We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit disappointing”
Review of Boherna Lodge B&B

Boherna Lodge B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boherna Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Thurles B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We chose this bed and breakfast on the strength of good tripadvisor reviews. It is in a beautiful location near Holy Cross Abbey. The woman running it was friendly and accommodating, but I'm sorry to say that overall it did not live up to previous reviews. Our bathroom was very small, and the shower didn't work properly. A working shower is a fairly necessary feature when you are travelling. The breakfast was disappointing, and the coffee much too weak. The rooms, bathrooms in particular, are in immediate need of an updating. The mystery is that it wouldn't take much to transform this operation into something worthy of the earlier reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Holmquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hosting family was very kind, cooked excellent breakfasts, and they accommodating considering we brought with us our 2 year old daughter.

All was very pleasant, highly recommend.

God bless you both Anna and Robert.

Paddy, Gabi & Anna

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gagagaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent seven wonderful nights at the Boherna Lodge, from where we ventured to nearby areas to tour castles, an Abbey, Cathedral, and other beautiful historical sites. We also attended several Hurling matches, which were the highlight of our trip. Anna and Robert Stakelum were by far the most gracious and accommodating B & B hosts we have encountered in all of our traveling in Ireland or elsewhere. Our room and private bath were more than satisfactory. The full Irish breakfasts were especially delicious, and we still miss Anna's homemade fruit scones. Thank you, Anna, for sharing your recipe!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DChurchSouthJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I've never met anyone nicer than Anna and Robert! They are both Angels and I had the best time I've ever had. I recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guammatoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Anna Stakelum made our stay unforgettable at Boherna Lodge. She and her husband Robert welcomed us with tea and homemade scones the day of our arrival. Anna is willing to do anything possible to make your stay the best. There were four couples in our group and we all needed to take clothes to the laundry since we had already been in Ireland for a week. Anna offered to take all of our clothes for us and when we got back from our sightseeing that day she had already picked them up and delivered them to our rooms. She wouldn’t accept a tip saying it wasn’t any trouble. Her breakfasts were wonderful, delicious and fresh. Everyday she took great care to make us all comfortable. In the evening we liked to sit in their backyard and review the day. We invited Anna and Robert to join us and Anna brought out candles and refreshments, it became a wonderful party. It became a habit to end each day in the Stakelum’s backyard reliving the days activities. My husband and I were renewing our marriage vows for our 40th anniversary and my husband wanted something special for me as a surprise. He told Anna what he wanted and she took care to get exactly what he wanted. The morning we were leaving for the church my husband presented me with it and brought me to tears. We appreciated every moment we spent in Boherna Lodge and know anyone going to spend anytime there will also be treated with the utmost of care. Thank you, Anna

Room Tip: Our room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloia703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Yes, I reviewed this B&B after a stay a couple of years ago! and yes I returned for a 4 night stay this year. Anna and Robert were again wonderful and gracious hosts at Boherna Lodge whilst we were visiting relatives nearby. Loved the breakfasts and the great chat as well . Anna was most forgiving when we discovered our room key only to discover it in our luggage on our return to Australia. Would definitely recommend and would be certain to stay yet again if back in Tipp.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Anna and Robert cannot do enough to help. We stayed one night to attend a friends retirement party in the Wytchway Inn just up the road. Room was very clean, breakfast lovely and freshly cooked and hassle free parking. Would stay again if we are in the area. Bernie Mullen.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BernzWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
0.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle Country House B&B
0.0 mi away
Inch House
Inch House
#1 of 6 in Thurles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boherna Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boherna Lodge B&B

Property: Boherna Lodge B&B
Address: Clohane, Holycross, Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boherna Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boherna Lodge B&B Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing