We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great meeting venue”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Horse & Jockey is on Exit 6 of the M8 exactly 1 hour from Cork, 1 hour from Limerick and 1.5 hours from Newlands Cross in Dublin. It is a really convenient meeting point in the centre of ireland. Also convenient to Kilkenny, Waterford, PortLaoise and Clonmel.

It is a well appointed hotel with a variety of different areas from a casual bar atmosphere, to a more businesslike lobby and coffee shop all the way up to formal conference facilities. Accommodation is excellent, food is fantastic, there is a health centre with a pool. Easy parking.

It is also only a short cab ride from Thurles which has a fantastic mainline rail service to Dublin, Cork, Kerry and Limerick.

The one downside for me is the lack of a petrol station. If you need fuel you have to go to Exit 8 in Cashel, or to Littleton in the Dublin Direction.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You most kindly for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed all our conference facilities which make up a large part of our business. We also feel our meeting rooms are well appointed with board rooms seating up to 28 people and a tiered theatre seating 200 and the hotel conveniently situated beside the motorway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    191
    71
    50
    27
See reviews for
152
205
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Called into Horse and Jockey for an evening meal, immediately after a major GAA match in nearby Thurles. Crowds were about to descend on the hotel, and we felt lucky to get a table. We ate in the bar section of the hotel.

Despite the hordes descending upon the spot, our orders were immediately taken and our food appeared within five minutes. Everything was cooked to perfection, vegetables perfectly cooked, and the chips were especially nice. Two in our company were elderly travellers and they in particular commented on how nice the food was, and polished their plates.

A quick cup of nice coffee appeared instantly and we hit the road.....as we left the building I noticed a queue of people waiting to enter the restaurant part of the hotel.

I'm not sure where other recent reviewers have been eating, but the four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Mallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank You for your kind review, it is indeed very busy especially after a big game in Thurles but usually we can cope very well especially if people have a little patience and enjoy the atmosphere and banter after the match.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stopped at The Horse and Jockey for something to eat on our way to Dublin for The Eagles concert. It had been several years since we had eaten there but we often had breakfast there on the way to Dublin and it was always first class. God, how things have changed. We went to the bar to eat and the gift shop and passageway into the bar looked lovely the coffee shop part looked clean so we were looking forward to our meal in the bar. The bar was dark and shabby, the table we sat at had a greasy surface as if it had been wiped down with a cloth that was soaked in cold water not hot. The chairs were uncomfortable and very creaky. The menu was quite good so I ordered a steak sandwich and chips and my husband ordered the roast beef. I asked for the steak to be well done so I didn't mind the 15 minute wait or so for our food. The steak sandwich was totally tasteless and the steak was dried out and partly burned on one side. My husbands roast beef looked like it had spent about ten minutes in a microwave. The chips were UNDERCOOKED I have noticed another reviewer had the same problem with the chips so maybe the chef could be informed about this. We didn't go into the hotel but I believe its really nice and clean and nicely decorated. The bar needs an overhaul but we would have overlooked that if the table had been clean and the seats comfortable. We left feeling very disappointed overall. If we hadn't been under time constraints to make it to Dublin in time for the concert I would have raised these issues to the waitress who incidentally was the only good thing about the whole experience. She was polite and chatty. Sadly we probably wont be making the detour again to eat there on our next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLORiordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I was disappointed to read your review. It seems it was not your weekend after also reading your review regarding the Dublin hotel. It is beyond belief that you did not mention your complaint to the waitress who you found very amicable and it would have been sorted out on the spot. You asked for your steak to be well done and then complained that it was dry which seems a contradiction as the 6oz sirloin would normally be cooked medium.
I disagree with you regarding the bar décor which has only been redecorated in the last 3 weeks except for the upholstery which is been done at present. Our traditional bar has been in existence for the last 150 years and we and the locals are very proud of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Had to review this under hotel as no result for restaurant. Called into The Horse and Jockey for food on a trip back from Dublin. Food was being served in the bar only. We ordered H & J fish and chips with some difficulty. Staff seemed disinterested in serving us. When it arrived my fish was over cooked and dry and chips under cooked. €16.50 for this was very bad value. €33 for both of us. When the couple at next table complained about their chips we added our say also. We were not asked by staff was all ok after our meal had been served. The young waitress was pleasant and took our complaints ( only member of staff with a pleasant demeanour). €2.20 for a small cup of bad coffee, no apology for meal and bad service means we will not return to this venue. I don't like to complain about a hard hit industry but by comparison with The Westgrove Clane there is none. The Westgrove has value and quality and a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I was sorry to read your review and I apologise to you receiving such a disappointing meal and service. Normally we receive great accolades regarding our fish and chips with our fresh fish coming from Castletownbere accompanied with home made chips but obliviously this time we were not up to standard. Prices would be pretty normal for a evening meal in a hotel.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed here for a two-night weekend break and would highly recommend it for anyone looking to get away. There's nothing here but the hotel so no outside distractions but there's plenty in the hotel to keep you occupied. Great food, excellent , friendly and helpful staff who cant do enough for you, delicious cakes baked on site in the coffee shop, a leisure centre with swimming pool, sauna, steamroom, hydrotherapy pool and a relaxing spa. The hotel is very clean and well kept. We'll definitely return here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank You for your kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all the hotel facilities over the weekend.
I have posted up your review in our staff dining room.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in late May. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room (303) was large, clean and well maintained. Food is wonderful and well presented. A good place to stay for the southern part of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middlewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank You for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I chose this hotel for a one night escape for a few friends and myself.

What a fantastic little place considering there isn't a whole lot around it. It's nice that Thurles and Cashel are pretty close and this time we enjoyed an afternoon outing in Thurles. (Found a lovely little clothes shop there).

The hotel is so pleasant from the decor to the staff who are very friendly and accommodating. When one of the rooms wasn't just quite right, they happily moved my friend to an even better spot.

The spa area is very nice and the pool quite a good size for a decent swim.

The bedrooms are very comfortable, clean with good sized flat screen TVs. Even the pillows were good!

We also ate in Silks restaurant and the food surpassed our expectation. It was really very good.

If you want a break, a bit of a lazy weekend then you won't go far wrong here. I would very much recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelionspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank You for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel and the staff been efficient and friendly. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to seeing again.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
17.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
415 reviews
19.8 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Property: The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Address: Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel
The Horse & Jockey Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing