We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2008

I just want to say what a warm welcome we received when we stayed at the horse and jockey this weekend.

After a few days in northern ireland with my wife and kids, we were driving to cork and stopped to break up the journey. What a godsend to cheer up the cranky family?

We had a meal which was great, really tasty. That seems to be the general opinion of the other reviews. The service was friendly and the staff entertained the kids whenever they were near. After that welcome we decided it was a definitely a good place to stay the night.

We got a room easily and we thought it was definitely better than average, spacious and well equipped with the big TV. Slept like logs.

We had a hot breakfast in the morning and didn't get to use the pool, but we'll bring our togs next time!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2008

the hotel was adequate but situated in an out of the way place with no amenities.

The food quality was really bad and the service was worse.

I wouldnt recommend it in any way for eating - PLEASE AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank lucy2000Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

The Horse and Jockey in Thurles is so very close to a five star hotel and spa. Our short stay was enjoyable and relaxing. The pool and exercise room are first rate. Our room was amazingly spacious and beautiful. It was clean with a lovely carpet and an amazing bath. We loved the modern dark wood furnishings. A lovely plate of fresh fruit in the room made a nice snack. The fireplace was great, though the weather (despite Ireland’s rainy summer) was too warm to light it.
A quick look through the convention/business center was impressive. I am quite envious, most of the places I am sent to could take a tip from the setting and layout.
On our first night, I needed to transfer some things between my camera and flash drive. The desk staff made a laptop available for my husband and I for no charge. They were very polite and professional. I must say that all of the desk staff were professional and polite.
We had no problems with the breakfast, but would recommend having 2 staff in the area during busy times. There was always a lot of food and it was served at the right temperature. We did wish there was more fresh fruit at breakfast.
Let me preface this with the fact that we travel a lot and notice fine details. It is only those fine details that hold it back from being an absolutely fabulous five star spot. The paint on trim in the halls and other public areas is a bit off. The carpet is also spotted in the main common areas. The beautiful dark wood furnishings had a light layer of dust (it is so hard to keep that shade of wood clean).
We would love to come back again. It is so nice to find a modern hotel and spa in such a lovely rural area. I wish that my business meetings and conventions could be held here. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BandJNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Myself, husband and 3 kids used this hotel on our way down to Co. Kerry and on our way back up to Belfast. It is on the main N8 Road, really handy for weary travellers! We wished we had spent our holiday in it. Having stayed in many hotels worldwide, we were really impressed. It was beautifully decorated all the way through, they must have had a tasteful interior designer in,- just the right balance of cosiness and modern; new leisure facilities and spa, stunning pool and jacuzzi, clean and fresh smelling everywhere. There is a pub restaurant which serves lovely local food (not gourmet but generous honest to goodness meals) and a lounge area which is very relaxing and acts as a cafe during the day with gorgeous cakes and buns, and excellent americanos! The spa / pool was fabulous, they use Elemis products and this was also supplied in the hotel bathrooms (which were the nicest of our entire holiday in Ireland). We found the staff very friendly and accommodating for us and our three children (5, 3, and 1) and even after we checked out we were able to use the pool. There is a creche but it wasn't operating when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rory140903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

What can I say? A marvelous stay at the Horse and Jockey!

I was greeted with a warm welcome and shown to a beautiful room. The spa and gym are well equipped for a serious work out or just a relaxing splash in the pool.

Breakfast was delicious- the service in the restaurant outstanding.

Thank you for a relaxing and pleasant stay!

I highly recommend H+J as a base for your Tipperary holiday.

NW- London

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoldadoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

So Let Down! 4 Star it ain't! Why go to all the trouble of expensive renovation if you can't follow through. Never judge a book by it's cover. The Irish hospitality and courtesy is not best practised here! The food was dreadful, but the service was apalling, with no effort to apologise or explain. We were warned by a local last night not to eat here. We went for it and ate average food in an echoey empty Friday night restaurant. Breakfast this morning, kids in tow, we were met by an onslaught of passing trade (on the way to a match in Croke Park, Dublin). It was beyond me as we queued up for the buffet, why these numbers were let in, and why we as paying residents were not being given priority. The food ran out, and we waited, and waited for replenishments. I would have been less stressed cooking for the lot of us at home! What a shame, when the room and spa were so nice. Sorry Horse & Jockey, but I'd love to see you get your act together, not that we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorseAndJockeyHotel, owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2008

I was disappointed to read your review dated 23 Feb 2008. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the breakfast experience you had and thank you for pointing out the problems residents are experiencing during busy mornings. We have addressed this problem by allocating a separate dining room for residents only on busy periods. We are a popular hotel for sporting events and sometimes large numbers can decend without prior notice.

On Check out, our Front Office Manager enquired from you regarding your stay and on hearing your inconvenience regarding breakfast apologised to you, it was unfortunate we were not made aware of your problem with dinner the previous evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

Wonderful Hotel, lovely food! The hotel has been renovated since my last stay about 2 years ago and is beautiful!

As a regular business traveller it is rare to find hotels other than Travel Inn that give duvets rather than itchy blankets.

The Horse and Jockey spoilt me, comfortable beds, big fluffy duvets, Elemis products in the luxury bathrooms and flat screen televisions that are actually big enough to see (none of your 14" fuzzy picture jobs)!

The food was divine and the restaurant was busy on a monday night, always a good sign.

The hotel also has a built in spa with pool, so beauty treatments are available.

Cant praise this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kismetcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
414 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
633 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
18 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
21.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Address: Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range: £98 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel
The Horse & Jockey Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing