We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Brilliant relaxing time”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed in Palataki 2 June 1st to the 15th and loved it , as other reviews have stated it is in a secluded spot behind the hotel with two other villas .
We booked for my other half's special 50th birthday treat and we weren't disappointed at all .
We found the included car hire a great help especially when going to the biggest supermarket in the area which was a 10 minute drive to Stoupa .
{ the only one we found with a proper butchers section and was far cheaper than at home in the UK and the hill back from the village would be a killer to walk loaded up with heavy bags in the heat }
We made good use of the BBQ supplied and used it 5 times in the fortnight .
True the pool doesn't have a shallow end and yes the bed is hard but these are the only negatives I can think of .
The 3 villas are set in between olive groves so expect an element of the local wildlife to pay a visit from time to time ie crickets , millipedes and the odd beetle, I love my wildlife and enjoyed seeing and taking photos of them all , especially the raptors in the mountains and a cracking view of a pine martin who unfortunately came by when my camera wasn't with me .
The villas are considerably bigger than the apartments we usually have on holiday which caused me to get quite a few mosquito bites but that was remedied by getting a few extra plug in burners .
Loved the place and would recommend it to anyone who loves a beautiful spot in an equally beautiful setting within walking distance of bars , shops and tavernas .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lekistyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

A Nice Hotel where the manager is so helpful and serviceminded. We will come back for sure! The Hotel is a little walk outside the city senter of Kardamilli, but it has a Great view, a pool and Nice areas to hang out and play games. We like that it is a bit by it self, the town can get very hot in august and up on This little hill you get a Nice breeze :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at villa Palataki II, having booked via James Villas for 20-27 July 2014. This was for our honeymoon.

Flights were via Thomas Cook from Gatwick South direct to Kalamata. Flight was 3 hours 15 minutes. Kalamata airport is tiny with few facilities and only the one luggage carousel, so it was crowded.

We paid for transfer to the villa, which turned out to be a private taxi anyway. Drivers in Greece we found to be crazy at times, so be warned. Plenty of hairpin bends through mountains, although He did stop off and buy us each a bottle of water. We noticed the taxi clock which did say €60 if you were thinking of sorting out a taxi yourself.

There are three villas on site at the top of the track. 1 is the least private and overlooked by the apartments. 3 is the most private being at the top of the track and with nothing behind it. 3 is also slightly larger then 1&2, having patio doors.

Villa 2 where we stayed had it's own private pool. There is no shallow end though and a consistent depth of 1.90m, so be wary non-swimmers and those with young children. The advertised wi-fi is non-existent, so I was glad that I signed up with a euro deal with my mobile provider. 3G signal only is available and strong outside the villa and in the village.

The villa itself is studio type with a kitchenette, nice sofa, table and separate bathroom. There is nowhere to sit and eat really inside unless you pull the table up to the sofa. Mostly, weather permitting, you will be outside anyway.

Kitchen includes cooker, spotless fridge/freezer, sink. Plenty of plates, cutlery and glasses.

Queen size bed, if a little hard. Plenty of wardrobe space to hang and put clothes. Key code safe was in one wardrobe, although this wasn't drilled into a wall and was free standing.

In the main area there was a large vanity mirror with light, satellite TV (only two English channels with Greek subtitles) and a DVD player.

Bathroom includes sink, toilet and shower cubicle. Shower attachment you need to hold though as it's not wall mounted and the shower door did not shut properly, so beware in case you flood the floor and make it slippery.

Regarding the villa, a few things to note. In the early morning and later afternoon, there will be wasps buzzing around due to the lemon trees and olive groves. There is also a continuous buzz from the crickets the whole time. Not a moan, just don't expect absolute peace LOL.

We only bought the essentials from the village as we didn't fancy carrying much back up the hill. One supermarket does deliver we were told. The is a BBQ outside next to the pool, but with all the time and effort involved, it was far cheaper to eat out.

Around 5-6 daily, a herd of goats emerge from the olive grove and start grazing (you hear their bells). A cat and Her kittens also wander around at times. Very friendly without being a nuisance.

Outside the villa, at the bottom of the track turn right and it will take you down to the village and beach. As discussed in another recent review, the walk is downhill into the village, but uphill coming back. Those with children and mobility problems will find a car imperative. There is little in the way of paths and even single file, cars fly past.
Having said that, the village itself is excellent. Untouched by tourism its a taste of real Greece. No MacDonalds, KFC, etc. Each restaurant serves what it's freshly prepared that day. One day we has to wait for Calamari as it hadn't been delivered off the boat yet. Most people speak English and can't do enough to help you. A meal was reasonable. €18 for 2. Included a bottle of wine, soft drink, bottle of water, two main courses and bread.

The beach is pebbled so we didn't use it, although the water is crystal clear to quite a depth.

Overall, we would recommend the villa, but draw caution regarding pool depth and the walk into and back from the village.

Happy to take questions.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Investigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have just returned from Palataki villa111. This is managed by James Villas, but there's is a minor role, which I will come back to...Palataki villas are under the control of Alex. What a truly great guy. He will do absolutely anything for you. He offered to take us to the square to go on a trip to Olympia at 07:15. The villas are kept spotlessly clean by his staff, the bedding and towels changed regularly, the pool and all outside areas are again regularly cleaned and sterilised. Palataki is set amidst Olive Groves, it's on a direct bus route(although the buses are a bit haphazard...(Greek Maybe Time) and the buses will drop you off outside the apartments if you have been on a trip. If you like to walk and explore it is a wonderful place to explore. Very unspoilt Greece. No hamburger joints, no music blaring from hotels, it is peace personified. Lovely restaurants, a definite visit to Dioskuri, about 5/6 minutes down the hill on the left. Service excellent, food wonderful. We had Mama's special of Rabbit Stifado one night, and it was sooo delicious. Nico, the manager speaks brilliant English, and is an excellent host. Dioskuri over
looks the very pretty St Johns harbour, and the view and the food compliment each other.
There is only one downside, and it has nothing at all to do with Palataki or Alex and his crew. What James Villas didn't tell us was it was set up quite a steep hill from the town of Kardamili. Going down was a doddle, but for people with mobility difficulties it is a real problem to climb back up the hill. From the edge of the town, villa side, back up to the villas could take nearly half an hour. I speak with experience, as my partner has walking difficulties and requires a walking stick. If the full details of the location had been given in James Villa brochure we wouldn't have booked. The brochure states that a car isn't necessary, but it is. No taxis operate in the town, so you are reliant on local buses, which as mentioned, are haphazard! The main supermarkets are at the far end of town, but we discovered that they will deliver for you. They actually gave us a lift back with our shopping, for which we were very grateful. Overall, really great, but do consider seriously if you have a mobility issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keswick_9Rushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chios
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during June 2014.Easy acess by car,some 50 minutes after Kalamata Southbound.Stayed in a villa,very clean with a great view.Helpfull staff,maybe the pool must be cleaned up more often.I think that`s a family-run hotel with all the advantages and disanadvages that comes from this fact.I have nothing negative to notice.I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miltoschios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have recently arrived back to the UK having had a wonderful and relaxing holiday in Kardamili travelling with Sunvil. The Palataki Apartments made our holiday complete. They are very clean, comfortable and we had the most fantastic sea view facing west and so stunning sunsets every evening. The owner and his family were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The apartments and Maisonettes are in an elevated position from the road and divided into two small blocks. The terraced grounds have been tastefully landscaped and are well tended with beautiful plants. The apartments are surrounded by olive groves. There is an adequate sized pool with plenty of room to enjoy the sun. The only thing that might affect your choice of these apartments is the fact that they are on a main road to Stoupa and therefore quite busy, however, the positives far outweigh this one negative aspect. This is the second time we have travelled with Sunvil and again very satisfied with their friendly service. Thank you Sunvil for the very needed welcome pack which included a good bottle of chilled wine, a fantastic start to our holiday! The apartments are situated about quarter of a mile from town which has good Taverna's, a few small but suffice supermarkets and some select shops, very pretty. Old Kardamili should be visited. Take a torch if walking back and forth to town in the dark.

Room Tip: Top floor has good sea and sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the wonderful Palataki II villa . Absolutely wonderful . To start with we thought it was a little basic, but really it has everything you need and Alex and his Family the owners of the small hotel and the 3 villas are lovely. Nothing was too much trouble . They cleaned our pool 3 times in one week because a terrible storm (hasn't rained since April) blew leaves and stuff into the pool .we loved it and we had an extra bonus of a cat and four beautiful kittens that lived under our lemon tree . Will return for sure

Room Tip: All the villas are great . Palataki II is like a studio flat . But ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasper2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.5 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
36 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#3 of 9 in Stoupa
64 reviews
13.0 mi away
Melitsina Village Hotel
Melitsina Village Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kardamili
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palataki Villas Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palataki Villas Holiday Resort

Property: Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Address: Kardamili Village, Kardamili 240 22, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palataki Villas Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palataki Villas Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palataki Villas Holiday Hotel Kardamili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing