We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio
Ranked #10 of 52 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Papadhianika, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It's in an excellent location (in the old part of town) with extraordinary views of the bay and Bourtzi. Friendly staff, tasty breakfast, lovely furnished rooms and wonderful little extras like slippers made our stay a very pleasant one. Have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Nafplio. You must also go to the authentic Gelateria established in around 1870 right next to the hotel.... divine!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    67
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
57
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel is extremely well positioned, it is elegant, the service is welcoming and attentive. The price was reasonable at only 100 euro for a night including a very full breakfast. All in all, i highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FruitTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were 3 adults and 3 kids, and we booked two attic rooms across the hall from each other and had the run of the top floor. The hotel was rather empty (we were there mid week), which was a shame given its great location, excellent service, and new and clean feeling.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namrikyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The Grande Bretagne sits on an historic location where once stood a famous hotel in the days of the Grand Tour. That place had fallen into disrepair, but in the early 2000s it was bought by a Greek entrepreneur and completely rebuilt, with three main floors (Ground, First and Second), offering 23 rooms, one suite and three small lofts under the ceiling on what is (in effect) the fourth floor. The hotel has a separate large breakfast room downstairs, plus a large bar and a garden; and unusually for many places in Greece it has a decent sized lift (elevator.) More importantly, it is virtually right on the waterfront, which means when you get off the bus from Athens you have an easy level stroll wheeling your suitcase from the bus depot to the Grande Bretagne, without going up hills or steps which is so often the case in Nafplio. Being on the waterfront, it's also easy to locate. My partner and I booked directly with the hotel via the internet from Australia. We asked for an upstairs room with a bathtub and a view of the little Venetian fort (it's called 'Bourtzi') 300 meters offshore in the bay. They confirmed, and sure enough when we arrived arrived on the bus from Athens we quickly located the hotel and checked in easily, and we were then shown to Room 212 - an excellent room in the middle of the third floor, with two French windows opening onto a large balcony, a great water view,and everything else we asked for. We were delighted with the room, and subsequently with our choice of hotel. Being in the Old Town, the Grande Bretagne is just in front of the marble-paved Constitution Square, with cafes and museums including the excellent Venetian-built Archaeology Museum, which has just reopened after a six year refit. The hotel faces the smaller triangular waterfront Filelinon Square, which gives it an unobstructed view of the Bay of Argos. You can walk out the front door and cross Filelinon Square and you are at the quayside from where little boats will take you out to explore the Bourtzi fort in the bay for 4 Euros per person return (which including 20 minutes waiting time). Turn left and you find several cafes with waterfront tents right beside the hotel, offering you seats under the shade as you gaze out across the water. Turn right and you'll find a row of seafood restaurants. Turn around and walk behind the hotel and you find the famous Gelati de Roma icecream shop run by the effervescent Marcello and his family. Walk a hundred metres further into town and you find the main shopping and dining streets (like Staikopolou Street, the main one in the old town for dining and shopping) where several dozen restaurants lay out their tables and chairs for lunch and dinner every day, and where there are dozens of interesting shops to be discovered. All in all, we found the Grande Bretagne an excellent place to stay. The staff were very responsive, the fittings functioned as they should, the internet (wifi) was free, the air conditioning was good, and the location was excellent. Nafplio is a beautiful town with all the shops, restaurants and facilities you'd need for a relaxing stay, plus it is ideally suited for exploring further afield. Thus our stay in the Grande Bretagne was virtually perfect. It cost us 160 Euros per night. Would we go back there? Absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo, ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at the Grande Bretagne. Here are the pluses --The location is superb - very easy to find, which is not to be underestimated in a town that often does not post street names. It sits right on a square overlooking the sea and parking is easy in the public lot across the street. The lobby and eating areas are nicely appointed. The staff was friendly, but sometimes short on information. Rooms were nicely sized. The breakfast buffet was very nice (cereals, hot and cold meats, vegetables, cheeses, pastries, eggs, juices, breads, etc.) and included in the room price. There is free wireless access. Here are the negatives -- For Americans, be aware that many rooms do not have a traditional shower but rather a tub with handheld mounted at waist height (my 6' 3" husband was a good sport about improvising). Also the hotel does not have washcloths, only towels. The hair dryer is a dramatically underpowered wall mounted unit. The decorating is a bit dated, but tasteful. On balance, I would give the hotel a rating somewhere above average but below very good. We would consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toledojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#18 of 37 in Nafplio
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#14 of 37 in Nafplio
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nafplio
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#8 of 37 in Nafplio
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio

Property: Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio
Address: Filelinon Square, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing