We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ulysses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ulysses Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Methoni
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nikos runs this B&B with his mom and dad. All are very friendly.
B&B is very convenient to beach and all restaurants.
Breakfast is outside under a covered porch. many beautiful flowers around including fresh flowers in your room.
Rooms are small, but adequate. Plenty of room for doing laundry if needed and closepins are provided. Close line on porch.
Breakfasts are good and plentiful.
Good wifi connection

Room Tip: Good website with day trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikosmaropoulos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ulysses Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your opinion is very valuable to us and your comments help us improve our service. Thanks a lot. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Amazing warm hosts, beautiful room with view of the castle, few minutes walk to the beach, the castle and local tavernas! And the amazing breakfeast, serve in the garden, under a pergolas. This was such a great experience, such charming hosts, if you are in Methoni, do come to this lovely quiet family hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luthien_Tinuvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We returned once more to an hotel that we knew and had visited before, because of the warm welcome that we received from Niki and Ilias as if we were members of the family, hence "FROM HOME TO HOME". My husband and I are no longer in the "DISCO DANCING" cattegory, so the peaceful location of the hotel near the sea was perfect for us. It was within easy reach of the local taverns, recommended by our hosts.We enjoyed our last stay this August and would recommend this friendly and relaxing hotel to all who visit Methoni!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We only stayed one night at the Ulysses, but were made to feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and beautifully presented. Delicious breakfast. Very well placed location - near the Castle and seafront, but not noisy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 238anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The family-run Ulysses Hotel was a great find, two minutes away from the beach in the centre of the town and, as it happens, just round the corner from the Klimataria restaurant. Spacious, marble-floored and light, the hotel was cool and clean and our bedlinen and towels pristine white. Mr and Mrs Markopoulos made us welcome with fresh flowers in our room and a breakfast feast, under the pergolo, of home-made bread, preserves, cake and even eggs from their own farm just outside Methoni. Our room was comfortable, with en-suite shower room and balcony overlooking the town with the fortress ramparts behind. As we left, Mrs Markopoulos kindly wrapped more of her delicious cake for us to take on our journey.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor double room, with balcony overlooking the town, the square and the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Merrydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent three days at Ulysses and felt so welcomed and comfortable. The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was so bright and well appointed. Nicki's flowers from her garden and bedtime chocolates in the room were especially nice touches. The hotel is just a short walk from the pretty beach of Methoni and there are plenty places to eat nearby. Elias recommended two which were both excellent and well priced. It is easy to visit the nearby towns of Koroni, Finikounda and Pylos so it is an excellent base when visiting the area. The breakfasts at Ulysses deserve special mention as they were plentiful and absolutely delicious! All in all, a super hotel with genuine warmth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ferryfolk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, especially the phenomenal breakfasts and the helpfulness of the owners. The husband gave us a lift into the next town one day and they would advise us, call a taxi etc. Very comfortable room with nice balcony and also a window on the another wall. It was completely quiet. The only slight disappointment was the sea view being really only a glimpse in the distance, but its only a couple of minutes from the square and sea and nice beach, gently shelving, and 5 minutes to the town behind with its square, bus stop, bookshop , supermarket etc.
We were there end of May into June and just before the elections, lots on the t.v. about this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PopovaSt_Ives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markopoulos, Owner at Ulysses Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really enjoyed your company!

Nikoleta has been making her home-made jams and cakes like there's no tomorrow for the breakfasts, so she's happy they got a mention in your review.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Elias & Nikoleta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methoni
12.4 mi away
Colonides Beach Hotel
18.2 mi away
Artina Nuovo
Artina Nuovo
#1 of 3 in Marathopoli
130 reviews
14 mi away
Sofotel Hotel
Sofotel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Koroni
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Castello Methoni
Castello Methoni
#3 of 4 in Methoni
22 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
6.6 mi away
Karalis Beach
Karalis Beach
#1 of 3 in Pylos
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulysses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulysses Hotel

Address: 12 Kiprou, Methoni, Pylos-Nestor 240 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Methoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Methoni
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ulysses is a friendly, family run hotel, located in the beautiful village of Methoni in the southwest Peloponnese. Marble-floored and bright, the building has kept the unique local architectural style, while providing all modern comforts assuring a pleasant stay. Ulysses Hotel has been ranked as the number 1 hotel in Methoni on TripAdvisor. Located 150 meters from the sea and the castle of Methoni, provides easy access to some of Greece's most beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ulysses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing