We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely one of the most beautiful guesthouses in Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballywarren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballywarren House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cross
Braunwald
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surely one of the most beautiful guesthouses in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Although I visit Ireland at least once every year, this was the first time I stayed in Cong, very conveniently situated to Connemara, the Burren and indeed the beautiful lakelands of Mayo. I travelled with my 15 years old daughter who enjoyed the horse riding in Ashford, just a few miles down the road, the peace and tranquility of the nearby lakeshore and especially the corner bath in our bathroom! We adored the lovingly decorated house with its warm and friendly atmosphere, the impression of natural, unobtrusive luxury and were delighted with the high quality of the food, served on a beautiful timber table in the cosy dining room. Breakfast was overwhelming, and after a large Irish the first morning I was forced to taste the organic wild salmon-much to my delight! Diane is a wonderful cook, and one can taste the high quality of the ingredients used for her dishes. I used to walk the house when I thought nobody was watching; just to get the feel of it and to enjoy the tasteful adornments in the rooms, the hall, even the staircase. And I can't wait to bring my wife and other daughters to Ballywarren House, enjoy the food and hospitality, the beautiful walks and drives, and the peace of the surrounding meadows with flocks of sheep and ancient monuments. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballywarren, Owner at Ballywarren House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for such kind words of appreciation, it means so much to us when our guests are happy and have enjoyed their stay with us. It was really lovely having you and Ivana stay with us, you were indeed lovely guests and we look forward to meeting more of your family, Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

From the welcoming smile, to the tea, warm bath and bed our first night was lovely. Stayed for 2 nights, Diane and David are fabulous hosts and they go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Highly recommend dinner, but don't eat lunch as it was well worth the wait!! There are many walks and would recommend the national park. Everything is so easily accessible and if you would like a trip into Cong, then Diane and David organise a taxi for you so you can enjoy a few drinks! Highly Recommending Ballywarren House!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballywarren, Owner at Ballywarren House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Than you so much, it means a lot to us, it really does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Our hosts were a very experienced english couple who settled in Ireland some years ago. Ballywarren has a great location for the west of Ireland. The food was amazing and would have fed an army and sweets and sherry in the room didn't help the waistline either. Immaculately clean, very well organised and well appointed room (4 poster) and bathroom.

A quality B & B and fair value for money.

Room Tip: check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We chose this B&B for its convenient setting to explore the Connemara and the home cooked meals which Diane is famous for. Unfortunately, we caught her at a bad moment ( Diane suffers from arthritis) so it was a big disappointment for us we had to miss out all that delicious food. Luckily she was able to cook the full Irish (English) breakfast which was to die for and the lovely Rose room we stayed in was spacious with a very nice view.
It was a pitty we were the only guests and because they had friends over from Germany we didn’t see Diane a lot. Although David was very friendly we still felt a little unwelcome.
Under different circumstances it would have been a perfect stay but now it wasn’t. Sorry, Diane and David...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gandalf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballywarren, Owner at Ballywarren House, responded to this review, 2 October 2010
This review is misleading as the reviewers never at any point booked dinner with us, only accommodation. Also they said that Diane suffers from arthritis which is totally untrue, she does not. This review is personal and inaccurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

We stayed at Ballywarren for the final two nights of our Ireland vacation. The location of the B&B was very convenient for touring in Connermara. Within a hour or two you can reach sites like Ashford Castle, Kylemore Abbey, and the Cliffs of Moher to name a few. The owners, Diane and David, were wonderful hosts and provided excellent and friendly service. Our accomodations were comfortable and the Food, both at breakfast and at our gourmet dinner, was outstanding.

In summary, we enjoyed every aspect of the Ballywarren House. The accomodations, hosts, gourmet meals, and location are all terrific and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Ballywarren Country House was our base for two nights while we toured the Connermara region of Ireland. Diane and David were gracious hosts who take pride in their lovely home and make every effort to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The house is nicely furnished with three bedrooms upstairs each with its own private full bath. Downstairs is a comfortable sitting room with a fireplace and ample reading material where we enjoyed complimentary tea and cookies when we arrived on the first day and sherry, nuts, and candy when we returned from sightseeing on the second day. There is a dining room that is set with fresh linens and flowers where we enjoyed a delicious Irish breakfast (included in the cost of the room) and a five course gourmet dinner (at an additional charge) prepared by Diane the evening before we left for home. Ballywarren House is in a convenient location for touring County Mayo and County Galway, Ashford Castle, Galway City, and Kylemore Abbey.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmctrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

First, the B&B is very nice and the owners are charming; very friendly and courteous. The problem comes in room selection. There are two very nice rooms with ample space and comfortable beds. If you happen to get stuck with the third bedroom, the one that faces the rear of the house, it is not so nice. The water pipes run through the wall next to the bed. Every time someone uses water in the house, you hear the banging of pipes for several minutes at a time; this includes the toilet flushing in the middle of the night. There is also an extra bed in this bedroom, so floor space is restricted also. I believe this is the rental room of last resort where the children would stay. We were charged the same price for our room as the others paid for much nicer rooms. At 136 euros a night, this was unfair. This room is worth no more than 50 Euros a night and should come with a warning about the noise and limited space. This room didn't even have an alarm clock, which is something the other rooms had. If you can get one of the front two rooms, it'svery nice. The back room; look for another B&B or insist upon a greatly reduced rate, one that will coincide with the reduced sleep that you will get.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John-from-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballywarren, Owner at Ballywarren House, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
This person caused many problems by email for weeks before arriving. Most of the problems were related to food requirements, he only ate pizzas. There were no banging pipes, we sleep in the next room and the view from the back rooms is even lovelier than the front ones, it is all stone walls and country side on every aspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross
2.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.7 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballywarren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballywarren House

Property: Ballywarren House
Address: Cross, Cong. | Co. Mayo, Cross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballywarren Country House is the charming and delightful family home of Diane and David Skelton. It has been lovingly created to reflect the charm and Character of the late eighteenth century with open fires, plaster moldings, oak staircase and many other features. All the bedrooms have their own lovely tiled bathrooms with bath, shower, bidet, hand basin, heated towel rail and WC. The Lavender Room has a gorgeous king size hand carved French bed, The Sunflower Room has a very pretty Irish king size iron bedstead from Co. Clare and The Rose Room has a beautiful king size English Oak four poster bed. All the rooms overlook fields and countryside with stone walls and all have sherry, chocolates, free wifi, magazines and TV. if you wish. Breakfast is served at separate tables in the Garden Room in summer and there is an extensive choice of cooked breakfasts as well as the continental buffet table. In winter breakfast can be enjoyed in the cosy Dining Room around the oak table. Dinner is served at about eight o'clock and is a set menu and includes a free cheese board, coffee, chocolates and wine. All produce is Irish, organic and free range where possible David and Diane have been hosting guests, both here and in the UK. since 1980 and really enjoy sharing their lovely home with people from all around the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing