We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Suite With a Kitchen---But One Fish From a Different Kitchen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthemion Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anthemion Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Suite With a Kitchen---But One Fish From a Different Kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Anthemion Guesthouse is challenging to find. It is located on a dirt road that angles off from a main road that winds up a hill from the city center. There is a sign to the right, but the dirt road rakes off to the left. This boutique hotel, however, was worth the search from the point of view of its setting and a second story creative suite with a small kitchen area.
When we finally arrived we were greeted by a small, friendly resident dog who was omnipresent throughout our four day stay. A person---sans English speaking---appeared, assisted us with luggage, handed us a key, then departed. No typical check-in occurred. As a matter of fact, we did not check-in during our entire stay. The day of our departure, an individual---again sans English speaking---wrote the amount due on a small paper and charged our credit card to complete the transaction. The final charge was as originally agreed upon via e-mails.
We truly enjoyed the suite or small apartment within the restored complex. The main living area sported lofty ceilings, colorful decor, a working fireplace and small, though complete kitchen. A door opened onto a porch from which sweeping views incorporated farms and pastures and sunrises and sunsets. The furnished porch doubled as an exterior dining room permitting guests to savor meals while overlooking nature. The technical was not ignored: wi-fi was excellent and free.
The bedroom was also topped with a beamed ceiling and contained an exterior door. The bath was small, though complete and immaculate. Housekeeping standards were high.
This boutique hotel, however, did not cater to guests. Peculiar features from our point of view were the absence of check-in procedures, the infrequent presence of anyone to answer questions and the inconsistent breakfast offerings. The Anthemion Guesthouse was more of a self-catering environment for the self-sufficient traveler. That we were. The lack of typical hotel features did not detract from our stay.
We selected the Anthemion for its central location for day tripping to Argos, Epidarus, Mycenae, Tiyrns and, of course, Old Town Nafplion with its museums and fortress. Our selection was also based on the kitchen. This region was the final portion of a driving trip off-the-beaten-track Greece. We intended to cook using local ingredients. However, as the ruin visits took precedence over shopping, the fresh fish market was closed each time we wanted to shop. The extensive farmer's market did not occur until the Saturday of our departure. Thusly, our fresh fish dinner was one paid for in a small eatery patronized by locals doing the same as ourselves: selecting a fish from a drawer and dictating its preparation. Not quite, but almost as fine as using one's own rented kitchen.
Our final recommendation for the Anthemion Guesthouse is for the self-sufficient traveler who will enjoy a quiet country stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YelnatsTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    35
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our suite was lovely. It was well-furnished, spacious and had a terrace overlooking the pool with a view of the town and surrounding mountains. The walk into town took about fifteen to twenty minutes. The walk to town is downhill, but returning to the guest house is uphill. Many people may need to drive to town and find free parking at the port.

If you are looking for attentive or gracious hosts, you may not find them at the Athemion. Sofia and George, the owners, are often absent from the property and no staff person was present to replenish the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I regularly visit this guesthouse for the past 5 years. I totally recommend it for everyone, either couples or families. The owners are very friendly and they can satisfy your needs.
I have stayed in most of the 10 rooms and suites.
It is not situated by the sea or in the city (it's about 700m from the centre), but I think that this is an advantage, because it's quiet and with a panoramic view of the greater area and Palamidi monument.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

This beautiful hotel outside the town of Nafplion offers a feeling of being in a warm country home. The affordable family room, consisting of two adjoining rooms, has two bathrooms (with very small but workable showers), and is amply sized for a family. The comfortable hotel is staffed by helpful and friendly people, one of whom happily met our car a few miles away, at 11 p.m. at night, to lead us to the out-of-the-way location. A mere few feet from the rooms is a charming outdoor breakfast area with a hammock. It all overlooks a stunning pool which affords a lovely view of the valley. Free wireless Internet is also provided.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

A terrific choice you're traveling with a car and using Nafplio as your base in the Peloponnese. We loved the feeling of coming "home" to our poolside suite every night and waking up each morning to a beautiful view of the valley. The attractions of the old town are just minutes away, so it's nothing to drive in for dinner or just ice cream. We enjoyed having a fully equipped kitchenette to lay out takeout meals as well. Sophie and her family are warm and professional, and they do a wonderful job of maintaining the pretty grounds and elegant pool.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank las718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed here for two nights with friends. Despite reading that is was difficult to find the place, we had no trouble at all. It's well signed. I would say though that it is much further from the town than we thought and you do need a car, particularly if you have children. You certainly couldn't comfortably walk in and out of town with children, it's just too far. Still, being out of town means it's easy to park your car and it's quiet. The pool was appealing, although a little cold in April for swimming. Breakfast was good with coffee and tea, toasted sandwiches (one morning and then not again), cheese, eggs, meats, fruit and delicious Greek yoghurt - although we did have better breakfasts in other hotels. Service was pleasant and efficient. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. A minor complaint in the bathroom was the shower cubicle leaked and the floor was very wet each morning. The bed and sofa bed were very comfortable with good quilts and pillows. All in all, this is a great location for families and would be ideal in summer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

In August we made an extensive tour of Peloponese and we had the chance to visit several new and revisit other hotels and pensions. Anthemion rates among our best experiences this summer.

As the other reviewes say it is located just under the fortress in a paisible rural setting that makes you forget the touristic hustle of the city. As we were on the road during the 15th of August period, after a few unsuccessful trials we decided to spend the nights where we could find accomodation. I will report elsewhere about our experiences with these hotels. So, on the evening of Aug. 14 we called Anthemion, which we had located in our agrotourism guide, and asked about a room for two nights, they had not one but they could offer a room for one night. We accepted and after some 250 km we arrived in Nafplion. The uphill road is a typical provincial town one and does not promise much but when we turned left into a small tree shaded lane, the scenery changed and oop, we landed in a well kept garden the forefront of which serves also as parking. The hotel is a very nice quite location with open view, nice little garden and spacious balconies.

Our room was on the garden level, and consisted of one sitting room with fireplace and a sofa that tuns into full size double bed, fully equipped kitchenette, one bedroom and bathroom. I do not agree with Lovedup who comments that the room decoration is kitsch. instead it is charming, relaxing and the bed mattress really gave us a good night's sleep. I cannot comment on the soundproofing of the rooms upstairs but although our bedroom window was open and our balcony door too, we could sleep till 9.00am without problem. The rooms anyhow are not many and they cover the first and second floor.

The breakfast, indeed, is not of the gourmet type but it is copious and can keep you going for the day. What I dislike is that in the region where citrus fruit grow, they offer canned orange juice!!! If the bed and breakfast price (60euros) is taken into consideration, then visitors should not expect much, since similar class hotels charge as much as 110-130euros per night per room. The breakfast is served under a kiosk in the garden with nice view over the plain.

The swimming pool with a swirling waterjet is very small but on hot days is most welcome. The beach and city are very near but in hot weather in summer this walk is not something I would suggest.

The service is minimal, in fact you meet the owners only in the morning, since both have other jobs. They serve the breakfast, do the housekeeping, receive payments and then go. They do not live in the property, so if you need them for some reason, you have to call them and wait till they come. They are a mid-thirties couple, very polite and helpful. They offered to call a few hotels in town to find a room for us for the second night and made the reservaton on our behalf.

I have visited Nafplio several times and have stayed mostly in the inner city boutique hotels. They are something you can experience once but personally, I prefer open spaces and air so next time we visit Nafplion, Athemion will be our first choice.

  • Liked — peacefullness of the location, open air areas
  • Disliked — lack of interior sitting area, absence of a reception clerk
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Leto
Hotel Leto
#5 of 43 in Nafplio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pension Omorfi Poli
Pension Omorfi Poli
#9 of 43 in Nafplio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 43 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthemion Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthemion Guesthouse

Property: Anthemion Guesthouse
Address: 101 25th March St & Ag. Eleftheriou, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anthemion Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anthemion Hotel, Nafplion, Argolida - double rooms and family suites a few minutes from the centre of Nafplio old city. A great choice for accommodation in Nafplio (Nafplion, Anapli, Nauplio, Nauplia, Nafplia) is Anthemion Traditional Pension/Guest House. Within walking distance of Nafplion's centre in a quiet area makes Anthemion's location a more relaxing, rustic alternative with private parking and a swimming pool. Anthemion double rooms are decorated with each their own style and the suites, which are ideal for families, have kitchen facilities and fireplaces making a cosy atmosphere for couples during the winter months. Breakfast is served to our guests either room service or in our kiosk in the gardens with a view of the pool. Enjoy the short walk to Karathona beach during the spring, summer & autumn or hire a car to explore the local areas of beauty and historical interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Anthemion Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthemion Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing