We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused about the name ?”

Ranked #8 of 17 things to do in Plakias
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Confused about the name ?”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although referred to as the Palm Beach, this site is actually called Preveli Beach and is situated on the South Coast of Crete 200 steps down the cliff from the famous Preveli Monastery. It is in Finikas region but you wont find it listed as Finikas Beach. If you cant face the climb in the heat, the best way to get there is by boat from Plakias Harbour...the boats leave at least once a day, coming back at about 4pm which is perfectly long enough to enjoy the beach. Devastated by fire a few years ago, the palm forest around the freshwater lake here is considered to be a very important EU habitat - one of the only ones in Europe but it is gradually getting back to its old self. The river that feeds the lake winds through the gorge further up the valley. There was a small tavern there...but not much else so great for sun lovers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    60
    33
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crystal clear water and beautiful place!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited mid-july and it wasn't too crowded in my opinion. Yes there are a lot of stairs so be warned but the water was crystal clear and the palm forest was nice to explore as well. I think it's one of the best attractions in Crete as it has a scenery you won't find anywhere else

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Wroclaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“quite good”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The beach and palm grove is ok, but you can't go where strait by car, at the end you must go down by foot. It's very popular place and too much people for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Riannon_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hard to get to, well worth the effort”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Palm beach or as we call it Prevalli Beach is a sandy beach with a river running parallel to the sea through the middle of the beach and surrounded by a palm forest and high cliffs. It really is unique in Greece. The day we visited there were high winds and this was one of the few beaches that were sheltered with people swimming.
It is an adventure getting to the beach. The easiest way is to take an excursion boat from Plakias. Next is to park in the lot at the top of the cliff and walk down the path/stairs all the way down. We have done that once and it is quite the hike with over 500 stairs of varying heights to climb. Yes I counted them.
Lastly there is a road to Palm Beach. It is 5 km of dirt track/gravel. We did it in our tiny Maitz car and met a safari Jeep excursion coming the other way. At that point I realized the car rental company probably would not approve of this little drive. Anyway we made it with out a problem but frankly I would suggest that this is probably the worst option for getting there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank stanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just go, not much else to really advise but enjoy the beach and spend the 15 minutes walking through the palm forest while you are there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finikas Beach (Palm Beach) also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Finikas Beach (Palm Beach)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing