We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite garden”
Review of Terra Nova Garden

Terra Nova Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Terra Nova Garden nestles in the heart of the Golden Vale of Ireland. Winner of the 'Best Garden in Ireland' this half acre paradise is packed full of wonderful plants and interesting garden features. A pergola festooned with scented roses, tranquil pools, a Thai style house set amid lush tropical planting, a fairy woodland, Terra Nova is full of surprises around every corner! Open March to September by appointment. The garden is also home to 'Debradations' a goregous gift shop, full to the brim of whimsical, beautiful and quirky gifts. The garden also features unusual plants for sale and a self service teahouse.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite garden”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Of all the gardens I have visited 'Terra Nova' is my favourite and I can't wait to go back. There is so much in this garden it feels more like 5 acres than half! You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsalon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a garden that gives you with a warm fuzzy feeling”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

i have visited terra nova garden on several occasions over the years, and always look forward to the next adventure when i can explore new features, and discover plants i never knew existed. i love that the garden could be anywhere in the world. deb & martin make each trip special, and i come away inspired and impressed at the love and long hours that continue to re-create TERRA NOVA. . .. . .

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Clearly created with love and unrestricted imagination, Terra Nova Garden takes all who enter on an Alice in Wonderland-like adventure. For the plantaholics amongst us, the rare, unusual and exotic abound, and a small but well stocked plants sales area provides visitors with the opportunity to take their own little Terra Nova gem home with them.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BrunoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunclody, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exotic Limerick Garden”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have visited Terra Nova three times and every time it amazes. Tropical, lush, exotic, tasteful with touches of gaudy and a total headache in terms of plant identification! A gem among gardens.
My favourite piece is the pond by the Thai House, cleverly laid out inh light and spaciousness so that it contrasts with other areas. Here the sights and sounds almost overwhelm but watch out you don't miss the exciting Arisaema collection tucked away at the foot of the Thai House. A garden not to be missed.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see Garden, full of interest and surprises, you will remember it.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have now seen this garden this garden at three different times of the year, and have always been amazed at the interest it holds around every corner. A garden of this size, holding so many pants and planting schemes reflects the knowledge and love the owners have of the piece of ground. Make the effort to see this garden and you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Nova Garden also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Kilmallock, County Limerick
 

Been to Terra Nova Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing