we couldn't give the hotel 4 star grading. The walls, floor and fittings looked drab and there was nothing to stop the shower from spraying everywhere. A 1/2" recess in the floor below the shower head stopped most of the water spreading all over the floor. We couldn't find a plug for the sink and it took the management 3 days to produce one. In the event we did find a plug half an hour before the management arrived with a replacement. We discovered the plug 7 feet up on top of the fitting that holds the spare bog rolls. There was only luke-warm water on our first day but it was hot enough to shower by day 2. All rooms have a balcony with a view. We looked north-west towards the town with a view of the sea and the mountains in the distance. There was a small table and two chairs and a useful expanding hanger for drying wet clothes. Unfortunately it was rather too cold to take advantage of the balcony at the time of our stay. On the bright side, the management and staff were all pleasant and polite. Our holiday was costed all-in including air fares, transport, 2 expert leaders with accomodation and food, so we can't make a cost comparison with other hotels in Crete. However, it does not fare favourbly with an equivalent hotel in Cyprus 2 miles west of the town of Polis that we visited on a similar holiday at about the same time in 2011.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rick-the-plumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Clean and reasonably friendly, in a good position near to the beach.
No shower surround (remove loo roll before showering), no basin plug, poor storage facilities, no mats on stone floor in bedroom, uncomfortable bed, no hot water in morning (only tepid).
Choose only if you like things basic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xyz907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We atayed her in April, the week before the Greek Easter. We loved the position of the hotel and the views. The room we had looked out over the bay and Plakias and had a lovely balcony.This hotel has some nice touches, we liked the seperate entrance and fridge. We didn't have any evening meals there as they only do them twice a week but there are loads of places in Plakias, Muses is a good place to eat. Breakfast is simple, continental style with ham,cheese and eggs. I was a bit worried about the bathrooms here after reading some reviews but it was not a problem (see photo) the shower is not hand held,you can fix it at the right height. There was plenty of hot water and the drain is set in a sunken square.As long as you don't turn it on full force it is ok.We didn't see a lot of the owners as we were out most days.We had some lovely walks and trips around the area and would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Plakias Bay Hotel: I surely cannot say that the rooms are fantastic but good enough for a couple of days. Expecially if you spend most of the time out! The owner is very friendly and the position is very good with a fantastic view on the gulf. The village is not so far, and easily reachable with a 10 min walk. If you want to spend some days in Plakia, and you're not looking for a 5* treatment, this can be a good place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went to Rethymnon to a friend's wedding and then spent two nights here to get away from it all. The hotel is situated very near the sea, 10 minute walk from the main town of Plakias where there are lots of restaurants. Low key town - no discos, just families enjoying the view. The hotel doesn't have much in the way of facilities - just clean simple rooms and pleasant dining room. All the staff ( mainly one family ) were very welcoming and interesting to talk to. Having a car is necessary if you want to explore the area. Plakias beach is nice but we prefered Damnoni ( 5 min drive ) . We looked at staying at the Kalypso Hotel around the corner - we went for lunch to check and definately backed the right horse !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crystal072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spent 8 nights here starting on April 20th, and we highly recommend it. The hotel is perched at the far east of the bay; the beach starts here and continues across to the town where restaurants claim the frontage. Most rooms have a balcony and views of the water. The style is best suited for hot, summer weather: white, concrete, no shower curtains, exterior steps and corridors. The walls were soundproof. Indoor, covered, and outdoor dining spaces. (There was a fire indoors during the cool spring evenings.) Breakfast buffet includes eggs, ham, cheese, bread, and more. Stay for the dinners offered twice weekly: the food is delicious, there's a large selection, and prices are very reasonable. The bar is open all the time. Aris and his family make Plakias Bay an extremely comfortable place whether you're alone or part of a couple, group, or family. Easter celebrations started several days ahead and culminated with a delicious lamb roast. If the beach gets the wind from the gorge, hike or drive over to the "quite beaches" further east; they'll be beautiful. Free internet, plenty of cell service, lots of restaurants nearby, as well as ATM, gas, and laundry. From Plakias we explored as far east as Matala/Agia Triada/Phaestos, as far west as Chora Sphakion, and as far north as Rethmynon/Argyroupoli/Episkipi. It's 1 1/2 hours from Heraklion Airport.

Room Tip: Email Aris explaining what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Plakias is a small resort in southern Crete and is much favoured by returning visitors like ourselves. Preparing for our 7th visit to the resort, we were dismayed to read on other websites that the developers have moved in and that there is a lot of new building going on near to the beach. We prepared to hire a car an flee to other places, but we didn't need to.

Sure, the building was in progress and could sometimes be heard, but generally, we were unaware of it, especially when on the beach where the swoosh of the water was louder.

There was some heavy traffic using the main road and we were occasionally aware of this as there is little to absorb the sound - voices carry, along with the bleating of sheep and goats but you might never identify the source of the noise - it's just the way it is.

Anyway, the other thing we had heard was that Leftkeris, the doughnut man, was no longer walking the beach. We discovered soon after arriving, that his brother has taken over., so the doughnuts still arrive on a daily basis (not Sunday) although not with the usual banter. One day, however, Leftkeris decided to come to the beach himself. We all knew it was him - 'A doughnut a day keeps viagra away! - Extra veetameenas!' - and we were all pleased to see him, but disappointed that it was only the once.

George, the owner of the Mitos taverna, died in May and so the taverna remains closed at the moment. Whilst sad about George, the closed taverna did not have an effect on our holiday as there are so many in the village that you can go to a different one every night. The food this year seemed better than ever.

If you travel to Crete, you must expect dust and a certain ammount of shabbiness, compared to other destinations. Loos can be a bit hit or miss but in Plakias, they have improved tremendously over the past few years and are generally clean and well stocked with paper, soap and paper towels. In common with most Greek resorts, you still have to put your toilet paper in a bin but in Plakias, I am pleased to report that covered pedal bins with plastic liners have replaced the once common open baskets.

When the sun shines, Plakias is a real paradise. When the wind blows, it can be exfoliating! When it rains, you dive for cover and come out when it's stopped. The drainage is non-existent and you just have to wait for the water to go down.

But the people are fantastic - rain or shine - and the welcome is a warm one wherever you go.

So don't be put off by the new building - appreciate the new health centre that's going to come with it - and take pleasure in the joy of those locals who've made enough money to buy themselves new 4X4s and tart up their premises.

I don't want Plakias to change too much but, whatever happens, it will still be a beautiful venue and well worth a visit, as long as you don't want anything fancy in the way of accomodation or entertainment (of which there is very little).

Enjoy the blue sea and sunny sky on good days and enjoy the dramatic cloud formations over the mountains on the rare bad day. It's the perfect place to lounge and read - and get an all-over tan if that's your fancy.

8  Thank MoyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.2 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plakias Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plakias Bay Hotel

Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Plakias Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Surrounded by a blossomed garden, just a short walk from the sandy Plakias Beach, the family-run Plakias Bay Hotel features a traditional restaurant and a terrace with unobstructed views over the Cretan Sea. It offers rooms with free WiFi access. Fitted with built-in beds and white-washed walls, all air-conditioned rooms of Plakias Bay open to a private veranda with full or partial sea views. Facilities include a fridge, a telephone and a refrigerator. Each unit includes a private bathroom with shower. Guests can enjoy traditional, homemade flavors prepared with local ingredients and accompanied by the owners' organic red wine, at the on-site restaurant for lunch or dinner. The centre of Plakias Village lies within a 10-minute walk along the beach from the property, while Rethymno Town and Port are 37 km away. The nearest airport is Chania International Airport, located 87 km from Plakias Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plakias Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plakias Bay Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing