We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, clean, modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horizon Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As other reviewers have noted Horizon Beach is clean, very modern with decent sized rooms, nice views from the balcony (some rooms have a huge terrace). The hotel is family owned and a personal touch is apparent. the location is good too - as it is an easy walk to town and a beach is just across the street - however it is not noisy. ?The rooms have refridgerator and coffee maker which is handy. Overall Horizon Beach was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a nice experience in this place. Although, in the beginning, they did not understand that we are a gay couple, we got a very nice room. The hotel is nicely apart of the „big town“, close enough but quiet for sleeping. Very nice breakfast. Nice beach just in front. We really recommend.

Room Tip: All of them are in front of the sea. So... all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHoineff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I don't know official classification, but I don´t know, why hotel has only 2 stars. It was really great and the view from our balcony... unforgettable, nice room, rich breakfest.
Hotel was quiet, close to the fun area by walk (max. 10 min). Wonderful beaches everywhere, sure ideal with a car. Thanks for our lovely Plakias´memories.

Room Tip: Higher floor has nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

we had a very good time at the Horizon Beach Hotel
rooms are clea and tidy (bathroom a littel small)
the view from the hotel balcony is very very nice
the staff are friendly and cooperative.

the location of the hotel is very near the center of plakias but at the same time good distance to avoid the center noise.

very good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

we had a really lovely stay, rooms were clean, and cleaned every day. Breakfast was excellent, lovely greek yogurt and local honey.. and a good selection of fresh fruit. Also cheese ham eggs. the breakfast area was in a beautiful sunny patio area over looking the sea. Great location suda beach is lovely , just up the road, some excellent restaurants in myrtios all excellent with good veiws. Stavros the hotel owner was very helpful and welcoming. He let us stay in are room a little longer as we had a late flight. All in all a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aparima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife, two kids (ages 10 and 12), and I just returned from an amazing vacation to Crete. Our stay at this hotel added to the wonderful time we had. We prefer to stay in quiet areas, away from the bustling resorts, but within reasonable travel distances to sightseeing and adventure areas. Plakias, Greece and the Horizon Beach Hotel fit this preference.

The owners were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We needed an early morning checkout and they allowed us to pay the evening prior. They even arranged breakfast preparations an hour earlier in order to allow us the opportunity to have something to eat before we departed!

We had two rooms joined by a sliding door. The 'master' room had a double bed, bathroom, kitchenette with cooking/eating utensils, and a small, flat-screen TV. We also had a small safe in the wardrobe. The other room had two single beds, bathroom, and a small TV. The mattresses are firm and can take some time to adjust to if you are familiar with a softer mattress. However, we were usually too exhausted to notice and did not have any back pain in the morning. The shower in our 'master' room was small, but there was adequate water pressure. Our linens were changed every other day, but the bed was made daily. Some of the towels are a little rough, others are softer. One odd note is that there is a sign above the toilet paper holder asking you not too put paper into the toilet. They provide a small, lidded canister to place the toilet paper in. This did not bother us at all and the canister was emptied daily. The view from the rooms was spectacular (and we were on the first level). The internet connection worked well. Not gaming fast, but fast enough to send/receive e-mails, watch some videos, and generally surf the net.

We though the daily breakfast was wonderful. Greek yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, olives, cucumbers, cereal, tea (Earl Grey and green), coffee, and some bread/cake selections. You could order an egg and bacon (note that it was more like Canadian bacon, just not fried crispy). There was indoor/outdoor seating and the view was lovely.

The town of Plakias was within easy walking distance form the hotel. We frequently walked into town for dinner. There are numerous tavernas to choose from fitting just about any taste. Almost all provided menus in Greek, English, and German. A few had sections in French. There are also a few markets/grocers that sell groceries and other sundry items.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geomagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. The rooms are comfortable with great views of the sea from the balcony. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the hotel (e.g. 204/205) rather than at the end (e.g. 210) as the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedExile56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#5 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#4 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 24 in Plakias
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Beach Hotel

Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: £32 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Beach Hotel is located in Plakias Rethymno, Crete. Just 400m west from centre of Plakias the Horizon Beach Hotel, set by the sea enjoys splendidly open views across the bay.Right below is a sand and shingle beach, with clear water (BLUE FLAG certified beach), from where you can swim. The sea bed is exclusive and ideal for snorkeling or underwater observations. (The beach umbrellas and sunbeds are operated by a private company and not the hotel, charges may apply)Villages in the foothills, of the mountains, behind have wonderful views and a taverna or a kafenio to be delightful destinations for different walks.Horizon Hotel is set by the sea and enjoys splendid views across the bay.The hotel is light and airy and the twin and double bedrooms, all of which have a private sea facing balcony and polished stone floors, are comfortably but simply furnished and have their own shower room (or bathroom)As well as having glorious sea views, the Horizon beach enjoys a very peaceful position yet shops and tavernas are within easy reach by foot and the main beach is about 5 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Beach Hotel Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing