We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - Everything you could want on a holiday”
Review of Hotel Livykon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plakias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Livykon
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect - Everything you could want on a holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We have stayed at Morpheus Apartments twice previously and decided to try the Livykon this time. They are both run by the same family and they are both unbelievably clean and great value but I think the Livykon has a slight edge for us. The two share an offstreet carpark which comes in very handy if you have rented a car. Both have shutters on their windows and double glazing so noise from the street is a minimum. If you want to sleep in however noise from the corridors at both could wake you up from the cleaners !

The room we had at the Livykon was an ocean front room on the 1st floor. The balcony is more private than Morpheas and our room did not have the "power line view". The room had a sink, refrigerator, electric cooktop, pots/pans/dishes etc air-conditioning and TV (there is one channel that shows English programs -Boston Legal, Grey's Anatomy etc plus english films and nature documentaries screening on other channels at other times. I know you don't go on vacation to watch TV but some nights I just like to stay in for a change). We stayed for 9 nights and our towels,sheets (!) and even the tea towel was changed every day and the floors mopped.

Both hotels are a small stroll to the main stretch of plakias where the tavernas and a few bars are. Best tavernas are the one straight over the bridge who's name escapes me which has daily specials such as duck and veal ,and the seafood taverna Tasomanolis around the bend from the port.

The Livykon has a pleasant bar on the ground floor which is relaxing for catching up with friends over a coffee or beer and watching the world go by. There is a supermarket next door but we found the supermarket under Morpheas Apartments (about 15 metres away) run by them is cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We had previously stayed at the Livikon a couple of times in the past but this was our first visit back to Plakias for 3 years.

The old rooms were comfortable enough and the location brilliant but the owners have recently totally refubished the hotel to a very pleasing standard. This includes good air conditioning, completely re designed bathrooms and a very handy kitchenette area with fridge. See pictures. Add to this the balcony with great views of the bay and very friendly management and you have the ideal place to stay in Plakias.

There are no frills (swimming pool, restaurant (there is a snack bar for breakfast / lunch) but if you want this you can pay almost twice as much to stay at one of the bigger hotels in the resort.

We stayed in two stints, We had booked the first week in Plakias (which we knew would be relaxing but with enough tavernas and bars to keep us entertained in the evening) with the 2nd in Rethymnon where we looked to catch up on some old friends. In the end we decided to return to Plakias for the weekend of the 2nd week having been rather shocked by both the prices and how busy / noisy it had become in Rethymnon.

On the 2nd occasion (and at late notice) the owner was only able to provide a room for us at the back of the hotel but this worked out fine as the room was much bigger and equally well fitted.

I would recommend this hotel and Plakias generally to anyone who wants a more peaceful Cretan break. The developers will undoubtedly have an impact in coming years (already a number of ongoind projects on the east side of Plakias Bay), but for the time being at least this is still one of the best places anywhere for a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Location, facilities, cleanliness and friendliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Skipper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed in the Livikon with our 3 kids for a week. We had 2 rooms, one with sea view and one to the rear. The rooms were very clean, the kitchinette fully eqquipped, and the staff very friendly. The beach is right across the street, and all restaurants and supermarkets are near the hotel. This is a perfect place to stay. We enjoyed our stay and will surely come back to this hotel.
The balcony is quite small, but great to have breakfast (see attached photos)

  • Liked — Location, Stuff
  • Disliked — Small balcony
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank z_k5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luebeck
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The room was large and very clean. From the balcony you have a beautiful view on the Lybian sea. The room has a fully equipped kitchenette. It is more than enough for breakfast. The snack bar on the ground floor of the hotel has nice food and all drinks and refreshments you want. Prices are reasonable. You cros the road and are on the beach. What do you want more for great holidays!

  • Liked — The location, cleanliness, friendly service, good food
  • Disliked — don°t know
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fischsuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.0 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 23 in Plakias
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#2 of 23 in Plakias
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alianthos Beach Hotel
Alianthos Beach Hotel
#9 of 23 in Plakias
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 23 in Plakias
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Livykon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Livykon

Property: Hotel Livykon
Address: Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels in Plakias Crete Greece 3-stars Livikon Beach Hotel, is a cozy family run lately renovated hotel directly on the beach of Plakias with 10 double and triple rooms and a penthouse. Hotel Livikon which is open from April to November, has got its name from the crystal clear Libyan Sea, which throws its waves on the beach 20 meters in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Livykon Hotel Plakias
Hotel Livykon Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing