We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD…BUT NOT FIVE STAR HOTEL”
Review of Amphitryon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amphitryon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A GOOD…BUT NOT FIVE STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We visited Amphytrion hotela couple of days ago with my wife. We booked literally last minute a double room and we stayed for 2 nights. Although the room was in the ground floor in front of the road (we were informed about this) this was not annoying, the sunshade did very well job. The view was fantastic; we could admire the island - Castle of Bourtzi
It is a renovated hotel, located in a very good place just 2 minutes walk from “old city”. Room was, nice decorated with many electronic gadgets (electric curtains, and sunshade) and clean.
Buffet in the breakfast had a good variety of food (it definitely could be better), but the taste was just acceptable.
Most People of the hotel were kind and helpful but some of them they were not polite. When we called (last minute as said) to book the room they were impolite and in a hurry to book the room the soonest and hang up the phone. They asked for a credit card in order to confirm the booking although in 2-3 hours we were supposed to be in the hotel. On arrival they asked us to prepay the entire amount for the room!!!, making us feel like cheaters, as they already had our debit card data.
Another issue with the hotel was that both two days at about 11 am the water was just warm and not hot. I can understand that hotel was full and this hour can be considered as “rush hour” but this is unacceptable to happen in a renovated 5 star hotel with over-priced rates.

In concluding it is a nice, clean renovated hotel with fantastic view, but to my opinion it cannot be considered as a real 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanos_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    92
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
43
134
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had a "suite" (314) that was actually one huge room with a breathtaking view. The staff was terribly nice but stretched a tiny bit thin. Service in the restaurant, for example, was quite slow, but there were only two waiters. The room was perhaps overdesigned: it takes an architect to put the bathtub next to the bed, or skip the lights in the entry way (where the mini-bar is--good luck finding the beer in the dark). It was also like a museum of weird hardware: hinges, handles, locks that you have never seen. The glass door to the toilet, for example, merely has a geometric hole through it. That's the handle. Sometimes stylish becomes just odd. Get the staff to show you how to work the shower--with three handles, five nozzles and a steam bath you will never figure it out yourself.

Room Tip: Third floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a sea view (indeed) jacuzzi (????) room. In fact it was one of the smallest rooms in 5 star hotels I have ever been. The bathroom extremely small. The room dirty e.g. the curtains with blood stains on ( i suppose from the mosquitos killed through summer from other residents).The floor full of dirt.The breakfast just awful. Extremely poor and EVERYTHING we tasted poorly cooked. Needless to say that the price of €200 was high for what they (did not) offer. Luxury hotel ???? They must be joking!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The city of Nafplio is the best choice for a get away weekend. so romantic,so different from Athens,so relaxed.
We had a 2 night stay at the hotel,the view is perfect and only by that you feel the relaxation. The rooms are small indeed but this was not a problem for us, we stayed inside only for sleep and did not spend time in the room. so the smaller screen of the tv or the lack of satelite one,did not occure us.
the hotel provides an excellent view,a quality in your stay and a central point inside the town.

Room Tip: get a sea view one (prefer an upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PepNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The view was amazing and the staff very polite and helpful. The room was small although it was the deluxe room. The TV set was very small and the wifi signal was weak. The bathroom was small also. The price was high for what it offered which was an average room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller12345189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated on the left side of the harbor having a stunning view to Burtzi.
The decoration is modern and the overall design reflects a nice style.
Some other points:
- bad mattresses
- nice breakfast
- friendly staff
- small TV
- zero facilities (spa, gym, pool etc...)
- no satellite (nova etc...)
- did not use the wifi
Overall the prices were salty especially having in mind the period (February).
It is a safe choice with excellent view, good location and nice design

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geopak2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night at this gem of a hotel in beautiful Nafplion as part of my tour of Greece. The hotel is modern, wooden floors, cozy bed & fantastic view of the harbour & the Bourzi castle. Cocktails, dinner & breakfast at the hotel restaurant was superb. Staff was polite & helpful. It is a short stroll to the Esplanade & town centre. Highly recommended & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#17 of 38 in Nafplio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#14 of 38 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#8 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphitryon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Hotel

Property: Amphitryon Hotel
Address: Spiliadou Street, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amphitryon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amphitryon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing