We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation, beautiful location. Modern Greek style VERY highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melitsina Village Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Kardamili B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation, beautiful location. Modern Greek style VERY highly recommended.”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great example of a new breed of quality Greek villa-style boutique hotel. Rooms are large, simply furnished but top quality. Staff and service attentive, friendly but understated. This isn't a flashy place, but everything's done well. Excellent location at end of quiet lane running alongside sea, 1-2 km from Kardamali village - itself a charming little town. Can't recommend this highly enough as a place simply to unwind. We'll come again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna_C22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilioteas, Owner at Melitsina Village Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Dimitri Spilioteas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pros:
- Both the exterior and the inside of the rooms (small stone houses) were beautiful.
- There was plenty of parking space.
- The rooms and bathrooms were spacious, modern, very clean and they had a kitchenette.
- Breakfast was good (but see below).
- The beach (mediocre one) was less than a minute walk, ideal for a quick swim (no need for a pool).
- Kardamili is a very nice village with restaurants, cafes, shops, super market etc.
- Celebrities, such as Ethan Hawke (during the film Before Midnight) have stayed there.
- The Hai-Hou cafe-bar had a good selection of drinks and hosts bands playing live music.
- Hotel staff and the owners' son were very friendly and polite (but see below).

Cons:
- The houses were made from stone with a flat roof and they had very poor thermal insulation. Returning to the room during the afternoon or evening was like entering a hot sauna. You couldn't leave the air-conditioning working unless you had two room keys or separated the card from the key.
- The bathroom was not well ventilated.
- The shower was small and the poor light could not go through the curtain.
- The hotel owners (a couple) would NOT get out of their way to satisfy their guests. They seemed to love discipline and order. It is something very usual for hotels in England or USA but very strange for a hotel in Greece, where hotel owners are usually friendlier, without sticking to time deadlines (breakfast, check out time) when there is no real need to do so.
- We had to leave the towels on the floor to have them changed but this was not written on a sign as it usually happens in other hotels.
- The window shutters were difficult to open and close.
- Breakfast had only items you could find in super markets. There were not any traditional/home made products as one would expect in a village like Kardamili.
- You should expect mosquitoes while sitting outside (the rooms are well protected with nets).
- It is a 20-30 minutes walk to get to the village center but it is fairly straight and by the sea, which makes it a pleasant walk.
- In ground floor rooms a few warm-like bugs find their way under the door to your room but I don't think there was anything the hotel owners could do to avoid that.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from direct sunlight, if possible. Rooms on upper floors have less issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wisdom21R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilioteas, Owner at Melitsina Village Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Issues such as inadequate ventilation and poor lighting in the bathroom had not been brought to our attention before, and this is valuable feedback that will help us improve our establishment – we will look into this immediately.
In terms of thermal insulation: The stone walls are 50 cm thick, proper fitting aluminum door and window frames, double glass windows and insulating agents on roof tops are some of the measures taken to thermally insulate the buildings. One should note that during the weekend of your visit, temperatures were as high as 35-37 degrees Celsius. We have also equipped our Rooms with high quality Air-conditioners that cool down the room within a few minutes. All studios have kitchenettes (stove elements) and we are required by law to have power activated by a magnetic card or take similar measures as a fire hazard precaution.
On our Breakfast buffet all cakes are homemade, strawberry, peach and orange jams are also homemade. The honey we use is local harvested from the Taygetos mountain and the eggs are from chickens raised locally. “Lallaghia”, traditional fried dough, is amongst our daily buffet items as well as “dakos” (traditional rusks with local extra virgin olive oil, tomato, oregano and feta cheese). Three out of the four types of breads in the bread basket are made with traditional leaven in traditional stoves that use wood as a heating element. Very few of the items on the buffet come directly from the super market such as ham, cheese, turkey, bacon, milk and butter. For the record the buffet always stays open an extra 30 minutes after the stated closing time.
It is discouraging and unfair to be characterized as unfriendly for not complying with a last minute demand for a late checkout. One must keep in mind that new arrivals and check-ins happen on a daily basis and no one likes to arrive at the hotel and be told a room is not ready. I had no clue that you and your friends thought it unreasonable and unfriendly to check out on time and regret that you took this personally. For this I am truly sorry.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Spilioteas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is nicely located in the outskirt of Kardamyli village by the sea (rocky beach).
Nice layout of buildings and nice room layout.
The biggest problem is poor heat insulation. The stone built exterior made our and our friends' rooms unbearably hot (taking into account that aircondition does not work when magnetic key card is not in place).
Bathroom is small, has no window and has poor lighting. Towels were not changed on a daily basis.
Hotel managers (a middle aged couple) were unfriendly to guests unlike the rest of the hotel staff.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank dimitris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What a wonderful experience to find such an outstanding hotel in Kardamili. Only problem is it's not listed in Kardamili for TripAdvisor, so I had a hard time finding it when I forgot the spelling of the hotel name. I feel this may cause many to miss this amazing hotel when searching in TripAdvisor so hope this can be amended.

I was delighted to meet friendly Mary from Canada, along with her Greek husband and son who all run & manage the hotel. Each contribute their talents in making this an outstanding hotel. Mary is an outstanding cook and had an absolutely beautiful and delicious breakfast each morning. Her husband has done an outstanding job in terracing and cultivating the gardens around the various buildings with beautiful flowers & trees. My husband and I were given a wonderful large studio with catheral ceiling with kitchenette which I appreciate for afternoon tea or refreshments. We loved our private balcony with beautiful view of sea & mountains with a glass of wine. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone when in Kardamili. Just make sure to remember it's down the road in front of the main church on main street of town, bear to right along the beach and is the last hotel at end. There is also a wonderful outdoor restaurant you pass on the way to the hotel & has great food & view so is very convenient. You will love the Melitsina Village Hotel when exploring this part of Greece!

Kathy B.
Greensboro, NC








Also, there were no directions to hotel when we arrived in Kardamili and had a very hard time finding it, so make sure to confirm this when booking.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilioteas, Manager at Melitsina Village Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Kathy,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and be of service. I hope you 're having a great summer!!
Best wishes,
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We went with our 4 kids and it was in one word: SUPER!!!
Great rooms, spacious and very clean. Very nice owners, great breakfast, nice bar. A playground for the kids, a place to play soccer or volleyball. Private beach and more great beaches nearby (250 mtrs).
A place to come back......

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noorlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice quiet hotel by the sea. There is no pool or a typical sand beach by the sea front but there are some umbrellas and guests can swim there or on the nearby beach which is 4 min walk. The hotel rooms are grouped in houses of 4-5 rooms and are unusually large, very clean and nicely decorated with a kitchenette at one end. Breakfast was good and it is served in the bar which has a very nice view. This is a family owned and run hotel and it is very convenient for families with children. The whole area of Kardamili and Mani is of exceptional natural beauty and offers excellent hiking and swimming opportunities. I recommend this hotel as a very good choice in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyriaki04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent a few days in this hotel during the last week of August. The suite we stayed in had an excellent view.The staff and the owners were very kind and eager to help you at any instance. I recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vezevass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
12.6 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
357 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
148 reviews
11.5 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
1.8 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melitsina Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melitsina Village Hotel

Property: Melitsina Village Hotel
Address: Messinia, Kardamili 240 22, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kardamili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melitsina Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melitsina Village caters to the discerning guest who enjoys a contemporary and spacious holiday environment. Great care has been taken to realize a setting which is completely harmonious and natural: traditional stone exteriors, terra cotta tiling, warm woods and soft tones create an ambience which is luxurious and relaxing. Our suites and studios are distinguished for the exquisite comfort and generous space they offer, and priority has been given to fantastic sea and garden views that provide the eye with undiluted peace and pleasure. Other features include a small stone beach with loungers and umbrellas, as well as beach towels, safety deposit boxes, an enclosed playground, beach volley court, private parking on the premises, and a reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Melitsina Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing