We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rate this hotel highly enough”
Review of Polyxenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polyxenia Hotel
Ranked #27 of 53 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Lovely traditional building very tastefully decorated. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and the 2 different rooms we stayed in even had lovely deep baths. Huge breakfasts which were enough to see you through the whole day. The outstanding feature of this hotel however, was the wonderful service of the manager Maria and her family. One month on and many hotels later, our 3 year old still talks about Maria and wants to go back to her hotel. Our planned 2 nights turned into 4 as we didn't want to leave. Thank you Maria and Alexandra.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2007

If you want to stay in a small, friendly and comfortable hotel in the Old Town of Nafplion this is it. There are only 5 rooms, so you can have very personal attention. It has been charmingly renovated, is in narrow quiet alley, not too far from the bus station. The door was open as we walked by looking for a room. It looked inviting so I walked in to see if they had a room available.

The concierge was a lovely man and a nice woman fixed a personal breakfast for us each morning. It was quiet, had a small cute balcony. The room was appointed with old world charm and the bathroom by European standards was large---the largest we had for 4 weeks. This was the pleasantest room we had as well. We stayed for 3 nights. It was off season and only 2 rooms had guests and they were quiet. For 70 Euros, it couldn't be beat. You could also walk to anywhere you might want to go in Nafplion.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PicaAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

Nafplion is about a 3 hour drive from Athens, and well worth the trip. While it definitely is a tourist town, it has a small town feel, and is very accessible. We were able to park for free a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is down a quiet pedestrian alley, and has only 5 rooms. During our two night stay, we never saw any of the other room inhabitants!

We stayed in the Ninemia Room, which is on the third floor (US counting). It was a tiny room, but nicely decorated - I would say the bed was definitely smaller than a queen size. The bathroom, in comparison was quite large and had a beautiful large shower stall. You could walk up to the highest floor of the hotel (4th), and go out on a small roof which had a table and two chairs, and looked up on the fortress on the top of the hill. Breakfast was toast and jams, yummy walnut bread and a warm ham and cheese sandwich, with orange juice.

We highly recommend climbing up the stairs to the fortress - we started around 7:15 and got up there shortly before it opened at around 8:00. Not too exciting once you got up there, but the views were beautiful. We spend an afternoon at the pebbly beach in town, and really found it nice. It was small, and you could rent two chairs and an umbrella for 5 Euros, which was pretty reasonable. There was also a cafe where we had lunch right on the beachside, and bathrooms and changing rooms right there.

Watching the sunset over the water was a real pleaser. We had
cocktails both nights at the pretty, numerous cafes on the water and had unbelievable sunsets. We then went into the interior of the town and had two nice meals.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Married_40_something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NIKOLAOS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank sophie_fisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0 mi away
Dias Hotel
Dias Hotel
#20 of 53 in Nafplio
120 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Grove Seaside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#16 of 36 in Nafplio
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#6 of 36 in Nafplio
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amfitriti Palazzo Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#13 of 36 in Nafplio
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polyxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polyxenia Hotel

Address: 4 Antonopoulon | Next To The Town Hall, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polyxenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This neoclassical building, traditionally furnished hotel, is situated in a narrow street of the old city of Nafplio next to the Town Hall. All rooms have private bathroom, TV, a/c and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Polyxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing