We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anonymous hotel on the road to somewhere”
Review of Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anonymous hotel on the road to somewhere”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour so it was basically in and out but impressions were rather old rooms with ineffective air conditioning but a good free WiFi. It's in the scruffy end of town but easy walking distance to the very attractive town centre and waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    36
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
29
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Spacious room with shutters overlooking internal courtyard. Our beds were comfortable despite other reviews. Big supermarket adjacent that was open until 9pm. Short walk along the street direct to the port area or turn off to enter the old town. The hill-top fortress is also a short walk away, plus 999 steps if you are keen to get all the way to the top. (After 300, you have a great view for pictures though!). Breakfast OK.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MDB-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed her as part of group excellect service. Wi fi worked faster than in any other hotel we had stayed in! Passcode in the room. Bar full of drink to buy. Small old tv spoilt the room. Modern furniture stayed i 216. Had a balcony overlooking a QUIET street. Buffet breakfast was a let down when we got there!But topped it up slowlY! No toast available. Friendly staff

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

How I rate hotels. Star ratings for hotels are based upon facilities and services. It is easy to find the star rating for any hotel. I rate hotel based upon the experience. For example, a 2 star hotel may provide a 4 circle experience.

I stayed here as part of a Cosmos tout and really enjoyed this hotel. It was within a block of a really nice supermarket. When I opened the door to my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see the A/C was on which is a big plus in the summer. Most hotels in Greece, the A/C only works when your room key is inserted into a slot in the room. I was in room 106 and had a small balcony which overlooked the street and it was nice to have a couple cups of coff in the morning and watch the sunrise.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
457 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is an older hotel, but is kept up to an ok standard. The bed was like sleeping on a rocky beach, hard with lumps. The room itself was ok. The bathroom had a tub with shower and shower door. The bathroom had seen better days but was clean . The rest of the room was old but very clean and tidy.
The breakfast was quite nice with omelet, baccon, boiled eggs, selection of breads and cereals, coffee, juice etc.
If the price is right it is an ok hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was an overnight stay as part of a tour. My overall impression was that the hotel had seen better days. While the room was clean it was dingy and some of the furniture was marked or chipped. It was close to a supermarket and it was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redramonmercader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This hotel is located in the New part of Nafplio, away from the really atmospheric Old Town that is probably the more desirable area. However, the rooms are nice and newly renovated, the breakfast is really good, and it's a good hotel for business or longer stays (I stayed there 7 nights). This is probably the best of the New Nafplio hotels on the border of the Old/New sections of town.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xaroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.0 mi away
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
#31 of 38 in Nafplio
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#21 of 38 in Nafplio
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#34 of 38 in Nafplio
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#17 of 38 in Nafplio
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kapodistrias
Kapodistrias
#26 of 38 in Nafplio
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Othon Hotel
King Othon Hotel
#32 of 38 in Nafplio
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 21 Bouboulinas, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing