We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is value for money”
Review of Lamon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lamon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We didn't stay at the Lamon hotel, but we have used their outdoor restaurant several times for breakfast and we thought that was really value for money. We have tried two of their breakfast menus (price EURO 4.30 each) and for this you get the following:

1. Tea or coffee (small pot), fresh orange juice, olives, cheese, honey, cretan 'hard' bread (Paximadia).
2. Tea or coffee (small pot), fresh orange juice, croissant, bread, fried egg, ham, cheese, jam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thunbergia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this hotel/rooms choice online at the last minute. Lamon looked better online then it did close up. As other reviewers noted, this hotel is looking a tad tired and dated, but as the title states - it's reasonable value for money for a quick getaway, €40 a night for two persons in ugh season.

Firstly the room: we got a smallish 'studio' at the back overlooking the 'garden' - hardly a garden, but some shrubbery. The kitchen was minuscule and a little claustrophobic, but it had a fridge and hotplate. The room had aircon a definite must in July and August and it was clean and the beds were fine. Bathroom is a typical tiny box: functional. No real complaints but not the space for an extended stay. A sea view room would probably be better.

The public areas. Best bit is the free wi-fi. This review comes off my iPad over breakfast at Lamon. There's a small pool and an attached restaurant/café. Other than breakfast we never ate there. Breakfast: served late (by my early-riser standards) at 08:30. Continental breakfast (included) consists of a pot of Nescafé (urgh! Is so hard to invest in a couple of filter coffee machines?) and 'Greek style' breakfast i.e. pseudo-juice, over sweet jam, unsavoury sliced cheese and ham, biscuits and mini chocolate croissants (yuck!). Not satisfactory, if you like breakfast other than the 1970s-1980s Greek breakfast style.

They could do a LOT better if they invested in a buffet breakfast with some variety and DECENT coffee - I am keenly fussy about coffee. Service was also slow. 'Coffee' arrived 15 minutes before the food.

To sum up: good value for a quick one or two-nighter. If you want to holiday in Plakias look for a roomier and more MODERN option, it would be worth the extra €uros.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

stayed in an apartment 2 rooms with shower/toilet with our children - great location overlooking the Plakias bay
hotel a litle dated but a very good value for money establishment
rooms cleaned every day - good bedding - quiet location - shower area a little too small but operating properly -
nice & helpfull staff - good b'fast with fresh orange juice & good quality coffee

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We paid 25 Euros a night and got great vlue for money.

The views alone are worth this, so would always ask for a sea view room.

Hotel does need sprucing up. The fridgge in our room had very rusty door, but hey, it kept the beer and water cold!

Be prepared that Plakias is a ery quiet resort, certainly at "shoulder" season, but maybe busier July and August.

If you have a snack at the hotel (we were room only, so no breakfast included) then the sunbeds on the beach are free, otherwise it is 5 Euros for two people. The omelette is an adequate brunch.

There are some fantastic tavernas sering superb local fresh fish.

All in all, if you just want a plce to sleep and shower (yes, it has no curtain, but you ARE in Greece!), then go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank little-fat-git
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Sometimes it was a bit of a ghost town atmosphere with no one around. I know it was coming towards the end of the season but those that were around looked shattered.
Breakfast was included in our package but was beyond basic. The wiater who served us each morning did at least remember which of us took tea or coffee and was the most alert of all the staff on site.
The place could use a 'wash & brush up'.
Nice pool.
Plakias is not that big that location causes problems and the Lamon was well sited for what the resort has to offer. Apparantly it 'owns' the lemon beach umbrellas directly opposite but as we never used them I do not know if guests would be expected to pay.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Greeklover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

The Lamon Hotel in Plakias is situated on the beach front road. The front of the hotel is a café/snack bar with an open-air area overlooking the sea and its central location makes it ideal for nearby tavernas, shops etc. There is a pool, although this appeared to be little used.

We stayed in a room (114) at the rear of the hotel. The room wasn’t large, but adequate for two people. It was clean, bright and functional, but the Lamon is a budget hotel and the room reflected this. There was a fridge with a single glass, but no cups, spoons etc. Two of the room lights and the TV remote control didn’t work. On the TV, Euronews was the only english language channel, but other channels had some programs in english with subtitles.

The balcony is via a double-glazed door and has a table and chairs, but a limited view. Air conditioning is available at 35 euros for the week, but the external unit on the outside wall makes it noisy to use at night. There is a telephone, but no information card for it.

The budget beds squeaked loudly whenever you moved and when it’s windy (as it often is in Plakias) the metal room door rattled in its frame forcing us to wedge it with some newspaper.

The maid service was good with the beds being made and the room tidied each day.

There was no shower enclosure in the bathroom and although there was a wall bracket for the shower head it a was different size, requiring the shower to be hand held and so frequently flooding the floor.

Our stay was B&B and breakfast was bread, jam, coffee and an orange drink with no alternative offered.

Some rooms appear to have been refurbished and other guests spoke highly of the Lamon, so perhaps we had a poor or non-refurbished room, but many problems were just due to poor maintenance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Microbe211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Situated just across the road from the beautful beach and in prime postion to enjoy the tavernas, bars and shops of Plakias. The Lamon hotel was perfect for me and friend. The room itself was spot on - very clean, spacious, plenty of storage and we were lucky enough to find ourselves with a room at the front of the building overlooking the stunning sea and sands, with the island of Gadvos just visible on the horizon. Just below our room was the pool - clean, decent size and never busy during our week's stay. Plenty of sunloungers and umbrellas too.

Breakfast was included in our stay and consisted of delicious fresh bread, pastries, jams and fruit juice and tea or coffee. Served in the open-air but shaded snack bar at the front of the hotel - perfect for people watching or just soaking up the breathtaking views.

The staff at the Lamon were what really made our trip though - Everyone was so friendly and welcoming and would do anything to help you. They all speak very good English and were very helpful in translating and helping us the communicate with others.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Lamon - if you're looking for a relaxing break in a friendly place with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, a beautiful room, helpful and friendly staff - the Lamon is the place to go. Just be warned, you may not want to leave. We're going back in 3 months!

Stayed: July 2007
9  Thank Hananski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.2 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 24 in Plakias
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamon Hotel

Address: | Rethymno, Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £66 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lamon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamon Hotel Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing