We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful homey atmosphere”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful homey atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel well situated inside the car free town However one can drive ones car to the door..Rooms very clean and comfortable. Hotel is a converted family home and run by the same family.Excellent value for money . The hosts make every effort to make your stay comfortable and your excursions enjoyable. Breakfast is delicious and wholesome and more than you can possibly eat .I would stay there again, Do not expect a fancy 5 star granite look. It is more homey pension and cozy style.
Jamie A
Canada

Room Tip: Had a superior room 2 nights and regular the third all good.Actually no difference in preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
458
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I have traveled quite a lot, and this is one of our favorite hotels ever. Akis is so helpful - we had a hard time finding the hotel by car, and he ran out to the main square, hopped in our car, and navigated us to the hotel. Then handwritten maps, great local advice, and an amazing breakfast that was far more than we could manage. Plus the city is so lovely to just roam about - definitely take the walk out around the point, and enjoy the fortress. We are telling all of our friends if they every go to Greece, this is a must-stop.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - great views, private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan-BeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2014. From check-in to check-out we experienced fantastic customer service. Let me give you an example- the owners (son and mother) were always available to help find restaurants, places to visit, etc…but what really amazed us was the help they gave an Aussie couple we had met that was also staying at the hotel. This couple-on the morning they were leaving for a road trip, found out that during the night someone had dinged the bumper of their rental car. They asked the hosts for a reputable garage to get it fixed, but one of the hosts (the son) took the car himself to a garage he was familiar with and had the car fixed for a fraction of the cost within the hour. Having lived in Greece before, our Aussie friend was somewhat familiar with what the repair should cost, least anyone reading this review find the story too incredible! The breakfasts were fantastic and consisted of eggs or omelets, fresh bread, baked cakes, cold-cuts, bacon, and the list goes on and on…..Our room was a good size, attractively decorated and spotlessly clean…The morning we left they packed a "goodie bag" for us, least we somehow became hungry after eating the huge breakfast…If we return to Nafplio, we will definitely stay at this lovely hotel…..!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

An excellent, clean, wonderfully decorated and very comfortable family owned hotel. The hosts are welcoming and pleasant and Akis, one of the hosts was extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We loved our stay there and will be returning again. Very reasonably priced with an excellent fresh and abundant breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book ahead!! Only 5 rooms available. This is a heritage, small hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This family run hotel in the heart of Napflio is a gem. Small and supremely gorgeous. Pan and Akis are outstanding hosts and the concept of 'small' for breakfast is difficult to communicate. We used this hotel as a base for 6 nights, visiting the historic sites of Epidavrus, Mycenae and Olympia ( by way of Kalamata). Every day we set off with a goodie bag of beautiful Greek pastries and the best oranges I've tasted in many a year.
The rooms were extremely comfortable and pristinely clean and the location second to none.
Excellent, exceptional, exhilarating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Located in the very hear of this ancient Venetian town, this hotel is a marvel in its own right. The mother-son owners go every step to keep their customers happy.
Four of us actually miscalculated our busy route and arrived one day early - and the owners made all arrangements to accommodate both couples in their - and the neighboring - hotels. They also helped us with parking which may be a problem on the narrow ancient streets and squares.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, the beds - comfortable, the truly home made breakfast - hearty, and the price - very reasonable.
Once again, the hotel is close to practically everything in town - shopping, eating, drinking, walking, and exploring.
Bottom line - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Mother and son where extremely helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the rooms nice and cozy. The location was also good as it located three blocks from the bus station and taxi stands. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is visiting this area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Haluwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
617 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#18 of 37 in Nafplio
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#14 of 37 in Nafplio
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#8 of 37 in Nafplio
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Property: Aetoma Hotel
Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing