We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place in Greece”
Review of Dias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dias Hotel
Ranked #14 of 49 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My new favorite place in Greece”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Nafplion, and when the time came to to leave, I hated to go. The hotel is small and charming, in a great location looking up at the fort. The owner, Maria, is warm and friendly, and the manager speaks excellent English. When I came down to breakfast the first day, another American family there was raving about Maria, and I could soon see why. She had picked up breakfast breads and pastries still warm from the bakery around the corner, and brought in a beautiful homemade apple cake. The jams were homemade, too, which we don't see often in the USA. I travel a lot for pleasure and think the experience is so enhanced when you feel that you've become part of the local life.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacmd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    37
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
64
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Hotel Dias in Greece is in Nafplion. The location is perfect, and easy to find as it is not too far from the main road. We parked, and found it in minutes. It's right at the base of the fort and if you want to hike up, the steps are just a block from the hotel. If you want to walk around the old city, that's the opposite direction. I saw many people hauling luggage up and down sidewalk stairs to other hotels from where they had to park, you don't have to do that for the Hotel Dias, parking is close. The beds at Hotel Dias were the most comfortable we found in Greece and we stayed at several different places. The breakfast is very tasty and the service personal. Fresh squeeze orange juice, fresh cooked eggs and bacon, warm bread all yummy. All the rooms are named after the gods. The bathrooms are very spacious compared to some of the other places we stayed too. Another reviewer mentioned this place as being gloomy. Maybe they did not open the drapes and shutters. We found the hotel to be very clean as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neatplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I stayed here with my 2 friends for 2 nights. We had a great time! The staff are wonderful. They cooked our breakfast to order every morning. They helped us find what we wanted to do each day, and had great suggestions. Our room was lovely. We stayed in Athena, and it was great. This hotel is 1 block from the castle, and the beach. For the beauty of the room, and the breakfast every morning, the price was fantastic. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel with my husband for two nights. Our room was called Aphrodite but unfortunately it was far from perfect. When we arrived i noticed at once that the floor was not clean, in fact there were crumbs and other things on the carpet.
There was a chair that was broken and the handle of the wardrobe was missing. All in all it had a shabby look. The bathroom was ok and well equiped. This hotel has no high standards ans is not even cosy. The staff is nice but that is not sufficient to erase all the imperfections. The breakfast buffet was poor and in my opinion the home made cakes were not that tasty. All the hotel had a gloomy atmosphere.
I do not recommend this hotel if you want to have a nice romantic stay in Nafplio.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VASILIKI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#16 of 38 in Nafplio
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilion Hotel Suites
Ilion Hotel Suites
#27 of 38 in Nafplio
98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#15 of 38 in Nafplio
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dias Hotel

Property: Dias Hotel
Address: Papanikolaoy & Moyntzoyridoy, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dias Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAS HOTEL makes sure that all your comfort needs are met and takes pride in providing its customers with a unique travel experience. Come witness for yourself what makes us the leading hotel in Nafplio and an experience you will not want to forget. Also you can visit: ARGOS 12 km ancient theatre, museum, EPIDAURUS 23km ancient theatre, museum, MYCENAES, TIRINS and one day cruise to the islands HYDRA, SPETSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing