We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family owned house hotel”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Aikas personally welcomed us to the hotel when we arrived. He sat down with us and gave us a wonderful guide to the city, dinner and walk recommendations which were fantastic. We only had a day in Nafplio but he definitely helped us maximize our time.
Both Aikas and his mother were so welcoming it felt like you were staying with a family, not a hotel. In the morning his mom prepared a huge and delicious breakfast, and because we had to head out onto the road, she packed us some cake to go.

Would definitely stay here again. Wonderful people, beautiful restored house. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our highest recommendation. A B&B of the highest caliber. Located several streets back from the harbor and main square of the tourist part of town, Aetoma was very quiet. The owner was very helpful. He sat down with us to give us an orientation to the area and the sights. We were given help with luggage and parking. The breakfast was large, included many selections and was delicious. The room was large, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom shower was very modern with a skytop. Internet, cable and temperature control worked well. If you go, ask if the room on the top floor, with the outside sitting area, is available. Not recommended for the disabled as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The ratings don't lie! This delightful B&B in the heart of downtown Nafplio ranked in the top 1 or 2 of all accommodations during our 16-day trip to Greece. Set just one or two short blocks from the main town square, which has many restaurants, shops & nightlife, this prime property also offers a stunning view of the nearby Palamidi Fortress, which is beautifully lit at night. The proprietors - a mother and her adult son - are gracious and efficient. When we arrived, they spent at least 1/2 hour with us, offering information and directions, so we could make the most of our time there. This proved the perfect location for sightseeing in nearby Epidauros, Mycenae and Argos. The breakfast provided each day was a delicious combination of hot & cold selections and homemade pastries. A truly fantastic stay!

Room Tip: If you can take stairs, choose the top floor. The balconies are a delight and the view amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabondTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Family run, warm and personal welcome. The family were helpful, and took an interest in our activities and seemed genuinely concerned that we should enjoy our stay. Room well appointed and clean, with good air conditioning which was very quiet. Breakfast generous and good.

We had a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking a small square, which was quiet, but rooms at the back overlooked a busier and noisier part of town. You might wish to choose the best to suit you.

All rooms were up at least one flight of stairs. My limited mobility made this a manageable challenge, but if stairs are a problem for you beware. The owners were helpful to me, escorting me on the stairs and carrying things to keep my hands free.

Overall, an excellent choice which I would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel at home. You have to realise that this is someones house and is not a hotel; it is a beautifully judged B+B. Here you get the personal touch, advice about where to visit and where to eat. We were able to park our car outside every day, but were also shown where else we could park is there were no spaces.

The room was big and very airy. The bathroom only has a shower, but this wasn't a problem. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows were provided when requested. The breakfasts are vast and the choice was excellent. Each day we were given either a fruit bag or sandwiches, such a nice touch.

There is a church immediately outside the hotel and although the bells did ring a couple of times it didn't bother us. The old town is small enough to explore but big enough to keep you occupied.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The other reviews say it all. We had the same experience - greeted by Akis as we drove up to the hotel who then introduced us to his mother and told us where to eat in the town. All this is wonderful and very helpful. What you must realise is that you are staying in a posh B & B and not in a hotel so you don't have any of the amenities of a proper hotel and you are staying in what was and is the family home of the owners. Our room was well equipped and charming with everything we needed. The a/c is quiet and efficient. The breakfasts are huge. The hotel is well positioned right in the centre of the old town of Nauplion in a charismatic old square. Everything is within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. Although parking in the square outside the hotel is limited and you have to be lucky to get a spot this is not a problem as there is plenty of free parking nearby and you can unload and load the car outside the hotel if no parking is available in the square. As long as you appreciate you are staying in somebody's home and not in a hotel this place cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I travelled with my hubby in Greece for 10 days. We stayed at 5 different hotels at Athens, Mykonos, Santorini and finally Nafplio.
After half-day travel from Santorini to Athens then taking the buses to Nafplio, we were extremely tired but really delighted to be received by the gentleman who welcomed us from the hotel lobby. He led us to the room and gave a detailed introduction to the hotel and the town, including sincere tips on restaurants. He even made detailed remarks on a map to show us the spots and restaurants. We found this an energetic boost before we started hanging around in the late afternoon.

Then we spent some time to take photos of the lovely room and the hotel lobby before we went out. It was nicely decorated and we felt as if it was recently renovated. The room is spacious with a balcony.

On the next 2 days, we still enjoyed the time in Nafplio, with the added value from Aetoma. The breakfasts were very nice and we could feel the whole-hearted services from all hotel staff all over the stay.

The stay in Aetoma was the best among all hotel experiences in Greece, even its cost wasn't high. I would surely recommend this to any family and friends who would visit Nafplio.

Lee and Chui

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jackieloveslotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 37 in Nafplio
884 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#18 of 37 in Nafplio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing