We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse & Jockey Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would first and foremost like to compliment The Horse & Jockey hotel on their fantastic staff which i found very helpful and welcoming. On my way home to Cork after a series of long and stressful meetings in Dublin I decided to break the journey and call in for a coffee. The hospitality and kindness of the staff in the cafe was exemplary, and I must single out a young woman by the name of Edwina who was extremely welcoming and well-mannered. I made it my business to find out her name as she was friendly and polite. I wish to compliment The Horse & Jockey on all their staff and the excellent resources they possess.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for The Horse & Jockey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have stayed here several times but enjoy the experience more with every visit. Staff are welcoming and friendly, superior rooms are beautiful with lovely products and lots of extra touches. The hotel itself is laid back and relaxing yet luxurious. Atmosphere is fantastic around the hotel particularly in the bar. The food is amazing, the produce is clearly high quality and you really can tell especially when it comes to the breakfast!!! For luxury with a relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and a bit of craic you can't beat this hotel!

Room Tip: choose superior room or junior suite
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Just home after staying in your hotel for one nite. Have stayed here before with family members so decided to bring my mum and sister to have a taste of luxury. We stayed in a large family room which was beautiful. Very clean and modern. We enjoyed afternoon tea especially the deserts which were mouthwatering. The leisure centre was lovely. Had a fab meal in the bar in the evening.very reasonable. We then relaxed in the lobby for a few drinks. My mum and sister loved it and can't wait to return. Keep up the great work. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollymcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed in the hotel twice (with 2 young children) I can honestly say that the staff in the horse and jockey are the nicest and most helpful we have ever come across. In particular Trish at reception couldn't have been more accommodating. In relation to the rest of the staff each went out of their way to help us. Stay here if you want great service and value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayskibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This must be one of the very best Hotels we ever stayed in. The bedrooms are beautiful, large and very nicely decorated. The beds are very comfortable and the nights rest is superb. The food is the best ever and we can always rely on it being exactly as we like it. The price range is excellent. The breakfast is very varied and they cater for coeliacs serving Cereals that suit. Tom Egan deserves great credit for his friendly and welcoming manner. Because of his personality the hotel gives off an air of ease and homeliness. It is filled with lovely cosy couches and has an open fire to laze around. I love it there and will always be going back as we have family living in Holycross so it is nice to have somewhere homely to come and stay when visiting. Well done Tom.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, with courtyard and countryside views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Everything about the hotel is great, We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the room was just fantastic. The food was delicious and varied and the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding area
I would like to thank all the staff for making our short so pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concernedtraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed overnight at Horse & Jockey Hotel and found the hotel clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, staff friendly & efficient, lovely room, breakfast very nice. I would definitely return and would recommend it. .

Room Tip: As its located off the Motorway there was no heavy traffic to keep me awake.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
390 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
77 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
21.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Address: Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel
The Horse & Jockey Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing