We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent traditional tavern in a highly touristic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ta Fanaria

Ta Fanaria
Ranked #37 of 153 Restaurants in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“decent traditional tavern in a highly touristic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice location, decent food, fried small fish & zucchini were well fried (not oily), greek salad was not cheap on feta, excellent service (though at the time there were very few customers). Prices were fair for that part of Nafplio. Overall recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonidasGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    72
    42
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

After reading that this place was different from the typical tourist tavernas surrounding it, we earmarked it for dinner and ordered 4 or 5 dishes to share. We didn't like any of them, but the worst was certainly the "spicy cheese salad", which was neither spicy nor a salad. This white mush was so unappetizing, that even my husband, who usually eats anything, refused to have more than a bite. The Greek salad was just okay. Meatballs didn't taste great. The tzatziki we ordered never even came out. Two of the other dishes we wanted weren't available. Service was okay. Would not recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very friendly staff, loved their veggie dishes, zucchini balls, and eggplant Imam in particular. When we declined the artichokes at lunch time and went back for dinner, the artichokes were finished, but they went down the lane to see if a neighbouring restaurant good help out. No luck, but good effort! They are very proud of their chef who has worked there continuously for 30+ years, even ushered my brother-in-law into the kitchen to meet him!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mblp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

good taste resonable prices good service\
well cooked food try the lamp
it has to find some more special dishes all the others are common

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreeceDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I usually try to avoid tavernas in touristic places because the dishes are often pre-cooked and re-heated. "The lights" <Phanaria> came as a surprise to me and my company. The portions are good ,the food was like homemade and the restaurant was full of nice odors. The service was quick but the restaurant itself should be a bit more well preserved or cleaner.However, the food is well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danai I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ta Fanaria also viewed

Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 
Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 

Been to Ta Fanaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing