We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel experience in Nafplion”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We recently returned from a 3-week vacation in Greece. The excellent reviews of Aetoma by others made this hotel selection an easy one, and it more that lived up to what we expected. The hotel is an mansion that has been in the family for generations. Every inch of the hotel is clean and well-appointed. We stayed in a triple room with a roughly 12-foot ceiling and a terrace overlooking Spyridon Square, a flower-drenched little square surrounded by a couple of small churches, a Turkish fountain, and lots of ambience (like the hotel itself). The owner does everything she can to please. The breakfast is varied, fresh, and very good. The owner's assistant Kelly is always helpful in every way.

As charming as Nafplion and its environs are, this fine hotel enhances the experience many times over. This is only my second Trip Advisor rating after many years of travel. You frequently see 5-star superlative ratings for hotels that do not live up to expectations.
This hotel deserves 5-stars, without exception.

EM
Vienna, Virginia

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginianinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

Mrs Panagiota and Carrie make you feel immediately at home. They are friendly and caring without being intrusive. The hotel itself is 160 years old and has been in the family of Ms. Pangiota for the past 120 years.

The hotel is located in an ideal setting in old town Nafplion. The rooms are spotless with the best shower in all of Greece. For those with disabilities, there is a flight of stairs up into the hotel. There is no lift or elevator. If you can manage the stairs, someone will help you with your luggage. For those without physical limitations, the Aetoma is "home away from home." This is the perfect location to stay to while you plan side trips to see Mycenae, Epidarius, Tiryns and Corinth. However, don't forget to enjoy Nafplion itself! It is a beautiful and romantic city with much to see and do!

We loved our spacious and impeccably clean room, the "Kionokrano." It included the most comfortable king bed, a sofa and a desk to work with your lap top, love seat, side chair, refridgerator and safe. We also had internet access. Our terrace added ambiance.

The owner, Ms. Panagiota is wonderful. Her smiling, calm and caring demeanor as she served the most delicious, fresh and elaborate breakfast was a treat not to be missed. We were fortunate enough to stay at the Aetoma for two nights. Had time allowed, we would have stayed longer.

To provide a comparison, we also stayed at Katikes in Oia, Santorini. Because of its size, the Aetoma obviously does not provide some of the same ammenities as the Katikes. But it does provide the same quality in service, attention to detail, breakfast and cleanliness as the Katikes. This hotel is beautiful and does provide an escape into a calm romantic charm.

Well done and thank you for a lovely and unforgetable stay! We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Everything was just as we left it - perfect! We booked the room on the top floor with it's comfortable balcony overlooking Palamidi Castle and great shower room. The room is so bright with all the window and always a nice breeze blows through the room. The breakfast is amazing with way too much food but we tried our best. Yogurt, fruit, pastries, meat, cheese, croissants. We saved some of the cakes in our little fridge as an afternoon snack. The serve breakfast on your balcony until noon, you just call down and they'll bring it up for you. How great is that!! But I have to say that it's Kerry and Mrs. P. that made our stay so welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to book the Akrokeramo room at this hotel. The previous time we tried it was already booked and we ended up staying in a place whose owner can learn a lot from Mrs Panagiota ande the way she runs Aetoma. I would only reiterate other positive reviews but to be helpful here are a few things we adored:
spacious room, very bright thanx to large windows, decorated with utmost care including a comfy king bed, a sofa and a desk to work with your lap top- we did use WiFi

spacious terrace with magnificent views over Palamidi and Acronapflia, very romantic to watch as they are both lit up nightime

cosy bathroom with shower and all the essentials provided

impeccable cleanliness both at the room and the rest of the B&B, soundproofing is also very good

the owner, Miss Panagiota is a professional to be admired,she greeted us smiling everytime and offered a huge breakfast including OJ, coffee, ham & cheece, yoghurt, honey, croissants , cereals and pastries, very tasty and served in our room at the time we asked for it- what a treat

the people who work there also helped us carrying our luggages and recommending fine fish restaurants

reasonably priced

we parked our car at the port and you can also try the nearby streets

we only stayed for 1 night and were sorry to leave, a big thank you to Miss Panagiota for being such a hostess, we look forward to meeting her again & again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank art_lady_ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

A great location right in the centre of town but well soundproofed. The spaces of the hotel are small but the general finish is of a very high quality. The bed was very good, not too hard like many in Greece. The rooms are fairly small with limited storage space and the bathroom is very small but very well appointed. We were on the first floor so we had no view, if you a looking for a view you need to request one on the upper floor. The staff were very helpful despite limited English. The highlight was breakfast which was excellent. All in all this was a great little hotel where everything was of a very high quality.

Pam & Brian Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PamBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This hotel is a FIND! Run by the owner who was born in this "mansion", we were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. 5 rooms, on a small , quiet ,square with an exquisite view of the Palamidi Castle. Rooms facing the square have little balconies w/table and chairs. We had the family room, the Anthemion.
Expect a climb up steep stairs with your bags. Parking avaiable in the square on a first come basis. We never had a problem finding a spot.
Wi-Fi , flat screen T.V...(.but who has time to watch? )
Owner serves you the b'fast of fresh fruit and juice and numerous pastries. All very quiet and lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kajadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Hello! I would like to say a few words about this wonderful hotel Aetoma. If you travel to Nafplion please do not miss the opportunity to stay here! It is beautiful, very fashinable, comfortable, even luxury.It sees that it has been recently renovated. This hotel is family owned so you will be surrounded wth maximum of their attention. The breakfast is daintily served in the hall which is also the reception. The only thing that is not very convenient is reaching Aetoma by car. It is quiet difficult to park nearby. So you will have to leave the car in the streets nearby. But it won't spoil your stay in this hotel-boutique as it is really very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nadia5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 37 in Nafplio
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing