We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position, but standard fare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Nafplio
Buderim Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great position, but standard fare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Rex is right at the centre of town and gives you easy access to the town. But there is nothing that really separates this hotel from thousands of others. The rooms are fairly small, but clean and comfortable. However, our requested double bed turned out to be two singles separated by a bedside lamp. They advertise free wi-fi to all of the rooms, but the system gets overloaded easily, and just shuts down when it feels like it. The breakfast was quite good, but they seemed to run out of food regularly and some people had to wait some time before the next batch appeared.
There is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, but also nothing that puts into a class other than overage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    34
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The two greatest advantages of the hotel is its strategic location -you can walk anywhere in town- and the politeness of its staff -except from the night shift guy. Other than that it's all average. The rooms are quite small and inconvenient. You cant open the clause unless you are ON the bed, or unless you push the bed away. The toilet is RIGHT next to the bed -reminded me of London hotels. It's pretty noisy, no sound-proof and the doors to the balconies are SO tricky to open -as they are probably 40-50 years old.

The super lie is that there is free parking... implying that the hotel has a free parking garage. There is NO parking garage. You can park in the surrounding streets, which are pretty crowded however, especially during the weekends, holidays, Mardi Gras etc. So, it goes without saying that the parking is free... but it's NOT guaranteed. I just wish that some hotel owners would stop lying about stuff like that. So OK, you are going to mislead people once... but never again. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye_JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel, Western Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed just one night at the Rex Hotel but would have been happy to stay longer. The staff were very helpful with advice on where to eat; the room was adequate size and very clean; bathroom was a good size and well laid out; and the tariff was quite reasonable (although we did enjoy the winter discount). Overall, we're happy to recommend this hotel, although the air conditioning was set too hot and we had to turn it off.

Room Tip: Greek hotel rooms tend to be have the air conditioning set to hot! In the Rex Hotel, the air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chairmanbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
546 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location just outside the old town within walking distance of the harbour, restaurants, town centre and the fortress. There was also a very decent supermarket a couple of blocks away. We had a good but quite small room with a balcony. The WiFi was excellent but we couldn't get the a/c to do anything but blow hot air - lucky it was autumn so we just did without. The breakfast was pretty good with bacon and omelette offered as the hot options but the coffee tasted like instant coffee (even though the sign said filter coffee) and the "fresh" fruit on offer was past its best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a Cosmos tour of Greece. The hotel is situated in an excellent location for exploring Nafplio and is within walking distance of the harbour and the main sites. The hotel itself is very basic - Our room was clean however the beds were uncomfortable, our shower head was broken and our air con was not working properly throughout our stay. The room also faced an inner courtyard which left it very dark and dingy. It was an okay stay for one night, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay here any longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yuki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Second hotel on Cosmos tour, stayed one night. Nice room overlooking quite street. A short walk to harbour and main part of town. Breakfast was ok as was room and the hotel in general, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour so it was basically in and out but impressions were rather old rooms with ineffective air conditioning but a good free WiFi. It's in the scruffy end of town but easy walking distance to the very attractive town centre and waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#37 of 43 in Nafplio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#21 of 43 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
Nafplia Hotel Nafplion
#32 of 43 in Nafplio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#8 of 43 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#12 of 43 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 21 Bouboulinas, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing